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California's In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) program makes it 
possible for qualified aged, blind, and/or disabled individuals to remain 
safely in their own homes, where they can enjoy personal freedom and 
independence, and continue being a part of their community. 

This handbook will help IHSS recipients and providers better understand 
the new IHSS program changes that began February 1, 2016, as required 
under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and California state law, and 
how these changes may impact them. 

These new changes require paid overtime and travel time compensation, 
under certain conditions and within specific limits, and violations, V'(ith 
consequences, when these laws are not followed. 

The following worksheets will assist recipients and providers in 
understanding and correctly applying the new changes in order to prevent 

delays in payment and prevent violations so that they may continue 
receiving IHSS benefits. 



Key Terms Worksheet 

The following are new and important key terms IHSS recipients and 
providers must know and understand. In the space provided, please write 
the definition in your own words or fill in the missing words. 

1. Monthly Authorized Hours: 

2. The IHSS Workweek: Begins at ____ on ______ , and 
(time) (day) 

ends at _____ the following _______ _ 
(time) (day) 

3. Maximum Weekly Hours: 

4. Overtime: 

5. Travel Time: 
providing services at one recipient's home to providing services at 
another recipient's home on the same workday. A provider may be 
paid up to a total of 7 hours of travel time per workweek. Travel 
time paid to providers will not be deducted from their recipients' 
monthly authorized hours. 

6. Violations: of the failure to comply with ---- - ----
and limitations. A - ------- - - ------

violation could cause a provider to be _ _ _ _____ from the 
program or as an IHSS provider. 



Timesheet Tips Worksheet 

Proper completion and review of timesheets by recipients and providers. will 
make sure that get paid on time. 

It is important for providers to follow the directions written on their 
timesheets, which includes the following: 

1. Only use _____ ink and press firmly. 

2. Both the recipient and provider must _____ and ____ _ 

the back of the timesheet. 

3. Cut along the dotted line. 

4. Do not the timesheet -----

5. Only enter hours and minutes for each day worked. 

6. Only mail timesheet per ______ _ 

7. Place the correct on the outside of the envelope. 

These tips will help providers in correctly completing and submitting their 
timesheets. 

"" . 



How to Prevent Violations Worksheet 

It is important for recipients providers to follow all of the IHSS 
program and timesheet rules so providers do not work and claim excess 
hours. If providers fail to comply with the and 
______ , they will get a violation. 

The following will result in a violation: 

1. Working more than hours in a workweek for a recipient 
_____ the recipient getting approval from the county when the 
recipient is authorized less than 40 hours in a workweek; 

2. Working hours for a recipient than the recipient is 
________ in a workweek without getting _____ _ 
from the county and this causes the provider to work more overtime 
hours in the month than they would; 

3. Working more than hours in a workweek when the provider 
works for recipient; 

4. Claiming travel time of more than hours in a workweek. 

If a provider has violated the weekly hourly overtime and/or travel time 
limitations, the county will send the provider a ________ _ 

A notice will also be sent to all of the that the provider 
works for informing them of the violation. These notices will include details 
of the reason for the violation. 

The provider has days from the date of the violation notice to 
request a of the violation. Once the county 
receives the request for review, the county has 10 days to review and 
investigate the violation. The provider will receive a notice stating the 

of the review. -------

The third and fourth violation notice will explain how the provider may 
request a review by the California Department of Social Services Adult 
Programs Division's Appeals Unit. The provider must request the review 
within 10 days of the date of the county notice. 

s 



Adjustment to Maximum Weekly Hours Worksheet 

When overtime requires approval: 

• If you never had approval to work over 40 hours because this is 
not your normal schedule 

• If you will exceed your pre-approved overtime hours due to a 
change in schedule 

Exam pie 1 : Steve 

Provider Steve works 30 weekly hours providing services for his recipient, 
Nicole. One week Nicole gets sick and requires Steve to remain for an 
extra two hours to assist her. 

Does Nicole need to request approval from the county to adjust Steve's 
schedule? 

Why or why not? 

Example 2: David 

David works a total of 65 hours providing services for his two recipients, 
Peter and Denise. Denise's maximum weekly hours are 35 and David is 
her only IHSS provider. In one week, Denise needs David to work an 
additional hour and tells him she will adjust his weekly hours the following 
week so that he works 1 hour less for her. 

Does Denise need to request approval from the county to adjust David's 
schedule? 

Why or why not? 

What changes must David make to his schedule? 



Example 3: Jack 

Provider Jack works 45 weekly hours providing services for his recipient, 
Sarah (a total of 20 hours overtime in the month). One week Sarah 
requests Jack to work an additional two hours to assist her. She tells him 
that she will adjust his work schedule in the next week so that he works two 
less hours that week to make up the time and to keep him from working 
over her monthly authorized hours. Jack normally has 10 overtime hours in 
the two week period. By increasing Jack's hours in the first week to 47 and 
reducing his hours down in the following week to 43 and having Jack work 
his regular schedule for the remainder of the month, Sarah maintains 
Jack's overtime hours to 10 hours for the two week period. 

Does Sarah need to request approval from the county to adjust Jack's 
schedule? 

Why or why not? 

If Sarah requests Jack to work an additional fifteen hours in the first week 
for a total of 60 hours and adjusts his work schedule in the following weeks 
so that he works 43 hours in the 2nd week and then 37 hours and 40 hours 
in the remaining weeks, does Sarah need to request approval from the 
county to adjust Jack's schedule? 

Why or why not? 

