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Section 1:  Introduction 
 
California’s In-Home Supportive Services Program, better known as IHSS, makes it 
possible for qualified aged, blind, and/or disabled individuals to remain safely in their 
own homes, where they can enjoy personal freedom and independence, and continue 
being a part of their community.  
  
This video will explain changes to the IHSS program that may impact recipients and 
providers regarding overtime and travel time pay, and will also present general 
information on the new Fair Labor Standards Act, or FLSA, requirements and how they 
will be applied in California.   
 
Most recipients and providers will not be impacted at all, as overtime and travel time 
does not apply in their individual situation.  The real impact applies to providers who 
work more than 40 hours each workweek, providers who work for multiple recipients, or 
providers who travel directly from one recipient’s home to another on the same day. 
 
Since there may also be violations with consequences when the FLSA requirements are 
not correctly followed; for those who need further information, review additional material 
provided on the subject. 
 
Changes to California state law now require paid overtime and travel time compensation 
for providers, under certain conditions and within specific limits.  These changes will 
become effective on February 1st, 2016.  There may also be violations, with 
consequences, when these laws are not correctly followed.  The consequences for 
violations will become effective May 1st, 2016.    
 
We hope this video will help recipients and providers better understand and answer any 
questions they may have regarding the changes to IHSS related to overtime and travel 
time pay.  
 
Section 2:  Terms 
 
Before we review the changes, there are some key terms that recipients and providers 
will need to know:  

• Monthly Authorized Hours, 
• Workweek,  
• Maximum Weekly Hours,  
• Overtime, 
• Travel Time, and  
• Violations. 

 
Let’s start with Monthly Authorized Hours.  We want you to be clear about this 
number because it has a lot to do with what recipients can ask of their providers and 
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what providers can claim regular and overtime pay for.  These monthly authorized hours 
are the total number of IHSS service hours a recipient is authorized per month.  The 
number of authorized hours for each recipient is established through the county IHSS 
process. 
 
Next, we have the IHSS workweek, which begins at 12:00 a.m. on Sunday and ends at 
11:59 p.m. the following Saturday.  Getting clear on when the workweek begins and 
ends will help recipients and providers track how many authorized hours are planned, 
how many were actually worked, and whether a provider is eligible for overtime 
compensation. 
 
We also have Maximum Weekly Hours which are the number of service hours that a 
recipient is authorized per workweek.  This number is calculated by dividing the 
recipient’s monthly authorized hours by four.   
 
This calculation is a guideline to inform recipients of the maximum number of hours heir 
providers can work in a workweek.  For example, a recipient with 200 monthly 
authorized hours has “up to” 50 maximum weekly hours available.  The “up to” is 
important because each month varies in length.  The calculation works evenly for the 
month of February, which has 28 days and divides equally into four standard 7-day 
weeks.  However, since most months are slightly longer than four weeks, the maximum 
weekly hours won’t always equal the actual hours worked in a week.  Recipients need 
to allocate their authorized monthly hours throughout the month to ensure they have 
enough hours to cover their authorized services until the end of the month.  This is 
especially important in those months with 30 and 31 days as there needs to be enough 
hours remaining for recipients’ providers to work and continue providing care to them. 
 
Two other points to make with regard to maximum weekly hours:  for a recipient with 
only one provider and that provider does not work for other recipients, then the 
maximum weekly hours will be their monthly authorized hours divided by four.  For a 
provider who works for more than one recipient, that provider cannot work more than a 
total of 66 hours per workweek. 
 
Beginning February 1st, 2016, recipients will receive a notice in the mail showing their 
maximum weekly hours.  This notice is called the IHSS Program Recipient Notice of 
Maximum Weekly Hours, known as the SOC 2271A.  Providers will also receive a 
separate notification in the mail showing the maximum weekly hours for each recipient 
they work for and the services they may provide during those hours.  This notification is 
called the IHSS Program Provider Notification of Recipient Hours and Services 
and Maximum Weekly Hours, also known as the SOC 2271.   
 
