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SUBJECT: CALIFORNIA WORK OPPORTUNITY AND RESPONSIBILITY TO KIDS

(CalWORKs) PROGRAM: CHANGES TO THE SCHOOL ATTENDANCE
REQUIREMENTS

REFERENCE: ASSEMBLY BILL (AB) 2382 (CHAPTER 905, STATUTES of 2014);
WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE SECTIONS 11253.5; AND
MANUAL OF POLICIES AND PROCEDURES (MPP) SECTION
40-105.5; ALL COUNTY LETTER (ACL) No. 14-12

The purpose of this ACL is to inform the County Welfare Departments (CWDs) of changes to
the CalWORKSs program pursuant to AB 2382, which the Governor enacted on

September 30, 2014. Effective January 1, 2015, CalWORKSs Assistance Units (AUs) will not
have their grant reduced when the CWD learns that a child under 16 years of age is not
regularly attending school. Instructions for children ages 16 and older will follow later in this
ACL. AB 2382 provided the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) with authority to
implement this new school attendance rule change through an ACL. The CDSS will be adopting
regulations no later than July 1, 2016.

Former Rules

AB 2382 repeals existing law which required that all children in the AU for whom school
attendance is compulsory, except individuals who are eligible for the Cal-Learn Program, must
attend school “regularly,” as defined by the county. Under this law, if the CWD determined that
an eligible child under 16 years of age was not regularly attending school the needs of all adults
in the AU were not to be considered in computing the grant of the family, unless the county
determined that good cause existed.

Teens ages16 or 17 who fail to attend school regularly or who have completed high school or its
equivalent are required to participate in the Welfare to Work (WTW) program (MPP 42-719). If
the CWD determined that a child age 16 to 17 years of age or older had not been regularly


http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&sectionNum=11253.5.
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/entres/getinfo/pdf/2EAS.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/lettersnotices/EntRes/getinfo/acl/2014/14-12.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/13-14/bill/asm/ab_2351-2400/ab_2382_bill_20140930_chaptered.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/entres/getinfo/pdf/7EAS.pdf
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attending school or complying with a WTW plan, their needs were not considered in computing
the grant of the family unless good cause existed.

Under this law, the WTW 24-Month Time Clock did not apply to any individual under 18 years of
age. With AB 2382, the WTW 24-Month Time Clock rule does not change. Additionally, teens
16 and 17 years of age are still subject to the above mentioned WTW program rules.

New Rules

CWDs will no longer require applicants and recipients to provide verification of school
attendance at application and annual redetermination. Likewise, CWDs are no longer required
to ask about school attendance at application or annual redetermination with the exception of
pregnant or parenting teens for the purposes of CalLearn. A child shall be presumed to be
attending school unless he or she has been deemed a chronic truant pursuant to Section
48263.6 of the Education Code.

The CWD shall inform applicants and recipients of California’s compulsory education law, which
requires everyone between the ages of six and 18 years of age to attend school, except 16 and
17 year olds who have graduated from high school or passed the California High School
Proficiency Exam (CHSPE) and obtained parental permission to leave.

If the CWD learns that a child age 16 years of age or older has not been attending school and is
deemed a chronic truant pursuant to Section 48263.6, the needs of the child shall not be
considered in computing the grant of the family. This shall apply for any month in which the
CWD is informed by a school district or a county School Attendance Review Board that the child
did not attend school, unless at least one of the following exception criteria exists:

e The CWD is provided with evidence that the child’s attendance records are not available;

o The CWD is provided with evidence that the child has been attending school;

e Good cause for school nonparticipation exists at any time during the month. Good cause
shall be determined by the CWD. The CWD may use existing school attendance good

cause criteria to establish those policies;

¢ Any member of the household is eligible to participate in the CWDs’ current family
stabilization program for any reason, including other siblings and parents;

e The CWD is provided with evidence that the child, parent, or caregiver is complying with
requirements imposed by a School Attendance Review Board, the County Probation
Department, or the District Attorney; or

o A member of the household is cooperating with a plan developed by a county child welfare
agency such as Juvenile Probation, County Child Protective Services or Foster Care, etc.
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A child, whose needs have not been considered in computing the grant of the family, shall
remain eligible for services that may lead to attendance in school. The CWD may inform the
family of how to enroll the child in a continuation school within the county and CDSS strongly
encourages CWDs to evaluate eligibility for family stabilization services in accordance with their
policies and procedures. The CWD shall document in the case file that the family was given this
information and evaluated for those services.

Implementation

For all cases with a school attendance penalty imposed prior to January 1, 2015, for children
under 16 years of age, the penalty must be lifted as of January 1, 2015, and the parent’s portion
added back to the grant on January 1, 2015.