7 



Adjustment to Maximum Weekly Hours Worksheet - Key 

When overtime requires approval: 

• If you never had approval to work over 40 hours because this is not 
your normal schedule 

• If you will exceed your pre-approved overtime hours due to a change 
in schedule 

Example 1: Steve 

Provider Steve works 30 weekly hours providing services for his recipient, 
Nicole. One week Nicole gets sick and requires Steve to remain for an 
extra two hours to assist her. 

Does Nicole need to request approval from the county to adjust Steve's 
schedule? No. 

Why or why not? Because the increase in hours will only increase his 
weekly hours (for that week) to 32 hours and does not result in hours over 
40, Nicole does not need to request approval from the county to adjust 
Steve's schedule 

Example 2: David 

David works a total of 65 hours providing services for his two recipients, 
Peter and Denise. Denise's maximum weekly hours are 35 and David is 
her only IHSS provider. In one week, Denise needs David to work an 
additional hour and tells him she will adjust his weekly hours the following 
week so that he works 1 hour less for her. 

Does Denise need to request approval from the county to adjust David's 
schedule? No. 



Why or why not? Since David works for 2 recipients, the maximum number 
of hours he can work per workweek is 66 hours. Denise's adjustment will 
not exceed 40 hours and no overtime is incurred; therefore, Denise does 
not need to request approval from the county to adjust David's schedule. 

Providers should be 

What changes must David make to his schedule? David does not have to 
make any changes to his schedule because he may work up to 66 hours 
per workweek since he works for more than one recipient. 

Example 3: Jack 

Provider Jack works 45 weekly hours providing services for his recipient, 
Sarah (a total of 20 hours overtime in the month). One week Sarah 
requests Jack to work an additional two hours to assist her. She tells him 
that she will adjust his work schedule in the next week so that he works two 
less hours that week to make up the time and to keep him from working 
over her monthly authorized hours. Jack normally has 10 overtime hours in 
the two week period. By increasing Jack's hours in the first week to 47 and 
reducing his hours down in the following week to 43 and having Jack work 
his regular schedule for the remainder of the month, Sarah maintains 
Jack's overtime hours to 10 hours for the two week period. 

Does Sarah need to request approval from the county to adjust Jack's 
schedule? No. 

Why or why not? Jack normally has 10 overtime hours in the two week 
period. By increasing Jack's hours in the first week to 47 and reducing his 
hours down in the following week to 43 and having Jack work his regular 
schedule for the remainder of the month, Sarah maintains Jack's overtime 
hours to 10 hours for the two week period. Therefore, Sarah does not need 
to request approval from the county to adjust Jack's schedule. 



If Sarah requests Jack to work an additional fifteen hours in the first week 
for a total of 60 hours and adjusts his work schedule in the following weeks 
so that he works 43 hours in the 2nd week and then 37 hours and 40 hours 
in the remaining weeks, does Sarah need to request approval from the 
county to adjust Jack's schedule? Yes. 

Why or why not? Jack would work 3 hours more overtime than he normally 
works in a calendar month. Therefore, Sarah would need to call the county 
for approval because Jack would be working 23 hours of overtime when he 

normally works 20 overtime hours in the calendar month. 

'"' 



One Recipient 

With 

One Provider 

Exercises 

' 

The following exercises will help IHSS recipients and providers apply the 
new program changes to different recipient and provider relationships. 

II 



Exercise #1: One Recipient with One Provider 

You are the IHSS provider for an IHSS recipient whose monthly authorized 

hours are 140:00. The SOC 2271 and SOC 2271A informed the recipient 
and you that the maximum weekly hours are 35:00. You are the recipient's 

only provider, and you do not work for any other IHSS recipient(s). 

The calendar below has the recorded hours and minutes that you worked 
from June 1, 2016 through June 15, 2016. 

June 2016 

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat 

1 2 3 4 
,:(_~, 

4:30 4:30 4:30 4:30 
5 

- -- ---

7 ":S 6 8 9 10 11 

4:30 4:30 4:30 4:30 4:30 4:30 \ I 4:30 
12 13 14 15 16 17 18 

4:30 4:30 4:30 4:30 
.. . 

19 20 21 22 23 24 25 

26 27 28 29 30 II,,. 
v' 

It is June 16, 2016, and you need to complete and send in your timesheet. 

Complete the timesheet. 

, 

12. 



-

STATE OF CALIFORNIA-HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
soc 2261 (7/15) ~ 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES 
1501 SOMETHING AVENUE, 
SACRAMENTO CA 90000 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) 
INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER 

TIMESHEET 
EXERCISE #1 Record your daily hours and minutes 

like these samples. One Recipient with One Provider 

Oidnotwork ~i~~ FIRST, LASTNAME 
6 hours 30 minutes G 3 0 565 SOMETHING DR. 

SAN JOSE CA 95116-3439 4 hours 45 minutes "'f- "'f- 5 

en 
c: 
0 .... 
0 
:::J ... .... 
en 
c: 
.... 
c: 
«I .... ... 
0 
c. 
E 

• 

5 
M 
T 

W01 
T02 
F03 
504 

Total 

• 

1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 

5. 

6 . 
7. 
8. 
9. 

