
Your Timesheet & Overtime Requirements 
 
New Informational Video:   
Timesheets, Overtime & Travel Time Pay 
 
The California Department of Social Services (CDSS) is 
pleased to announce the availability of a short, but very 
informative video, which will give you additional details 
about new changes to California state law which now 
require providers of the In-Home Supportive Services 
(IHSS) to be paid overtime and travel time, under certain 
conditions and within specific limits. When these limits are 
not followed, providers may get a violation with 
consequences. 

Please take a few minutes to view this video. 

We highly encourage you to take advantage of this 
opportunity to watch the video and see how these 
changes may impact you! 

 
Training 
Training is now available for you to learn more about these 
new changes. Contact your local county IHSS office, IHSS 
Public Authority, or union representative to get the details.  
In addition to the video and training, the following tips 
highlight important information to remember in order to 
avoid payment delays and violations. 

http://www.cdss.ca.gov/agedblinddisabled/PG3154.htm


Do’s and Don’ts 
Do’s: 

- Eligible providers may only travel up to 7 hours per 
workweek. 

- Both recipients and providers need to understand 
the county approval process for adjusting hours. 

Don’t: 

- Providers must not work more than their assigned 
total maximum weekly hours. 

- Providers who work for more than one recipient 
cannot work more than a total of 66 hours per 
workweek. 

 
Timesheet Completion Tips  
1. It is important for providers to remember these helpful 

tips when completing Timesheets: 
2. Only use black ink and press firmly. 
3. Both the recipient and provider must sign and date the 

back of the timesheet. 
4. Cut along the dotted line.  
5. Do not fold the timesheet. 
6. Do not write in any boxes with preprinted information.  
7. Only enter hours and minutes for each day worked on 

timesheets. 
8. Only mail one timesheet per envelope. 
9. Place the correct postage on the outside of the 

envelope.  



 
 
For additional information, contact your local county IHSS 
office or IHSS Public Authority, or visit the California 
Department of Social Services’ Adult Programs Division 
website. 

http://www.cdss.ca.gov/agedblinddisabled/PG1296.htm
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/agedblinddisabled/PG1296.htm
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