For all cases with a school attendance penalty imposed prior to January 1, 2015, for a child 16
years of age and older, the penalty must be lifted once the CWD receives verification the child is
no longer deemed a chronic truant pursuant to Section 48263.6 or meeting at least one of the
exception criteria on page two of this ACL.

CWDs are given 120 days, from the date of this letter, to review all case files for all
children age 16 and older with school attendance penalties to assess the case for either
lifting or continuing the penalty based on the guidance in this ACL. If the CWD has no
evidence that the student was deemed a chronic truant pursuant to Section 48263.6 or
receives verification that the child was either attending school or meeting at least one of
the exception criteria during that time period, the CWD will retroactively lift the penalty
back to the date that the child was meeting the requirement or exception criteria but no
earlier than January 1, 2015. Counties shall reach out to the family, if necessary, to ask
for verification if none exists in the case file and give the family a chance to submit
evidence that the child meets any of the exception criteria.

For those cases with a penalty imposed after January 1, 2015, the CWD will remove the penalty
once verification is received or at least one of the conditions listed in the exception criteria exists
and use the Semi-Annual Reporting (SAR) rules to add the cash aid portion back to the grant
the first of the following month.

Family Stabilization Program

Effective January 1, 2014, CWDs began implementing Family Stabilization (FS) as required by
Assembly Bill (AB) 74 (Chapter 21, Statutes of 2013). FS provides intensive case management
and services, as per a county FS plan, to address an identified situation and/or crisis that is
destabilizing a family and interferes with a mandatory WTW participant’s ability to participate in
WTW activities and services. Families that contain individuals who are required to participate in
the WTW program and who have time remaining on their WTW 24-Month Time Clock are
eligible for FS services.

Anytime the CWD learns that a child in a CalWORKs AU is a chronic truant as described in this
ACL, the family may be referred to their CWD’s FS program for evaluation of FS eligibility
requirements. If the family does not otherwise meet FS program eligibility requirements or
truancy services are not provided as part of the CWDs FS program but a mandatory participant
is unable to complete their work requirements due to a minor’s truancy issues, then the case


http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/13-14/bill/asm/ab_0051-0100/ab_74_bill_20130627_chaptered.pdf
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should be reviewed for WTW good cause and members of the family may be referred to
counseling services per MPP 42-750.114.

Reporting Requirement

CWDs are required to capture all family members receiving FS services and the types of
services being provided via the Family Stabilization (FS) Program Quarterly Status Report ESP
14 form. CWDs will use section: Part C. FS Services Provided, 8d, other services. As written in
ACL 14-12, the CWDs must submit updated plans to the CDSS if the county makes significant
changes to its FS Program.

Notices of Action (NOAS)

M40-105D1 (1/15) — School Attendance — Grant Increase Due to Change in Law

This NOA was created to inform recipients who have a penalty applied to the AUs grant amount
and the grant amount will be increasing due to the law change. The NOA informs the recipient
of the change in law and the AU’s new grant amount. Use the NA 200 (4/13) budget for AUs
with no income or with steady monthly income and the NA 1239 SAR (10/12) for other AUs with
income.

M40-105E (1/15) — School Attendance- Grant Decrease — Required Documentation

This NOA is being revised to specify that it pertains to children age 16 and older. The NOA is
used when a recipient has been asked to provide proof of regular school attendance and has
not provided the proof or has provided insufficient proof. The NOA informs the recipient that the
AU’s grant will be decreased. Use the NA 200 (4/13) budget for AUs with no income or with
steady monthly income and the NA 1239 SAR (10/12) for other AUs with income.

CAMERA READY COPIES AND TRANSLATIONS

For a camera-ready copy in English, contact the CDSS Forms Management Unit at
fmudss@dss.ca.gov. If your office has internet access, you may obtain these forms from the
CDSS webpage at: http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/FormsandPu_271.htm.

When all translations are completed per Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP)
Section 21-115.2, they are posted on an on-going basis on the CDSS webpage.
Copies of the translated forms can be obtained at:
http://www.dss.cahwnet.qgov/cdssweb/FormsandPu_274.htm.

For questions on translated materials, please contact the CDSS Language Services at
(916) 651-8876. Until translations are available, recipients who have elected to receive
materials in languages other than English should be sent the English version of the form or
notice along with the GEN 1365 - Notice of Language Services and a local contact number.

