IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR PROSPECTIVE PROVIDERS ABOUT THE IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) PROGRAM PROVIDER ENROLLMENT PROCESS

An IHSS provider is someone who gets paid to provide services to a person who receives in-home supportive services under the IHSS Program. If you want to become an IHSS provider, you must complete all of the steps outlined below before you can be enrolled as a provider and receive payment from the IHSS Program for providing services.

STEP 1. Complete and sign the IHSS Program Provider Enrollment Form (SOC 426), and return it <u>in person</u> to the County IHSS Office or IHSS Public Authority.

- Get a blank copy of the SOC 426 from the County IHSS Office or Public Authority. *Read the information carefully before you complete the form.*
- Complete the SOC 426 form and answer all questions completely and truthfully. You *must* report if you have been convicted of any crimes that would not allow you to provide
 services.
- Bring a U.S. government issued picture ID AND an original Social Security card. If you do
 not have a Social Security card you may show the original official letter from the Social
 Security Administration (SSA) showing your Social Security number (SSN).
- The information you provide on the Provider Enrollment Form (SOC 426) will be verified by a criminal background check by the California Department of Justice (DOJ). The criminal background check is required to be a provider (See Step 2).

STEP 2. Be fingerprinted and go through a criminal background check by the California Department of Justice.

- The County IHSS Office or Public Authority will give you instructions on how to get fingerprinted when you turn in the completed and signed SOC 426. Do not try to be fingerprinted until you have received instructions from the county.
- You can get fingerprinted at some local law enforcement agencies (Police or Sheriff Department) or at a business that offers digitally scanned fingerprinting (Live Scan) services. The County IHSS Office or Public Authority can give you a list of nearby locations.
- State law requires that you pay the costs for fingerprinting and the criminal background check. Fees vary depending where you choose to get fingerprinted; the costs range from \$40 to \$90.
- If the background check verifies that you have <u>not</u> been convicted of any Tier 1 or Tier 2 crimes, **proceed to Step 3**.
- If the background check verifies that you <u>have been convicted</u> of any Tier 1 or Tier 2 crimes, please read the sections on the next pages.

SOC 847 (1/11) PAGE 1 OF 3

If you have been convicted of, OR incarcerated following a conviction for, either a **Tier 1 or Tier 2** crime WITHIN THE PAST 10 YEARS, you are **NOT** eligible to be enrolled as an IHSS provider or to receive payment from the IHSS program for providing supportive services.

Tier 1 crimes include:

- Specified abuse of a child (Penal Code (PC) section 273a(a);
- Abuse of an elder or dependent adult (PC section 368); or
- Fraud against a government health care or supportive services program.

If you have a conviction for any of the **Tier 1 crimes** in the past 10 years, you are **NOT** eligible to be a provider.

 You are <u>NOT</u> eligible even if you had a Tier 1 crime that was expunged from your record.

Tier 2 crimes include:

- A violent or serious felony, as specified in PC section 667.5(c), and PC section 1192.7(c),
- A felony offense for which a person is required to register as a sex offender pursuant to PC section 290(c), and
- A felony offense for fraud against a public social services program, as defined in W&IC section 10980(c) (2) and (g) (2).

You can ask the County IHSS Office or IHSS Public Authority for a list of the Tier 2 crimes.

If you have a conviction for any of the **Tier 2 crimes** in the past 10 years you may be eligible—

- If your Tier 2 crime has been or can be expunded from your record.
- If a recipient requests an individual waiver to hire you.
- If you are approved for a general exception.

Read sections below for more information.

Expungement for Tier 2 crime:

- If you have a certificate of rehabilitation or an expungement for a Tier 2 crime, you may be
 eligible to be an IHSS provider. Provide copies of your certification of rehabilitation or
 documentation regarding the expungement with your completed SOC 426.
- If you are in the process of having a crime expunded, you should complete the expundement process before continuing the criminal background check.

Individual Waiver of Exclusion for a Tier 2 crime:

An individual waiver allows you to provide services ONLY to a specific recipient who chooses to hire you in spite of your criminal conviction (s) and he/she requests an individual waiver.

- A recipient must request and submit the Recipient Request for Provider Waiver (SOC 862) to the County IHSS Office to allow you to provide services.
- The IHSS recipient who wants to hire you must be told of your conviction; however, he/she will be directed to keep the conviction information confidential.

SOC 847 (1/11) PAGE 2 OF 3

General Exception for a Tier 2 crime:

An individual who has been found ineligible to be enrolled as a provider based on a conviction for a Tier 2 crime, but who wishes to be listed on a provider registry, may apply for a general exception of the exclusion.

- Apply for a General Exception by completing the IHSS Applicant Provider Request for General Exception (SOC 863) form.
- You will be required to provide backup documentation, e.g., employment history, personal references, etc., to support your request for a general exception.

If you have been disqualified based on a Tier 1 or Tier 2 conviction, you may request a copy of your criminal offender record information (CORI) from the county. Please be advised that the CORI can ONLY be used for this enrollment process.

If the information on your criminal background is incorrect, you can dispute the information through the DOJ record review process.

The DOJ record review process includes submitting fingerprints, paying a processing fee and following the instructions found on the DOJ website at http://ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/security.php. If there is criminal information on your record, a Claim of Alleged Inaccuracy or Incompleteness (FORM BCII 8706) will be included along with the response.

STEP 3. Go to an IHSS Program Provider Orientation given by the county.

- The County IHSS Office or Public Authority will tell you when and where you can attend an orientation session.
- The orientation will give you important information about the IHSS Program and the rules and requirements for you to follow as a provider.

STEP 4. At the end of the Provider Orientation session, sign an IHSS Program Provider Enrollment Agreement (SOC 846).

 By signing the SOC 846, you are saying that you understand and agree to the rules and requirements for being a provider in the IHSS Program.

You should maintain copies of all documents you submitted and any that you received from the county for your records.

Once you have successfully completed these four (4) steps and you have been approved by the county or Public Authority to be an IHSS provider, as long as you are an active provider and your criminal background check remains clear, you will continue to be eligible to provide services for any IHSS recipient.

If you have any questions about these provider enrollment requirements, contact your County IHSS Office or IHSS Public Authority.

SOC 847 (1/11) PAGE 3 OF 3