Now let’s define a few more terms before moving on. 
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Providers are now eligible to receive overtime pay.  The overtime pay rate is calculated 
at one and a half times the regular pay rate.  Providers will be paid at the overtime rate 
for all hours worked over 40 hours in a workweek.  However, there is a limit on how 
much overtime will be paid.  We'll discuss these limitations later in this video. 
 
Providers who work for more than one recipient at different locations on the same 
workday are now eligible to receive travel time pay.  A provider may be paid up to a 
total of 7 hours of travel time per workweek.   Travel time is the time it takes for a 
provider to travel directly from providing services to one recipient to providing services 
for another recipient on the same workday.   
 
Travel time paid to providers will not be deducted from their recipients’ monthly 
authorized hours.   
 
Beginning May 1st, 2016, any provider who submits a timesheet reporting hours that go 
over the workweek or travel time limits will receive a violation with a notice of how to 
request a county or State review. 
 
It’s important that providers follow all of the overtime and travel time limitations to avoid 
receiving a violation.   
 
Section 3:  Forms 
 
Now that we have reviewed the key terms, let’s talk about the new and revised forms 
resulting from the changes to the IHSS program.    
 
We will review three important forms and their due dates in this video; the revised IHSS 
Program Provider Enrollment Agreement, also known as the SOC 846, the IHSS 
Program Provider Workweek and Travel Time Agreement, also called the SOC 
2255, and the IHSS Program Recipient and Provider Workweek Agreement, also 
known as the SOC 2256.  Providers should make sure to complete and submit all of 
the forms that apply to them. 
 
Although providers signed the SOC 846 when they first became an IHSS provider, they 
must read and sign the revised SOC 846 that was recently sent to them to show they 
understand the new workweek and travel time limits. 
 
The revised IHSS Program Provider Enrollment Agreement explains the new 
workweek limitations.  By signing this agreement, providers acknowledge that they have 
read and understand these new limits.   

• ALL IHSS providers are required to complete, sign and return this agreement to 
the county by April 15th, 2016.   
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• If providers do not return the signed agreement by April 15th, 2016, they may be 
terminated as an IHSS provider as of May 1st, 2016, and if terminated, they will 
not be paid as an IHSS provider. 

• New providers attending orientation after April 15th, 2016, will need to complete 
and submit this agreement before they receive timesheets. 

 
Providers who work for more than one recipient will also need to fill out the IHSS 
Program Provider Workweek and Travel Time Agreement.  This agreement explains 
the workweek, 7 hour travel time limits, and includes sections for providers to plan 
workweek schedules and record the estimated travel time between recipients.   

• Completing this agreement will help make sure that providers do not work or 
travel more than allowed for each workweek.   

• Also, by submitting this agreement, providers can help make sure that they will 
receive a Travel Claim Form, which will be reviewed later.  

• And remember, this agreement will also prevent possible delays in payment   and 
help providers avoid violations.  

 
Recipients who have more than one provider must complete and submit the IHSS 
Program Recipient and Provider Workweek Agreement.  This agreement lets the 
county know how many hours each provider will work for the recipient each workweek.  
Recipients must list all of their providers on this agreement.   

• Recipients and each of their providers must sign the same form and return it to 
their local county IHSS office.  

 
Recipients and providers must make sure to complete and submit all of the agreements 
that apply to them.  For more information, contact your local county IHSS office or IHSS 
Public Authority. 
 
Section 4:  Timesheets & Tips 
 
Now that we’ve reviewed these forms, it’s time to turn our attention to timesheets and 
how to correctly fill them out.   
 
As a rule, it’s a good idea for each provider and recipient to keep a record of the hours 
and minutes worked each day.  This will help ensure accurate completion of timesheets.   
 
The first rule when completing timesheets is to always use a standard ball point pen 
with black ink.  Do not use a pencil, felt tip marker, or ink color other than black.   
 
Ok, let’s have a look at a sample timesheet. 
 
