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ALL COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE NO. I-19-12 
 
 
TO:  ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS 

ALL CHILD WELFARE SERVICES PROGRAM MANAGERS 
 
 
SUBJECT: REPORTING SAFELY SURRENDERED BABIES TO THE 

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES, THE 
CALIFORNIA MISSING CHILDREN CLEARINGHOUSE, AND THE 
NATIONAL CRIME INFORMATION CENTER 

 
 
REFERENCE:  HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE § 1255.7 
 
 
The purpose of this All County Information Notice is to clarify counties’ responsibilities 
and procedures for reporting a safely surrendered baby (SSB) to the California 
Department of Social Services (CDSS), the California Missing Children Clearinghouse 
(CMCC) and the National Crime Information Center (NCIC). 
 
When a county child welfare services (CWS) agency takes custody of a baby 
surrendered under Health and Safety Code section1255.7, statute requires the agency 
to immediately notify CDSS of the surrendered child.  In addition, as soon as possible, 
but no later than 24 hours after temporary custody is assumed, the county is also 
required to notify the CMCC and the NCIC. 
 
Reporting a safely surrendered baby to CDSS 
Statute requires that the CWS agency immediately report the safely surrendered baby 
to CDSS.  The county CWS agency can report the surrender to CDSS by downloading 
and completing the attached form from the following link: 
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC880.pdf, then e-mailing it to 
the CDSS Child Welfare Policy and Program Development Bureau at ssb@dss.ca.gov. 
When making this report, county staff must send the e-mail “secure” to protect 
confidential information, such as the referral ID number, that is requested on the form.  
This requirement does not change current procedures for opening a referral in Child 
Welfare Services/Case Management System (CWS/CMS) and completing the SSB 

http://leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1250-1264
http://ag.ca.gov/missing/content/clearinghouse.php
http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ncic
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http://www.cdss.ca.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC880.pdf
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special projects screen. Rather, it provides immediate notification to the Department, 
which is not otherwise facilitated by the referral entry in CWS/CMS. 
 
Note:  Confidential data supplied by the county to CDSS shall be encrypted in storage 
and in transmission, using non-proprietary, secure, generally-available encryption 
software.  Proprietary encryption algorithms shall not be acceptable.  Passwords or 
biometrics used for user authentication shall be encrypted using data encryption 
standard, or better, one-way only encryption.  Data encryption shall meet the National 
Institute of Standards and Technology Advanced Encryption.  Data encryption shall 
equal or exceed 128-bit key encryption. 
 
Reporting safely surrendered babies to the CMCC and NCIC 
Statute also requires that the county notify CMCC and NCIC within 24 hours of 
assuming the child’s custody. The county CWS agency must contact the CMCC at 
(800)-222-FIND (222-3463) to report the surrendered baby.  According to staff at the 
CMCC, their agency enters the report into the California Unidentified Persons System, 
which automatically forwards the record to the NCIC.  There is no process for county 
CWS agencies to directly report a surrendered baby to the NCIC.  Rather, the CMCC 
cross-reports information about the safe surrender to the NCIC.  Therefore, reporting 
the surrendered baby to the CMCC fulfills the counties’ requirement to report this 
information to both agencies pursuant to Health and Safety Code section 1255.7 (e).  
When making this report to CMCC, statute requires the county staff to provide all known 
identifying information concerning the child, except personal identifying information 
pertaining to the parent or individual who surrendered the child. 
 
If you have any questions, please contact the Child Welfare Policy and Program 
Development Bureau at (916) 651-6160, or send inquiries to ssb@dss.ca.gov.  
 
 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original Document Signed By: 
 
GREGORY E. ROSE 
Deputy Director 
Children and Family Services Division 
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