DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

744 P Street, Sacramento, California 95814



January 8, 2001	REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL
ALL COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE: I-02-01	[] State Law Change [] Federal Law or Regulation

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS

ALL FOSTER FAMILY AGENCIES ALL GROUP HOME PROVIDERS

ALL COUNTY FOSTER CARE EDUCATION PROGRAM COORDINATORS

ALL COUNTY INDEPENDENT LIVING PROGRAM COORDINATORS

CALIFORNIA STATE FOSTER PARENT ASSOCIATION

CALIFORNIA STATE CARE PROVIDERS ASSOCIATION

CHANCELLOR'S OFFICE OF THE CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY COLLEGES ALL FOSTER AND KINSHIP CARE EDUCATION PROGRAM DIRECTORS OF

THE CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY COLLEGES

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES COMMUNITY CARE

LICENSING LIASONS

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES ADOPTIONS BRANCH

CHIEF

SUBJECT: SELF-ESTEEM WITH RESPECT TO FOSTER CHILDREN

REFERENCE: SENATE BILL (SB) 916 (CHAPTER 542, STATUTES OF 1997)

WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE SECTION 16001.5

HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE SECTION 1529.2 HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE SECTION 1506

According to Senate Bill 916 (Chapter 542, Statutes of 1997), the California Department of Social Services is responsible for the annual distribution of information declaring the importance of promoting self-esteem in children in out-of-home care.

Research shows that building a child's self-esteem increases that child's ability to achieve in school, work, and life activities, while conversely decreasing delinquent behavior, including violent acts, teenage pregnancy, drug and alcohol abuse, as well as dropping out of school. Promoting self-esteem encourages the child to be responsible for making moral decisions and enhances the child's abilities to meet his/her own needs.

A child's developmental needs are met in part through the building of self-esteem. A positive self-esteem is generally accompanied by a feeling of security, along with emotional and physical growth.

Part of our goal in the foster care home, agency, or institution is to provide children with a safe, nurturing environment where they can heal, grow and develop.

Thus, foster parents are required to be trained on the importance of self-esteem and positive discipline as part of their 12 hours of preplacement training, as well as part of their eight hours for licensed foster parents and 12 hours for certified foster parents postplacement annual training.

Should you have any questions regarding this notice, please contact Kim McKeown at (916) 322-9783.

Sincerely,

Original Document Signed By

SYLVIA PIZZINI
Deputy Director
Children and Family Services Division

c: CWDA