Notice first that the form is arranged in four blocks, one for each workweek.  Also notice 
that the blocks are labeled by date and day of the week beginning on Sunday and 
ending on Saturday.  Again, using a black ball point pen, enter the number of hours and 
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minutes worked each day in the spaces provided on the timesheet.  Be sure that all 
entries remain inside the boxes. 
 
Add up the total number of hours and minutes worked per week and enter this number 
at the bottom of each workweek under the “Total” section.  Make sure the total hours 
don’t add up to more than the hours assigned by the recipient. 
 
Once the hours are entered, both the recipient and provider must sign and date the 
back of the timesheet.   
 
The last step is to mail the timesheet back in the envelope provided. 
 
Do not fold or tear the timesheet.  Instead, carefully cut the timesheet along the dotted 
line, place it into the envelope, add a stamp, and mail. 
 
Proper completion of timesheets will ensure prompt processing and payment.  
Instructions are printed on the timesheet, but here are some helpful tips: 
 

1. Only use black ink.  
2. Both the recipient and provider must sign and date the back of the timesheet. 
3. Cut along the dotted line.  
4. Do not fold the timesheet 
5. Only enter hours and minutes for each day worked on timesheets. 
6. Only mail one timesheet per envelope. 
7. Place the correct postage on the outside of the envelope. 

 
We hope these tips will help providers in correctly completing and submitting their 
timesheets. 
 
Section 5:  Travel Claim Form 
 
Now that we’ve reviewed timesheets, let’s talk about travel time. 
  
Providers are now eligible to receive up to 7 hours of travel time pay for each workweek 
when they work for more than one recipient at different locations on the same day, and 
travel directly between the two recipients to provide services. 
 
Travel time does not include the time it takes providers to travel from their own home to 
the location where they provide services for a recipient or back home after their work is 
completed. 
 
A provider’s time spent traveling between recipients’ locations does not count toward 
the maximum weekly hours and is not deducted from any recipient’s monthly authorized 
hours.  
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If providers claim more than 7 hours of travel time in a workweek, they will be paid for 
the excess hours, but will receive a violation.  To claim travel time, providers will need to 
fill out a Travel Claim Form. 
 
Providers who are eligible to receive paid travel time will be sent a Travel Claim Form in 
the same envelope with their timesheets for each recipient they work for. 
 
Travel time is claimed on the Travel Claim Form of the recipient that providers are 
traveling to.  For example, if it takes the provider 30 minutes to travel from Recipient A 
to Recipient B, the provider would claim the 30 minutes of travel time on the Travel 
Claim Form for Recipient B.  
 
In order for Travel Claim Forms to be paid, timesheets need to be processed first.  
Travel Claim Forms can either be submitted with the corresponding timesheet for the 
same pay period or after that pay period.   
 
Make sure completed and signed Travel Claim Forms are mailed to the correct address.   
 
Section 6:  Adjusting Hours & County Approvals 
 
Now that we’ve seen how to fill out timesheets and Travel Claim Forms, let’s discuss 
workweek limitations in more detail. 
 
Recipients are authorized a certain number of hours per month.  When we introduced 
the term, "Maximum Weekly Hours," we explained that recipients will receive an 
informational notice in the mail beginning February 1st, 2016, showing their maximum 
weekly hours based on how many service hours they’re authorized each month. 
 
Within certain limits and depending on recipients’ health-related needs, they may 
authorize their providers to work more or less than their maximum weekly hours.  
Recipients may move hours from week to week as long as their providers do not 
work more than the monthly authorized hours.   
 
In some cases, recipients need to get county approval first.  In other cases, recipients 
may adjust their providers’ hours without getting county approval.  Let's discuss this 
further. 
 
It’s important that recipients and providers know when it’s necessary to get county 
approval.  Recipients must get county approval to adjust their providers’ weekly work 
hours when the change requires the providers to work: 
 

• More than 40 hours in a workweek if the recipient’s maximum weekly hours are 
40 hours or less, or 
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• More overtime hours in the month than they would have normally worked. 
• For example, if the maximum weekly hours are 40 or less, then there are no 

approved overtime hours and any changes resulting in the provider working more 
than 40 hours in a workweek will require county approval.  