10 hours 1. 0 
Total 2. 1. 1. 5 

Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 
Your defined workweek is from ·sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 
Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 
Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box with 
a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck . 
You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours (as shown in the "hours" field below) or the weekly allowed 
hours. Claiming extra hours can delay your paycheck . 
You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 
You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 
Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction ta eon timesheet. 
Claim ed ay per 

• 
Case#: 43 01 0000000 LASTNAME, FIRST 

From: 06/01/2016 

Workweek #1 Workweek #2 

Claimed : 00:00 Claimed: 00:00 

0 0 0 0 sos 
0 0 0 0 M06 
0 0 0 0 T07 

W08 
T09 
F10 
s 11 

Total -----

4000059138 
06/15/2016 

512 
M13 
T14 

W15 
T 
F 
s 

Total 

Workweek#3 

Claimed : 00:00 

0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 

llllllliBlllllll 

Hours: 140:00 

Workweek#4 

Claimed: 00:00 

5 
M 
T 
w 
T 
F 
s 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

Total ____ _ 

Turn over and sign.• 

• 
I~ 



"' c 
.2 ..... 
(J 
:::s 
~ ..... 
"' c 
..... 
c 
ns 
~ 

1. Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 

2. Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 

3. Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 

4. Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box 
with a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck. 

5. You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours or the weekly allowed hours. Claiming extra hours can delay 
your paycheck. 

&. 6. You must enter hours for each day worked {Total line is optional). 
E 

7. You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 

8. Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction tape on timesheet. 

I declare that the information on this timesheet is true and correct. I understand that any false claim 
may be prosecuted under Federal and State laws and that if convicted of fraud, I may also be 
subject to civil penalties. 

~------____.II.____ _ ______,_______, 
Recipient's Signature Date Provider's Signature Date 

Mail Detached Timesheet To: 
IHSS Timesheet Processing Facility • PO Box 272862 • Chico, CA 95927-2862 

• • /Jf 



Exercise #1: One Recipient with One Provider 

Now that the timesheet is completed, answer the following questions: 

1. How many hours did you work in workweek 2? 

I I 
a. Was it within the maximum weekly hours? 

I I 

b. Is an adjustment in hours needed in the following workweek(s)? 
Why? 

I I 
c. Is county approval needed? Why? 

I I 
2. Are you eligible for travel time pay? Why? 

3. Did you and the recipient sign and date the back of the timesheet? 

15 



4. Which pre-addressed envelope must be used to mail out the 

timesheet? 

'"' 



Exercise #2: One Recipient with One Provider 
You are the IHSS provider for an IHSS recipient whose monthly authorized 
hours are 140:00. The SOC 2271 and SOC 2271A informed the recipient 
and you that the maximum weekly hours are 35:00. You are the recipient's 
only provider. 

The calendar below has the recorded hours and minutes that you worked 

from June 1, 2016 through June 15; 2016. 

June 2016 

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat 

1 ~/ 2 3 4 
It 

2:30 0:00 2:30 0:00 
5 ~ 6 ~' 7 8 9 10 11 

6:00 6:00 6:00 5:00 7:00 
I 

7:00 ' 5:00 
12 13 14 15 16 17 18 

5:00 5:00 5:00 5:00 0 00 0 CH) 0 DO 
19 20 21 22 23 .24 2:5 

0 ,jO 0 00 0 0(1 0 ·JO G :)0 CJ 00 () {)() ..., ..... ~ 

26 27 .28 29 30 01 02 

( t . .-r{ 0 ·JO n nn 0 00 0 00 11 nn 0 00 J .... .... IJ .... w "'-: ..._,..., 

It is June 16, 2016, and you need to complete and send in your timesheet. 
Complete the timesheet. 

Ii 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA-HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
~j'l a soc 2261 (7/15) 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES 
1501 SOMETHING AVENUE, 
SACRAMENTO CA 90000 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) 
INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER 

TIMESHEET 
EXERCISE #2 Record your daily hours and minutes 

like these samples. One Recipient with One Provider 

ti) 
c: 
0 

FIRST, LASTNAME 
565 SOMETHING DR. 

Did not work 

6 hours 30 minutes 

SAN JOSE CA 95116-3439 4 hours 45 minutes 

10 hours 

Total 
1. Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 
2. 
3. 

Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 
Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 

G 3 0 
4 4 5 

1. 0 
2 1. 1. 5 

-(.) 4. 
::I 

Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box with 
a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck. · ... -ti) 5. c: -c: 

ns 6. t 
0 7. 
c. 

8. E 
9. 

• 

You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours (as shown in the "hours" field below) or the weekly allowed 
hours. Claiming extra hours can delay your paycheck. 
You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 
You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 
Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction ta e on timesheet. 
Claim ed ay per 

• 
Provider#: 000 00 

Pa 

s 
M 
T 

W01 
T02 
F03 
504 

Case#: 43 01 0000000 
T e: IHSS 

06/01/2016 

Workweek#1 Workweek#2 

Claimed : 00:00 Claimed : 00:00 

0 0 0 0 sos 
0 0 0 0 M06 
0 0 0 0 T07 

W08 
T09 
F10 
s 11 

Total _____ _ Total 

LASTNAME, FIRST 
4000059138 
06/15/2016 

Workweek#3 

Claimed: 00:00 

512 
M13 
T14 

W15 
T 0 0 0 0 
F 0 0 0 0 
s 0 0 0 0 

Total 

Hours: 140:00 

Workweek#4 

Claimed: 00:00 

s 
M 
T 
w 
T 
F 
s 

Total 

0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 

------

• 11111111111111111 
Turn over and sign.• 

• 1'1 



"' c: 
0 ·-...... 
(.) 

:s ... ...... 

"' c: 
...... 
c: 
ca 
~ 

1. Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 

2. Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 

3. Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 

4. Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box 
with a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck. 

5. You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours or the weekly allowed hours. Claiming extra hours can delay 
your paycheck. 

g_ 6. You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 

E 
7. You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 

8. Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction tape on timesheet. 

