State of California — Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Social Services

NOTICE OF ACTION County of:
FORM AND INSTRUCTIONS - (4) Notice Date:
For Approved Relatives, Non-Relative (5) Case Name:
Extended Family Members, Foster (6) Case Worker Number:
Family Homes, Non-Related Legal (7) Case Worker Name:
Guardians or Non-Minor Dependents (8) Case Number:
Residing In A Supervised Independent (9) Telephone:
Living Setting: (10) Address:

(1) Name: |_ _|

(2) Address:
(3) City, State Zip:

L _

This is to inform you that you were overpaid AFDC-Foster Care benefits

(11) for for
(NAME OF CHILD)

(12) the period of to
(MM/DD/YYYY) (MM/DD/YYYY)

(13) Total amount you received: $

(14) Total amount you should have received: $

(15) Total amount of Overpayment: $

(16) Date of Discovery: Collection is permitted if demand within one year of
discovery.

(17) You are required to repay the overpayment amount of $

(18) Reason for the overpayment:

1(A) From (date) the child/youth was not residing in your home and
you failed to report that to your county social worker and you received payments for him/her
that you were not entitled to.

(B) Other:

By law we can collect foster care overpayments if the adult caretaker caused the overpayment.
We cannot require you to repay the overpayment if you meet an exception. Exceptions to
repayment are:

« The overpayment was due to county error, or

« You did not help cause the overpayment, or

« Both you and the county were unaware that the child/youth was not eligible for funding, or

« The child/youth was temporarily absent from your home and you used the funds to maintain

your home for the child/youth’s return, or to meet the child/youth’s needs, or

« The cost of collecting the overpayment exceeds the amount of overpayment likely to be
recovered by the county.
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If you disagree with the reason for overpayment or the amount of the overpayment, you may
request a hearing. Please see following pages for hearing instructions.

If you agree with the reason for overpayment and the overpayment amount, you must do one of the
following within 90 calendar days from the day the county gave or mailed you this notice:

1) Make a one time payment of the total amount;
Please pay by check or money order, made payable to:

Send to:

2) Sign a written payment agreement. You must contact the worker at the top of this page to
discuss the terms of a written payment agreement.

If you have any questions regarding the overpayment computation or repayment arrangements,
please contact the worker at the top of this form.

(19) Insert overpayment calculations and substantiation of time periods by month as required in
regulation. See MPP Section 45-305. Attach a page if additional space is needed.

Relevant Law: Welfare and Institutions Code section 11466.24, Manual of Policies and Procedures
(MPP) sections 22-009, 45-302, 45-304, 45-305, and 45-306.
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YOUR HEARING RIGHTS

You have the right to ask for a hearing if you disagree with any county action. You have
only 90 days to ask for a hearing. The 90 days started the day after the county gave or
mailed you this notice.

State Hearing: If you think this action is wrong, you can ask for a hearing. Your benefits may not be
changed if you ask for a hearing before this action takes place.

To request a Hearing:

If you think this action is wrong, you can ask for either an informal hearing provided by the County or
a formal State hearing. Your benefits may not be changed if you ask for a hearing before this action
takes place.

In order to request an informal hearing, your request must be made no later than 30 calendar days
after this notice was mailed to you . You may send your request by any of the following methods.

(JInwriting [ ]Email requests [ ]Phone requests
Address

Your request should state why you want the informal hearing and if you will need a free interpreter. If
so, please indicate what language or dialect you speak.

You may appeal the informal hearing decision at a formal State hearing. You may request the formal
State hearing within 90 calendar days after the informal hearing decision is mailed to you. If the
informal hearing is requested but not held, the 90 days will begin 31 calendar days from the date of
this notice.

If you choose a formal State hearing, please note that you must request that State hearing
within 90 calendar days of the receipt of this notice.

If you have any questions, contact the worker at the top of the first page of this form.

TDD - For Hearing Impaired

NA 1261A BACK (Revised 3/20) Page 3 of 4
Required Form - No Substitute Permitted



TO ASK FOR A HEARING:
* Fill out this page.

» Make a copy of the front and back of this page for your records. If you ask, your worker will get
you a copy of this page.

* Send or take this page to:

OR
e Call toll free: 1-800-952-5253 or for hearing or speech impaired who use TDD, 1-800-952-8349.

To Get Help: You can ask about your hearing rights or for a legal aid referral at the toll-free
state phone numbers listed above. You may get free legal help at your local legal aid or welfare
rights office.

If you do not want to go to the hearing alone, you can bring a friend or someone with you.
HEARING REQUEST

| want a hearing due to an action by the Welfare Department of County
about my: [] Overpayment

Here’s Why:

] If you need more space, check here and add a page.

] I need the state to provide me with an interpreter at no cost to me. (A relative or friend cannot
interpret for you at the hearing.)

My language or dialect is:

Name of Person Whose Benefits Were Denied,Changed or Stopped Date of Birth | Phone Number
Street Address City State Zip Code
Signature Date

Name of Person Completing This Form Phone Number

] 1 want the person named below to represent me at this hearing. | give my permission for
this person to see my records or go to the hearing for me. (This person can be a friend or
relative but cannot interpret for you.)

Name Phone Number
Street Address City State Zip Code
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