 
However, recipients may authorize an adjustment to their providers’ weekly work hours 
without county approval when all three of the following conditions are met:  

• There is only one provider;  
• The provider doesn’t work for any other recipients; and  
• The provider’s weekly work schedule is adjusted in the remaining workweeks of 

that month to make sure they don’t work more than the monthly authorized hours 
or the approved overtime hours.   

 
Here’s another example.  If the maximum weekly hours are 50, then a total of 10 
overtime hours per week is already approved.  Forty hours of straight time and ten 
hours of overtime for a maximum weekly hours of up to 50 hours per week. 
 
Therefore, over the month, there are a total of 40 hours of overtime available that the 
provider may work without the recipient seeking county approval. 
 
In summary, so long as the provider does not work more than the recipient’s total 
monthly authorized hours or overtime approved by the county, the provider’s timesheet 
will be processed as usual. 
 
However, if more hours are worked without county approval, the provider will still be 
paid but they will receive a violation.  As we will learn later in the Violations segment of 
this video, three violations will result in a three-month suspension from the program.  A 
fourth violation will result in a one-year termination. 
 
Here’s a tip for providers when working with their recipients to adjust hours: 
 
Ask this question, does this change increase the amount of overtime I’m paid beyond 
my recipient’s approved overtime hours?    
 
Providers might answer: 

• If I work less than 40 hours, it won’t have any impact so I don’t need county 
approval;  or  

• If I work a lot of hours each month, like 283, shifting hours from one week to the 
next does not change my approved monthly number of overtime hours.  

 
In addition to understanding how authorized service hours may be adjusted, it’s also 
important to know some other workweek limitations.  
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Recipients are responsible to assign hours to each provider and make sure their 
providers only work the total number of weekly hours assigned to them as documented 
in this agreement. 
 
Recipients and providers need to ensure that all of the hours worked do not exceed the 
total monthly authorized hours. 
 
Let’s look at the case of providers who work for more than one recipient. 
 
These providers can work up to a maximum of 66 hours a week.   
 
For example, if a provider is assigned 40 hours per workweek from Recipient A, this 
provider can only be assigned a maximum of 26 hours per workweek from Recipient B. 
 
The 66 hourly weekly maximum limitation only applies to providers who work for 
multiple recipients. 
 
If a provider works the maximum weekly hours of 66 hours per workweek and one of 
their recipients asks them to work additional hours, the provider can only do so if they 
reduce the number of hours they work for another recipient.  Otherwise the provider will 
have to tell the recipient that they must get another provider to work the additional 
hours. 
 
Another case to consider is of a recipient who has multiple providers that only work for 
this recipient. 
 
What happens if one of those providers is ill or takes vacation?  In this case, the 
recipient can adjust hours to the other providers without county approval so long as the 
recipient’s total monthly hours authorized are not exceeded. 
 
In a different situation, a provider who only works for one recipient can get a violation 
when their recipient adjusts their hours, and this results in excessive overtime hours 
worked or an increase in this recipient’s overall monthly hours, and county approval has 
not been obtained. 
 
Lastly, recipients may contact their local county IHSS office to request a temporary 
adjustment to their maximum weekly hours if they must make changes to their 
provider’s weekly schedule due to unexpected or unusual situations to help meet their 
health-related needs.  Contact your local county IHSS office for more information on 
how to make these changes. 
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Section 7:  Violations 
 
Remember, it’s important that the recipients and providers follow all of the overtime and 
travel time limitations to prevent getting a violation.  A violation could cause a provider 
to be suspended from the program or terminated as an IHSS provider.  
 
Some of the actions that will cause providers to get a violation are: 
 

• Working more than 40 hours in a workweek for their recipient whose “maximum 
weekly hours” are 40 hours or less, and therefore, has no approved overtime;  

• Working more than a total of 66 hours in a workweek when they work for more 
than one recipient; or 

• Claiming more than 7 hours of travel time in a workweek.   
 