____ :·_c~a~~S~i\-
• e~ s • 
I declare that the information on this timesheet is true and correct. I understand that any false claim 
may be prosecuted under Federal and State laws and that if convicted of fraud, I may also be 
subject to civil penalties . 

...______....____.II.___ _ _____.___ 
Recipient's Signature Date Provider's Signature Date 

Mail Detached Timesheet To: 
IHSS Timesheet Processing Facility • PO Box 272862 • Chico, CA 95927-2862 

• • 20 



Exercise #2: One Recipient with One Provider 

Now that the timesheet is completed, answer the following questions: 

1. How many hours did you work in workweek 2? 

l I 
·a. Was it within the maximum weekly hours? 

I I 
b. Is an adjustment in hours needed in the following workweek(s)? 

Why? 

I I 
c. Is county approval needed? Why? 

I 
2. Are you eligible for travel time pay? Why? 

3. Did you and the recipient sign and date the back of the timesheet? 

Z I 



4. Which pre-addressed envelope must be used to mail out the 
timesheet? 

22. 



Exercise #3: One Recipient with One Provider 

You are the IHSS provider for an IHSS recipient whose monthly authorized 
hours are 200:00. The SOC 2271 and SOC 2271A informed the recipient 
and you that the maximum weekly hours are 50:00. You are the recipient's 
only provider and do not work for any other IHSS recipient(s). 

The calendar below has the recorded hours and minutes that you worked 
from June 1, 2016 through June 15, 2016. 

June 2016 

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat 

1 2 3 4 

6:00 6:00 6:00 6:30 I 

5 6 ;; 7 Ii 8 9 10 11 

6:00 6:00 7:00 6:00 6:00 7:00 6:00 

12 13 14 15 16 17 18 

6:00 6:00 7:00 6:00 0 00 0 00 0 OD 

19 20 .21 22 23 24 25 

.) oc1 0 00 0 00 0 00 () (){'\ ..., ..,.., ; 00 l {'\("\ 
\..• ... 1 .... 

26 27 28 29 30 ! '.2 

(\ :)(, 
~ .., .., 0·00 0 00 0 00 J 00 0 00 r:• OC1 

It is June 16, 2016, and you need to complete and send in your timesheet. 

Complete the timesheet. 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA-HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
soc 2261 (7115) B".vl e 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES 
1501 SOMETHING AVENUE, 
SACRAMENTO CA 90000 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) 
INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER 

TIMESHEET 
EXERCISE#3 Record your daily hours and minutes 

like these samples. One Recipient with One Provider ~~~~ 

Did not work 
FIRST, LASTNAME 1---11----1 

6 hours 30 minutes G 565 SOMETHING DR. 
SAN JOSE CA 95116-3439 4 hours 45 minutes 4 

t/J 
c: 
0 -u 
::l ... -t/J 
c: -c: 
ca 
t: 
0 
c. 
E 

• 

5 
M 
T 

W01 
T02 
F03 
504 

1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 

5. 

6. 
7. 
8. 
9. 

10 hours 

Total 
Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 
Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 
Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 

1. 
2 

0 
1. 1. 5 

Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box with 
a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck . 
You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours (as shown in the "hours" field below) or the weekly allowed 
hours. Claiming extra hours can delay your paycheck. 
You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 
You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 
Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction ta eon timesheet. 
Claim ed clai ay per 

• 
Case#: 43 01 0000000 LASTNAME, FIRST 

IHSS 

Workweek#1 

Claimed : 00:00 

0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 

505 
M06 
T07 

W08 
T09 
F10 
511 

Workweek#2 

Claimed : 00:00 

4000059138 
06/15/2016 Hours: 200:00 

512 
M13 
T14 

W15 
T 
F 
s 

Workweek#3 

Claimed: 00:00 

0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 

Workweek#4 

Claimed: 00:00 

5 
M 
T 
w 
T 
F 
5 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

0 0 0 
0 0 0 
0 0 0 
0 0 0 
0 0 0 
0 0 0 
0 0 0 

Total _____ _ Total Total Total _____ _ 

• llllllllBlllllll 
Turn over and sign.• 

• 2.S 



en 
c: 
0 ·-..., 
(.) 
:l ... ..., 
en 
c: 

1. Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 

2. Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 

3. Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 

4. Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box 
with a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck. 

5. You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours or the weekly allowed hours. Claiming extra hours can delay 
your paycheck. 

8. Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction tape on timesheet. 

I declare that the information on this timesheet is true and correct. I understand that any false claim 
may be prosecuted under Federal and State laws and that if convicted of fraud, I may also be 
subject to civil penalties . 

.__________._______.I ~I -~ 
Recipient's Signature Date Provider's Signature Date 

Mail Detached Timesheet To: 
IHSS Timesheet Processing Facility • PO Box 272862 • Chico, CA 95927-2862 

• • 2Jo 



Exercise #3: One Recipient with One Provider 

Now that the timesheet is completed, answer the following questions: 

1. How many hours did you work in workweek 2? 

l I 
a. Was it within the maximum weekly hours? 

I I 
b. Is an adjustment in hours needed in the following workweek(s)? 

Why? 

l I 
c. Is county approval needed? Why? 

I 
2. Are you eligible for travel time pay? Why? 

3. Did you and the recipient sign and date the back of the timesheet? 



4. Which pre-addressed envelope must be used to mail out the 
timesheet? 

2f 



One Provider 

with 

Multiple Recipients 

Exercises 

• I , 

The following exercises will help IHSS recipients and providers apply the 
new program changes to different recipient and provider relationships_ 



Exercise #4: One Provider with Two Recipients 

You are the IHSS provider for two IHSS recipients who live 15 minutes 
away from each other. You provide IHSS to both of them on the same 
days. 

