

STATE OF CALIFORNIA—HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY **DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES**

744 P Street • Sacramento, CA 95814 • www.cdss.ca.gov



ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER GOVERNOR

June 14, 2010

ALL COUNTY LETTER NO. 10-16

[] State Law Change
[] Federal Law or Regulation Change
[] Court Order
[X] Clarification Requested by One or More Counties
[] Initiated by CDSS

REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS

ALL LICENSED ADOPTION AGENCIES

ALL CDSS ADOPTIONS DISTRICT OFFICES ALL COUNTY PLACEMENT SUPERVISORS

ALL ADOPTION FACILITATORS
ALL CHIEF PROBATION OFFICERS
All COUNTY PROBATION OFFICERS
ALL ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

KARUK TRIBE

SUBJECT: DUAL AGENCY RATES: ANSWERS TO FREQUENTLY ASKED

QUESTIONS

REFERENCE: SENATE BILL (SB) 84, CHAPTER 177, STATUTES OF 2007

ASSEMBLY BILL (AB) X4 4, CHAPTER 4, STATUTES OF 2009 ALL COUNTY LETTER NO. 09-45, DATED SEPTEMBER 30, 2009; ALL COUNTY LETTER NO. 08-54, DATED DECEMBER 1, 2008; ALL COUNTY LETTER NO. 08-17, DATED MARCH 28, 2008

The purpose of this All County Letter (ACL) is to provide counties with answers to frequently asked questions regarding dual agency rates paid on behalf of children served by both California regional centers and California child welfare or probation agencies. These are developmentally disabled children receiving Aid to Families with Dependent Children-Foster Care (AFDC-FC) or Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) benefits. Questions concerning the rate to be paid for children who are placed out-of-state will be addressed in a future ACL.

Effective July 1, 2007, SB 84, (Chapter 177, Statutes of 2007), provided a new "dual agency" rate structure and rate setting process. Children who are regional center consumers and recipients of either AFDC-FC or AAP benefits are hereinafter referred to as "dual agency children." By providing a new rate structure and rate setting process, SB 84 ensures consistency in statewide program administration and benefits for dual agency children. SB 84 also preserves higher rates established before July 1, 2007, and the

continuation of regional center services to dual agency children. In SB 84, the Legislature recognized that children who are regional center consumers and recipients of AFDC-FC or AAP benefits have special needs that require care and supervision beyond that typically provided to children in foster care.

The Legislature further stated that:

\$2,006 is an enhanced rate, which is higher than the rate other children with medical and significant special needs receive.

A county may authorize a supplement to the rate of up to \$1,000 on behalf of children whose care and supervision needs are so extraordinary that they cannot be addressed within the enhanced \$2,006 rate.

The California Department of Social Services (CDSS) is providing the following policy clarification and guidance to implement dual agency rates to ensure consistency in statewide program administration and benefits for dual agency children.

I. AID TO FAMILIES WITH DEPENDENT CHILDREN-FOSTER CARE

Question #1: If juvenile court jurisdiction over a child was terminated before the issuance of ACL No. 08-17 (March 28, 2008), would the \$2,006 dual agency rate and, if applicable, the supplement to the rate still apply as the AFDC-FC amount the child should have received while in foster care after July 1, 2007?

Answer: Yes. The \$2,006 dual agency rate and the supplement to the rate if applicable, would apply for a child who is otherwise eligible. The child would be eligible for retroactive payment of the dual agency rate and if applicable, the supplement to the rate from July 1, 2007, until the date jurisdiction was terminated.

Question #2: Is a Personal and Incidental (P&I) allowance paid in addition to the \$2,006 dual agency rate?

Answer: No. There is not a P&I payment in addition to the dual agency rate.

Question #3: What is the effective date of a dual agency rate if a child is placed in a licensed foster home and continues to be a regional center consumer, even though he or she was a regional center client prior to removal from the biological parents?

Answer: The effective date would be the date of placement on or after July 1, 2007, as long as the county has documentation that the child is a regional center consumer.

All County Letter No. 10-16 Page Three

Question #4: May counties pay the state supplemental \$100 clothing allowance to dual agency children?

Answer: Yes. When the budget contains an appropriation for the state supplemental clothing allowance, counties may pay the state supplemental \$100 clothing allowance to dual agency children.

Question #5: May counties pay the county clothing allowances to dual agency children?

Answer: Yes. Counties may pay the county clothing allowance to dual agency children as part of their general authority to pay for the care and supervision of children in the foster care system. This answer supersedes the answer on page six of ACL No. 09-45.

Question #6: What is the applicable foster care rate to be paid on behalf of a court dependent child who had been receiving the basic AFDC-FC rate plus the Specialized Care Increment (SCI) but who was subsequently determined to be a dual agency child?

Answer: To avoid disruption of the placement, if the child's basic AFDC-FC rate plus the SCI is higher than the dual agency rate, the applicable rate will continue to be the higher rate until a change in placement occurs. At this time the child will receive the dual agency rate and the supplement to the rate, if applicable. Please reference ACL No. 08-17.

Question #7: Does a dual agency child who receives AFDC-FC and who has a completed Questionnaire (SOC 837) on file have to be reassessed for a supplement to the rate yearly, if ever, if he or she remains in the same placement?

Answer: There is no requirement to reassess the supplement to the rate unless the child's needs have changed so as to warrant a reassessment, or a request for reassessment is made by the caregiver based on new information, or the child is referred by the regional center for assessment.