If the county determines that a provider has violated the weekly overtime and/or travel 
time limitations, the county will send the provider a violation notice with information on 
how to request a county review.  A notice will also be sent to all of the recipients that the 
provider works for informing them of their provider’s violation and explaining why the 
provider received it. 
 
For each violation received by the provider, there will be a consequence: 
 

• For the first violation, the provider and each of their recipients will get a notice 
of the violation with information on how to request a county review. 

• If a second violation occurs, the provider will have a choice to complete a one-
time training about the workweek and travel time limits within 14 calendar days 
of the date of the notice.  If the provider chooses to complete the training, they 
will avoid receiving a second violation.  If they do not complete this training, they 
will receive a second violation. 

• If a third violation occurs, the provider will be suspended as an IHSS provider 
for three months.  

• If a fourth violation occurs, the provider will be terminated as an IHSS provider 
for one year.  

 
If the provider’s actions result in more than one violation during a calendar 
month, it will only count as one violation. 
 
If providers receive a violation, they have ten business days from the date of the 
violation notice to request a county review.  Once the county receives the request for 
review, it has ten business days to review and investigate the violation and send 
providers a notice stating whether the violation will remain or if it will be removed. 
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For the third and fourth violations, if the county doesn’t remove the violation, providers 
may request a review by the California Department of Social Services, or CDSS, within 
ten business days of the date of receiving the county notice.  The county notice will 
explain how providers may request a review by CDSS.   
 
Once providers have received a violation, the violation will remain on their IHSS record.  
However, after one year, if they don’t receive another violation, the number of violations 
they have received will be reduced by one. 

• As long as providers don’t receive any additional violations, each year after the 
last violation was removed, the number of violations will be reduced by one, and 

• If providers receive a fourth violation and are terminated as an IHSS provider for 
one year, when the year is up and they apply again to be an IHSS provider, they 
must: 

o Re-submit an application; and 
o Complete all of the provider enrollment requirements, including the 

criminal background check, provider orientation and all required forms. 
o Also, their violations count will be reset to zero. 

 
Let’s recap.  To prevent a violation, providers should avoid: 

• Working more than 40 hours in a workweek without his/her recipient getting 
approval from the county when the recipient is authorized less than 40 hours in a 
workweek. 

• Working more hours for a recipient than he/she is authorized in a workweek and 
this causes the provider to work more overtime hours in a month than they 
normally would. 

• Working for more than one recipient and working more than 66 hours in a 
workweek. 

• Claiming more than 7 hours travel time in a workweek. 
 
For more information regarding violations, contact your local county IHSS office or IHSS 
Public Authority. 
 
Section 8:  Wrap-Up 
 
We’ve now completed our review of the IHSS program changes. 
 
As a helpful reminder, here are some key points from our review: 
 
 The defined workweek is from Sunday at 12:00AM, to the following Saturday at 

11:59PM. 
 Providers must not work more than their assigned total maximum weekly hours 

without appropriate approval. 
 Providers who work for more than one recipient cannot work more than a total of 

66 hours per workweek. 
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 Providers must not travel more than 7 hours each workweek. 
 Travel time is documented on the Travel Claim Form for the recipient that the 

provider is traveling to. 
 Both recipients and providers need to understand when county approval is 

necessary for adjusting hours. 
 Violations are the result of not following IHSS program overtime and travel time 

limitations. 
 

Correctly completing IHSS timesheets will help providers receive timely payments, 
avoid claiming hours above a recipient’s maximum weekly hours, and prevent mistakes 
which may result in unnecessary violations or termination from the IHSS program.    
 
We hope this video has helped IHSS recipients and providers better understand the 
changes in the IHSS program.  
 
For additional questions, contact your local county IHSS office or IHSS Public Authority, 
or visit the California Department of Social Services In-Home Supportive Services 
website. 
 
 