Recipient A's monthly authorized hours are 120:00. The SOC 2271 and 
SOC 2271A informed you and the recipient that the maximum weekly hours 
are 30:00. Recipient B's authorized monthly hours are 50:00. The SOC 
2271 and SOC 2271A informed you and the recipient that the maximum 
weekly hours are 12:30. 

The calendar below has the recorded hours and minutes that you worked 
from June 1, 2016 through June 15, 2016 for Recipient A. 

June 2016 

Sun Mon Wed Thu Fri Sat 

11· 2 3 4 ~ 

6:00 6:00 6:00 0:00 
5 ... 6 7 ~ 8 9 10 11 

0:00 6:00 I 6:00 6:00 6:00 6:00 0:00 I 

12 13 14 115 16 17 18 

0:00 6:00 6:00 6:00 O.OG Ci 00 ·J (.i(: 

19 20 21 22 23 24 25 

) ·~.t ·~J •=l (J(c 0 iJtJ 0 00 Ct 00 :i .::;c ~:~ ,~~o 

26 27 28 29 30 < r . 
.:'. 

.. .......... :} ·]0 (J (\( l ~I Qij C.1 ·JO Ci OCi I=( JC \ .• 1 t.._l ',) 

It is June 16, 2016, and you need to complete and send in your timesheet. 
Complete the timesheet for Recipient A. 

30 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA-HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
soc 2261 (7/15) lir~ 

~ 
IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES 
1501 SOMETHING AVENUE, 
SACRAMENTO CA 90000 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) 
INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER 

TIMESHEET 
EXERCISE #4 Record your daily hours and minutes 

like these samples. One Provider with Two Recipients: Recipient A --

en 
c: 
0 -(J 

:::J ... -en 
c: -c: 
ca 
t: 
0 

Did not work 
FIRST, LASTNAME 

6 hours 30 minutes 

4 hours 45 minutes 

...____....____. 

565 SOMETHING DR. 
SAN JOSE CA 95116-3439 

1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 

5. 

6. 
7. 

1 O hours '-=--"-"---' 

Total ___ 1._5_ 
Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 
Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 
Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 
Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box with 
a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck . 
You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours (as shown in the "hours" field below) or the weekly allowed 
hours. Claiming extra hours can delay your paycheck. 
You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 

a. 
8. 

You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 
Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction ta e on timesheet. E 

9. Claim ed ay per 

• • 

5 
M 
T 

W01 
T02 
F03 
504 

Case#: 43 01 0000000 

Workweek #1 Workweek #2 

Claimed : 00:00 Claimed : 00:00 

0 0 0 0 505 
0 0 0 0 M06 
0 0 0 0 T07 

wos 
T09 
F10 
511 

Total ____ _ Total 

LASTNAME, FIRST 
4000059138 
06/15/2016 

Workweek#3 

Claimed : 00:00 

512 
M13 
T14 

W15 
T 0 0 0 0 
F 0 0 0 0 
5 0 0 0 0 

Total 

Hours: 120:00 

Workweek#4 

Claimed: 00:00 

5 
M 
T 
w 
T 
F 
5 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

Total _____ _ 

• lllllllilllllllll 
Turn over and sign.• 

• 3f 



"' c: 
0 

.... 
c: 
"' ~ 

1. Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 

2. Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 

3. Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 

4. Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box 
with a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck. 

5. You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours or the weekly allowed hours. Claiming extra hours can delay 
your paycheck. 

&. 6. You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 
E 

7. You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 

8. Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction tape on timesheet. 

I declare that the information on this timesheet is true and correct. I understand that any false claim 
may be prosecuted under Federal and State laws and that if convicted of fraud, I may also be 
subject to civil penalties . 

...___________.______..I .____I -~ 
Recipient's Signature Date Provider's Signature Date 

Mail Detached Timesheet To: 
IHSS Timesheet Processing Facility • PO Box 272862 • Chico, CA 95927-2862 

• • 52 



The calendar below has the recorded hours and minutes that you worked 
from June 1, 2016 through June 15, 2016 for Recipient B. It also includes 
the time that it took for you to travel from Recipient N.s home to Recipient 
B's home. 

-- - - -- -- -- - - .... 

June 2016 

Sun M·on Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat 

1 2 3 4 
,' 

0:15 0:15 0:15 ] 0:00 

2:00 2:00 2:00 
5 6 7 8 9 10 11 

r 

• 
0:00 0:15 0:15 0:25 0:15 0:15 ~ 0:00 

!::i 
2:00 2:00 2:00 2:00 2:00 

t12 ;J 

4 
13 14 15 16 17 18 , 

0:00 ll 0:15 0:15 0:15 0 00 0 QO 0 'JO ,. 
I I ~ I 2:00 2:00 2:00 ( --

1'9 20 21 22 23 24 25 

0 :Jj 0 JO 0 00 Q 00 0 00 c 00 0 00 

26 27 28 29 30 1 2 

0 00 1-t nn 
~ ....... 0 30 0 00 0 00 0 00 0 00 

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

It is June 16, 2016, and you need to complete and send in your timesheet 
and travel claim form. Complete the timesheet and travel claim form for 
Recipient B. 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA-HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
!if~ 
~ 

soc 2261 (7/15) 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES 
1501 SOMETHING AVENUE, 
SACRAMENTO CA 90000 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) 
INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER 

TIMESHEET 
EXERCISE #4 Record your daily hours and minutes 

One Provider with Two Recipients: Recipient B like these samples. 