The CWDs shall ensure that effective bilingual services are provided. This requirement may be
met through utilization of paid interpreters, qualified bilingual employees, and qualified
employees of other agencies or community resources. These services shall be provided free of
charge to the applicant/recipient. In the event that CDSS does not provide translations of a


http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/entres/getinfo/pdf/7EAS.pdf
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/research/res/pdf/blankforms/FSP14v7_14.pdf
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/research/res/pdf/blankforms/FSP14v7_14.pdf
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/NA200.PDF
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/NA1239SAR.pdf
mailto:fmudss@dss.ca.gov
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/FormsandPu_271.htm
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/FormsandPu_274.htm
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/Multi/GEN1365MUL.pdf
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form, it is the CWD’s responsibility to provide the interpreter services if an applicant or recipient
requests them. More information regarding translations can be found in MPP Section 21-115.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact the CalWORKs Eligibility Bureau
at (916) 654-1322.

Sincerely,

Original Document Signed By:
TODD R. BLAND

Deputy Director

Welfare to Work Division

Attachments

C: CWDA
CSAC


http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/entres/getinfo/pdf/3cfcman.pdf
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Department of Social Services Action : Change

Issue: Law Change

Title: School Attendance

Auto ID No.: Use Form No. : NA 200 or NA 1239 SAR
Source : Original Date : 01-01-15, New

Issued by : ACL 15-22 Revision Date

Reg Cite : Assembly Bill (AB) 2382

(Chapter 905, Statutes of 2014)

MESSAGE:
As of , the County is changing your
cash aid from $ to $

Here's why:

The law has changed and the County is
stopping a penalty that lowered your cash aid
because your child was not attending school.
The new law says the County cannot lower your
cash aid unless the school district tells us
that your child (if he or she is age 16 or
over) 1s a chronic truant (misses a lot of
school and does not have a good reason by
law) .

The new law ended the penalty on January 1,
2015. If you had a penalty for any time
after that date, your grant may include a
repayment of benefits you should have gotten.

You will get the repayment the same way you
get your regular cash aid. If you have EBT
the repayment will be put on your EBT card.

If your child is age 16 or over and the
school district tells us that your child is a
chronic truant, the County may lower your
cash aid again. The County will send you a
new notice before that happens.

Your new cash aid amount is figured on this
notice.

INSTRUCTIONS: Use to change the amount of aid when ending an existing school
attendance penalty due to AB 2382. Use NA 200 if the AU has no income or NA 1239
SAR if the AU has income for the correct budget.
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Department of Social Services Action

M40-105E Page 1 of 2
Change

Issue: Required Documentation
Title: School Attendance Child Age 16

And Over
Auto ID No.: Use Form No.
Source : Original Date
Issued by : ACL 15-22 Revision Date

Reg Cite : Assembly Bill (AB) 2382
(Chapter 905, Statutes of 2014)

MESSAGE:
As of , the County is changing your
cash aid from $ to $

Here's why:

[ ] You have at least one child age 16 years
or older and you did not give us the proof of
school attendance that we asked for. You did
not tell us that you had a good reason for
yvour child not attending school or for not
turning in the proof that your child was
attending school and you have not asked the
County for help getting this proof.

[ 1] You have given us proof of school
attendance for all of the children age 16 and
over in your assistance unit. However, the
proof you gave us shows that has
been deemed a chronic truant.

If your child between 16 and 18 years of age
and the county school attendance review board
tells us that he or she is a chronic truant
(misses a lot of school without a good reason
by law), your grant will get lowered. Your
grant will not go down if:

e You give us proof your child is
attending school;

e You give us proof that your child’s
attendance records are not available;

e You give us proof that you or your child
are cooperating with the school
attendance review board, county
probation department, District Attorney
or someone in your home 1is cooperating
with a plan created by a county child
welfare services worker;

e Someone in your home is eligible for
family stabilization services; or

e The county finds that your child has
good cause for not attending school.

The penalty for not giving us proof we ask
for in this notice is that we are lowering
your grant. The needs of (name 16-
17 year old child) were not counted in
figuring the amount of your cash aid.

NA 200 or NA 1239 SAR
01-01-98
02-22-15
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Your cash aid may go back up by giving the
county proof of regular school attendance.
Once you turn in proof that your child(ren)
is going to school regularly or that you have
one of the reasons listed above, the county
will stop the penalty. Your cash aid will go
back up the 1st of the month following the

month after we get this proof. If you show
good reason, you may get all your lost aid
back.

If your child is between age 16 and 17 and
not attending school, he or she will be put
in the Welfare to Work program. You will get
another notice telling you about the welfare
to work program rules.

If he or she is a pregnant or parenting teen,
please ask your worker about the CallLearn
program that can help vour child get back
into school.

Your new cash aid amount is figured on this
notice.

INSTRUCTIONS: Use to change the amount of aid when proof of school attendance was
not provided or the proof shows that a child been deemed a chronic truant. Use NA
200 if the AU has no income or NA 1239 SAR if the AU has income for the correct
budget.

This message replaces M40-105E dated 11-01-14





