CALWORKS 48-MONTH TIME LIMIT



CalWORKs 48-MONTH TIME LIMIT ON AID

Beginning July 1, 2011, an aided adult (parent, stepparent, and/or caretaker relative) can only get 48 months (4 years) of cash aid from the California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) program. This includes cash aid you got from California and other states' Federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Programs.

The 48-month time limit does NOT apply to:

- Children
- Child Care
- Medi-Cal Benefits
- CalFresh Benefits
- Aid that you got from California or other states under the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) Program <u>before January 1, 1998</u>.

FACTS YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT THE CalWORKS 48-MONTH TIME LIMIT

Time Limit Exemptions - "Clock Stoppers"

A month on cash aid does not count toward your CalWORKs 48-month time limit if at any time during that month you are:

- Disabled (You must have medical proof of a disability that is expected to last at least 30 days.)
- 60 years or older.
- Caring for an ill or incapacitated person living in your home, which impairs you from working or participating in welfare-to-work activities.
- Caring for a dependent child of the court or a child at risk of placement in foster care, which impairs you from working or participating in welfare-to-work activities.
- A victim of domestic abuse and the county waives the 48-month time limit.
- Living in Indian Country, as defined by federal law, or an Alaskan native village, in which at least 50 percent of the adults are unemployed.
- Granted an exemption from participation and the cash aid time limit based on caring for a child who is 0-23 months of age. (This exemption is only available once.)

More "Clock Stoppers" to the CalWORKs 48-Month Time Limit

A month does not count if:

- You did not get CalWORKs cash aid for yourself because your grant was less than \$10, you were sanctioned, or you
 were not eligible for any other reason.
- Your cash grant is fully repaid by child support collection.
- You are off cash aid, employed and only getting supportive services such as child care, transportation, or case management.

For more information regarding time limits, see back page.

CALWORKS 48-MONTH TIME LIMIT

Time Limit Exceptions - "Time Extenders"

You may be able to get more cash aid after 48 months if <u>all</u> aided parents, stepparents, and/or caretaker relatives in the home are in one of the following situations:

- Caring for an ill or incapacitated person living in your home, which impairs you from working or participating in welfare-to-work activities.
- · 60 years or older
- Caring for a dependent child of the court, or a child at risk of placement in foster care, which impairs you from working or participating in welfare-to-work activities.
- Evaluated by the county and are found to be unable to maintain work or take part in welfare-to-work activities. This exception only applies when the adult has a history of cooperating with welfare-to-work rules.
- Not in the assistance unit (AU) for any reason other than reaching the 48-month time limit.
- Disabled and receiving certain types of disability benefits and the disability impairs you from working or participating in welfare-to-work activities. The benefits that qualify for this are: State Disability Insurance, Worker's Compensation Temporary Disability Insurance, In-Home Supportive Services, or State Supplementary Program benefits.
- If only one adult in the home meets an extender, you won't be eligible for extended cash aid. Both adults must meet one of these extenders, but each one can meet a different one.

CalWORKs 48-Month Time Limit Waiver for Extending Aid

If you are a victim of domestic abuse and the county determines that your condition or situation impairs your ability to work or to participate in welfare-to-work activities, the county may waive the 48-month time limit, and you can get more than 48 months of aid.

Request for Exemption or Extender

If you think you meet the rules for an exemption or extender, contact your worker. You may also contact your worker to find out how many months of aid you used.

Choosing to Leave Cash Aid

If your family is getting only a small amount of monthly cash aid, you may choose to go off aid so that the months will <u>not</u> count against your CalWORKs 48-month time limit. This <u>will</u> save you some months for cash aid in the future. You should contact your worker to find out if going off aid will be helpful to you.

Diversion

There are special time limit rules for diversion. Diversion is a lump sum payment you can get instead of getting monthly cash aid. The month that you get the diversion payment counts as one month toward the CalWORKs 48-month time limit, unless you reapply and get cash aid during the diversion period. In that case, you may choose to have all the months in the diversion period counted toward the 48-month time limit, or to repay the diversion payment by reducing your monthly cash grant.

RULES FOR OTHER STATES

Other states have different time limit rules. If you got TANF aid in another state - or if you plan to move to another state - you must contact that state to find out about its time limit requirements.