FIRST, LASTNAME 
Did not work 

6 hours 30 minutes 

4 hours 45 minutes 

10 hours 

G 3 0 565 SOMETHING DR. 
SAN JOSE CA 95116-3439 4 4 5 

"' c: 
0 ...., 
(.J 

:::J 
~ ...., 
"' c:: 
...., 
c: 
t"a 
t 
0 
c. 
E 

• 

s 
M 
T 

W01 
T02 
F03 
504 

1. 
2. 
3 . 
4. 

5. 

6. 
7. 
8. 
9. 

-1:_ Q_ - -
Total 2 1 1 5 

Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 
Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 
Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 
Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box with 
a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck. 
You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours (as shown in the "hours" field below) or the weekly allowed 
hours. Claiming extra hours can delay your paycheck . 
You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 
You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 
Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction ta e on timesheet. 
Claim ed ay per 

• 
Case#: 43 01 0000000 LASTNAME, FIRST 

IHSS 

Workweek #1 Workweek #2 

Claimed: 00:00 Claimed: 00:00 

0 0 0 0 sos 
0 0 0 0 M06 
0 0 0 0 T07 

woa 
T09 
F10 
s 11 

4000059138 
06/15/2016 

Workweek#3 

Claimed : 00:00 

512 
M 13 
T14 

W15 
T 0 0 0 0 
F 0 0 0 0 
s 0 0 0 0 

Hours: 50:00 

Workweek#4 

Claimed : 00:00 

s 
M 
T 
w 
T 
F 
s 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

Total Total Total ____ _ Total ------

• 111111am1111111 
Turn over and sign.• 

• as 



f/) 
c: 
0 
+:. 
CJ 
:::s 
~ .... 
f/) 
c: 
.... 
c: 
ns 
t: 

1. Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 

2. Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 

3. Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 

4. Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box 
with a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck. 

5. You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours or the weekly allowed hours. Claiming extra hours can delay 
your paycheck. 

&. 6. You must enter hours for each day worked {Total line is optional). 

E 
7. You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your ti.mesheet. 

8. Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction tape on timesheet. 

I declare that the information on this timesheet is true and correct. I understand that any false claim 
may be prosecuted under Federal and State laws and that if convicted of fraud, I may also be 
subject to civil penalties . 

.___________._______.IJ ._____ _ ______.______ 
Recipient's Signature Date Provider's Signature Date 

Mail Detached Timesheet To: 
IHSS Timesheet Processing Facility • PO Box 272862 • Chico, CA 95927-2862 

• 



DISTRICT OFFICE 1 
1000 STREET, STE 1 
COWTOWN CA 12345 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
HEAL TH ANO HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY 

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

soc 2275 (02116) 

First LastName 
123 MAIN STREET 
ANYTOWN CA 12345-6789 5AMPL£ 

TRAVEL CLAIM FORM INSTRUCTIONS 

1. This Travel Claim Form must be submitted only after a timesheet with service hours for the same pay period has 
been submitted. 

2. Time travelled from one recipient to another on the day must be claimM Of.I the Travel Claim Form for the 
recipient you travelled To. 

3. In special circumstances where you travelled to the same recipient twrce in th.e:·same day, enter the total amount 
of time travelled for that day. A comment is required in thiffisituation. '': · 

4. Travel hours claimed cannot exceed the 7-hourweekly>tr.~yeFcap. 
• h ~ . 

5. Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers musfbe r~,~dable. " 

6. In the "Case# From" column, write the Reci~J.enfs cas~_number you travelled from. 

7. In the "Distance" column, write the distance you travelledlfrom one recipient to another recipient on the same day. 

8. Comments are required to explain th~. ~o~!e~i~~:· . . " 
If the total number of weekly.Jravel Rot;1r.s exceed the allowed hours. .. . . . . . ~·" .. 

If a special circumstance oecurre.4lo:,~use the travel time to be longer than expected. 

9. The Provider must sign:-<and date"th.e.back ofTravel Claim Form. 

10. The Total line is optjonal. 

Record your daily hours, ·minutes, case number, distance, and comments like this sample: 

Tr.we! Wet>k i:l1 Case# From: Distance.: Comm~nts: 

S ~~ D O . O ;-- i 
l\t 13 1 I l 5 00000001Ti~--~-·- ... ---.. -·--------· 

I 

T14 . ' : 2 . 0 I 
W15 1 

J 1 5 
T 16 -t--tt5i 
F17 ~ I 0000000 I 1.1 Tnrffic iam due to car ac.c1dent. 

S O ! O i O O J I ' 

0000000 1.7 , b---.rtecf due to road construction_ I 

0000000 1.1 
0000000 1.1 ' 

TOTAL , 1 3 0 

TURN OVER AND COMPLETE ) 

Mail To: 
IHSS Timesheet Processing Facility • PO Box 272863 • Chico, CA 95927-2863 

31 



SAMPLE" 
e TRAVEL CLAIM FORM 

P rtivlder Name: LASTNAME. FIRST Recipient Name: LASTNAME. FIRST 
Prov.Ider#: 000000000 Trave~ Cfaim #: 

Pay Period From: 06/01/2016 Pay Perirod To: 

s 29 
I'd 3() 

'T 31 
w 01 
T 02 
F 03 
S04 

TOTAL 

s 05 
M 06 
T 07 
w 08 
T 09 
F 10 
s 11 

Travel Week #1 Case# From: Distance· -
0 0 g 0 
() 0 0 10 
0 0 0 10 

I 

I 

I 
1 

r--
Travel, Wee:k #2 Case# From: Distance: 

I 

looooooooooooooo 
06/15/2016 

TOTAL 
I _- _-- --

s 12 
M 13 
T 14 

W15 
T 16 
F 11 
s 18 

Traver 1NeC!k #3 

I 

0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 

TOTAL ___ _ 

Case t: From: Dis~ncc: 

Case#: 43 01 0000000 
Progtam Type: IHSS 

Comments: 

Coll'lments: 

Comments: 

Comments: 

• 

S19 .,_-4-'....._...__,._. 1------i------------------------__. 
M20 ,___,__,_~__, i-----i--~------------------~ 
T 21 1---1--+---' 

w 72 ~+--"->-"--______, 
T23 0 
F24 0 
SZ5 0 0 0 0 

TOTAL-----

V1'~1Slil"'0 tna'. .~r:{ fa IS'5 cl~1m -eah,- t (:J llv S !<<:\lei ·::ta:rn form may te 
r.~ C•Sll<lu'.i!Cl unn,::r Fl'!~Ji;-;:i. and S1are 1.:;ws ;:,;13 tha; .1 ccin°,11::rM ,1r fr;;u:t. • 
rl'llW &~C t:!: SU))P.tl It'> C>v~I C&nallt~ ::!)• ~ign1ng .as t:'la p•rr.id&r, I ~i!CIAr£ 
·Mr mg """'~ r-".:. C'1ain :'!rl0n 1l1i-s 1ra·~a1 .: ·aorr.r.:.i•n11s 1rue ;:ind r.~ar~cl Provider's Signature 

• 1 111 BBRllll Ill 
Date 

• 



Exercise #4: One Provider with Two Recipients 

Now that the timesheet is completed, answer the following questions: 

1. How many hours total did you work in workweek 2 for Recipients A 
and B? 

2. Since you are the provider for more than one recipient, what is the 
maximum number of hours you can claim in a workweek for all the 
time worked? Did you stay within the combined maximum weekly 
hours allowed? 

3. Are you eligible for travel time pay? Why or why not? How much 
travel time are you claiming in workweek 2? Did you stay within the 
maximum weekly travel time? 

4. Were there any adjustments to the maximum weekly hours that 

require county approval? Why or why not? 

3'f 



5. Did you and the recipient sign and date the back of the timesheet? 

6. Did you complete and sign the back of the Travel Claim form? 

7. Which pre-addressed envelope is used to send the timesheet and 
travel claim form to ensure timely processing and payment? 

+o 



Exercise #5: One Provider with Two Recipients 

You are the IHSS provider for two IHSS recipients who live in the same 
home. You provide IHSS to both of them on the same days. 

Recipient X's monthly authorized hours are 200:00. The SOC 2271 and 
SOC 2271A informed you and the recipient that the maximum weekly hours 
are 50:00. Recipient Y's authorized monthly hours are 40:00. The SOC 
2271 and SOC 2271A informed you and the recipient that the maximum 
weekly hours are 10:00. 

The calendar below has the recorded hours and minutes that you worked 
from June 1, 2016 through June 15, 2016 for Recipient X. 

June 2016 

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat 

1 2 3 4 

6:00 6:00 6:00 6:30 
5 

1 ~ 

6 '[ 7 8 9 10 :) p1 
6:00 6:00 7:00 6:00 6:00 7:00 

.~ 

6:00 I 

12 '13 14 15 16 17 lB 

6:00 6:00 7:00 6:00 0 00 0 00 1J 00 
19 .20 .21 22 23. 24 25 

:.\ :)0 0 00 .) 00 0 OD 0 00 0 1JQ .) oc 
26 27 .28 29 30 ·1 2 

Q OD •JOC1 0 00 0 00 0 00 0 00 (! 00 

' 

It is June 16, 2016, and you need to complete and send in your timesheet. 
Complete the timesheet for Recipient X. 





-

STATE OF CALIFORNIA-HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY 
B"~ 

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES a soc 2261 (7/15) 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES 
1501 SOMETHING AVENUE, 
SACRAMENTO CA 90000 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) 
INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER 

TIMESHEET 
EXERCISE #5 Record your daily hours and minutes 

llke these samples. One Provider with Two Recipients: Recipient X 

FIRST, LASTNAME 
Did not work 

3 0 
-f 5 

565 SOMETHING DR. 6 hours 30 minutes 

4 hours 45 minutes SAN JOSE CA 95116-3439 

en 
c: 
0 ·--CJ 
::::s .. -en 
c: -c: 
ca 
t: 
0 
a. 
E 

• 

s 
M 
T 

W01 
T02 
F03 
504 

Total 

• 

1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 

5. 

6. 
7. 
8. 
9. 

10 hours 1-=-o'-"--' 

Total __ _.;..1._5;._ 
Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 
Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 
Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 
Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box with 
a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck . 
You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours (as shown in the "hours" field below) or the weekly allowed 
hours. Claiming extra hours can delay your paycheck. 
You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 
You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 
Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction ta e on timesheet. 
Claim ed ay per 

• 
Case #: 43 01 0000000 LASTNAME, FIRST 

IHSS 
06/01 /2016 

Workweek #1 Workweek #2 

Claimed : 00:00 Claimed : 00:00 

0 0 0 0 505 
0 0 0 0 M06 
0 0 0 0 TO? 

W08 
T09 
F10 
511 

Total ------

40000591 38 
06/15/2016 Hours: 200:00 

512 
M 13 
T14 

W15 
T 
F 
s 

Total 

Workweek #3 Workweek #4 

Claimed: 00:00 

0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 

Claimed: 00:00 

5 
M 
T 
w 
T 
F 
s 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

Total _____ _ 

llllllEBlllllll 
Turn over and sign.• 

• Jf3 



tn 
c: 
0 ·-.... 
CJ 
:::::s ... .... 
tn 
c: 
.... 
c: 
ns 
t:: 

1. Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 

2. Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 

3. Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 

4. Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box 
with a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck. 

5. You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours or the weekly allowed hours. Claiming extra hours can delay 
your paycheck. 

g_ 6. You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 

E 
7. You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 

8. Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction tape on timesheet. 

I declare that the information on this timesheet is true and correct. I understand that any false claim 
may be prosecuted under Federal and State laws and that if convicted of fraud, I may also be 
subject to civil penalties. 

~----____.I .___I _ ___.____ 
Recipient's Signature Date Provider's Signature Date 

Mail Detached Timesheet To: 
IHSS Timesheet Processing Facility • PO Box 272862 • Chico, CA 95927-2862 

• • ff 



The calendar below has the recorded hours and minutes that you worked 
from June 1, 2016 through June 15, 2016 for Recipient Y. 

June 2016 

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat 

1 2 3 4 -

1:00 1:00 1:00 1.00 
5 6 7 --·~ 8 9 10 11 

1:00 1:00 1:00 1:00 1:00 1;00 1:00 
I 18 

-
12 13 14 15 ~6 17 

1:00 1:00 1:00 J • - .} 
I 

1:00 - . - . -

19 .20 21 22 23 24 25 
... ' I 

·, : .. . .. .r '-' ·-' , . • ' . 
26 27 28 29 30 .: 

(t ' : ._l 1)\.: 
.. . .. 

" -' ~ ' ' -. - .. - . . ' -

It is June 16, 2016, and you need to complete and send in your timesheet. 
Complete the timesheet for Recipient Y. 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA-HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY 
~ii 

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES e soc 2261 (7/15) 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES 
1501 SOMETHING AVENUE, 
SACRAMENTO CA 90000 

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) 
INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER 

TIMESHEET 
EXERCISE #5 Record your daily hours and minutes 

like these samples. One Provider with Two Recipients: Recipient Y 

t/) 
c: 
0 
; 
(.) 
:J ... -t/) c: -c: 
nl 
t:: 
0 
c. 
E 

FIRST, LASTNAME 
Did not work 

~~ 

565 SOMETHING DR. 6 hours 30 minutes ~i...=:;......j 

SAN JOSE CA 95116-3439 4 hours 45 minutes 1----11--!-1 

10 hours L.=J·'-=-J 

1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 

5. 

6. 
7. 
8. 
9. 

Total __..;.__;;;;;;;...,.,..;;1-=--..;5~ 
Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 
Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 
Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 
Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box with 
a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck . 
You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours (as shown in the "hours" field below) or the weekly allowed 
hours. Claiming extra hours can delay your paycheck. 
You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 
You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 
Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction ta e on timesheet. 
Claim ed ay per 

• • 
Provider #: 00 

s 
M 
T 

W01 
T02 
F03 
504 

Case#: 43 01 0000000 

06/01/2016 

Workweek #1 Workweek #2 

Claimed : 00:00 Claimed : 00:00 

0 0 0 0 505 
0 0 0 0 M06 
0 0 0 0 T07 

W08 
T09 
F10 
511 

Total _____ _ Total 

LASTNAME, FIRST 
4000059138 
06/15/2016 Hours: 40:00 

512 
M13 
T14 

W15 
T 
F 
5 

Total 

Workweek #3 Workweek #4 

Claimed : 00:00 

0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 
0 0 0 0 

Claimed : 00:00 

5 
M 
T 
w 
T 
F 
5 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 
0 0 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

Total _____ _ 

• llllllRBl!lllll 
Turn over and sign.• 

• ~1 



.... 
c: 
n:s 
~ 

1. Use black ink only and press firmly. Numbers must be readable. 

2. Your defined workweek is from Sunday 12:00 AM to Saturday 11 :59 PM. 

3. Do not send any other documents with the timesheet. 

4. Only write in the hours, minutes, signature, and date boxes. Do not write in any box 
with a preprinted 0. Any extra writing on the timesheet can delay your paycheck. 

5. You will not be paid for hours claimed more than the recipient's IHSS Program 
authorized hours or the weekly allowed hours. Claiming extra hours can delay 
your paycheck. 

&. 6. You must enter hours for each day worked (Total line is optional). 

E 
7. You and your Recipient must sign and date the back of your timesheet. 

8. Do not fold the timesheet. Do not use white out or correction tape on timesheet. 

I declare that the information on this timesheet is true and correct. I understand that any false claim 
may be prosecuted under Federal and State laws and that if convicted of fraud, I may also be 
subject to civil penalties . 

.________._________.II.____-~ 
Recipient's Signature Date Provider's Signature Date 

Mail Detached Timesheet To: 
IHSS Timesheet Processing Facility • PO Box 272862 • Chico, CA 95927-2862 

• • Jf 8 



Exercise #5: One Provider with Two Recipients 

Now that the timesheets are completed, answer the following questions: 

1. How many hours total did you work in workweek 2 for Recipients X 
and Y? 

2. Since you are the provider for more than one recipient, what is the 
maximum number of hours you can claim in a workweek for all the 
time worked? Did you stay within the combined maximum weekly 
hours allowed? 

3. You work for more than one recipient. Are you eligible for travel time 
pay? Why or why not? 

4. Were there any adjustments to the maximum weekly hours that 

require county approval? Why or why not? 



5. Did you and the recipient sign and date the back of the timesheet? 

6. Which pre-addressed envelope is used to send the timesheet and 

travel claim form to ensure timely processing and payment? 

So 