Question #8: What rate should be paid for a child over three years of age who received services under the California Early Start Intervention and Services Act (CESISA) but who has not yet been determined to have a developmental disability, as defined in the Lanterman Act (the assessment is pending)?

Answer: The rate of \$898 is discontinued when the child is three years of age. A child who has not been determined to have a developmental disability as defined in the Lanterman Act, would therefore, receive the basic Foster Family Home (FFH) rate plus a specialized care rate, if applicable. If it is determined that the child has a developmental disability as defined in the Lanterman Act, and becomes a regional center consumer, the caregiver(s) should receive retroactive payments from the child's third birthday forward reflecting the dual agency rate, and the supplement to the rate, if applicable.

All County Letter No. 10-16 Page Four

Question #9: A dual agency child was residing in a non-vendorized home (before SB 84) and was receiving an Alternative Residential Model (ARM) rate higher than the flat rate of \$2,006. Does the higher ARM rate transfer to a new placement?

Answer: No. The pre-SB 84 ARM rate remains in effect until there is a change in placement or the child ages out of foster care. A change in placement would occur when a child moves from one family home to another family home. The rate after a change in placement for a dual agency child is \$2,006 and, if applicable, the supplement to the rate.

Question #10: Is a Kinship Guardianship Assistance Payment (Kin-GAP) program child eligible for dual agency rates?

Answer: Yes. A Kin-GAP child is eligible for dual agency rates, effective July 1, 2009, pursuant to AB X4 4 (hereinafter, referred to as "AB 4"). A future ACL will be forthcoming relative to Kin-GAP. The Kin-GAP dual agency rate does not apply to children exiting foster care to Kin-GAP prior to July 1, 2009. These children are eligible for the basic FFH rate plus SCI, if applicable.

For children entering Kin-GAP on or after July 1, 2009, and receiving a dual agency rate while in foster care immediately prior to his or her enrollment in the Kin-GAP program, the Kin-GAP rate shall be the amount of the dual agency rate, including any supplement to the rate, if applicable.

If a child, while in foster care, is receiving services under the CESISA, and is receiving AFDC-FC benefits immediately prior to his or her enrollment in Kin-GAP, the child shall be considered and assessed for a dual agency rate. If it is determined the child has a developmental disability as defined in the Lanterman Act, and becomes a regional center consumer, the caregiver(s) should receive retroactive payments from the child's third birthday forward reflecting the dual agency rate, and the supplement to the rate, if applicable.

II. ADOPTION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

Question #11: If a foster child was receiving an ARM rate set before July 1, 2007, in excess of the \$2,006 rate, and the child is subsequently adopted by his or her current foster parents should the AAP payment be based on the ARM rate paid to the foster parents or limited to the \$2,006 rate and, if applicable, the supplement to the rate?

Answer: The AAP payment is based on the rate the child was receiving in foster care, i.e., the ARM rate paid before July 1, 2007. The adoptive parent(s) or foster parent(s) may request an assessment from the regional center and a subsequent supplement to the rate based upon a child's needs.

All County Letter No. 10-16 Page Five

Question #12: When a regional center did not issue an ARM rate letter, the county set the AAP benefit amount at the basic FFH rate and the applicable SCI. Subsequently, the regional center resumed issuing ARM rate letters. Should an ARM rate be paid retroactively to the date of adoptive placement?

Answer: Yes, the difference between the ARM rate and the basic rate and SCI must be paid retroactively to the date of adoptive placement or regional center eligibility, whichever date is later.

Question #13: Are regional center consumers who are receiving AAP benefits and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) eligible for the dual agency rate?

Answer: Yes. In addition, adoptive parents have the responsibility of reporting the monthly AAP benefit amount to the Social Security Administration (SSA). The SSA will determine whether there will be a reduction in the SSI benefit. The Department or licensed public adoption agency should not deduct the SSI amount from the AAP benefit.

Question #14: A child's AAP benefits began July 1, 2008, and as a regional center consumer, the child is eligible to receive the supplement to the rate. Will the supplement to the rate be retroactive to the date AAP started or the date of request?

Answer: If the child was first placed in the home as an adoptive placement (i.e., the child did not live in the home as a foster child), then the supplement to the rate would be retroactive to July 1, 2008, in AAP. The AAP benefit, after the supplement to the rate has been determined and becomes a part of the AAP benefit, is subject to negotiation with the adoptive parent(s). However, if the child was in foster care on or after July 1, 2007 – December 1, 2008, (date of ACL 08-54), and has been determined to be eligible to receive the supplement to the rate, the child is eligible for retroactive payments in foster care back to July 1, 2007, date of placement or the date of regional center eligibility, whichever date is later.

Question #15: A foster child was not a regional center consumer before the AAP agreement was signed. After the adoption finalization, this child became a regional center consumer. What is the effective date of the dual agency rate?

Answer: Although the child is eligible for a dual agency rate from the date the child was determined to be eligible for regional center services, the adoptive parent(s) must request a change in the benefit amount and renegotiate with the Department or licensed public adoption agency. The AAP benefit should be changed retroactive to the adoptive parents' date of request.

Question #16: Does a child receiving AAP benefits who has been determined to be a dual agency client and who has a completed Questionnaire (SOC 837) on file have to be reassessed for a supplement to the rate yearly, if ever, if he or she remains in the same placement?

Answer: The AAP reassessment form must be completed every two years, and the AAP benefit may include a supplement to the rate. However, if the family does not submit a reassessment form, the AAP benefit must continue at the same rate reflected in the last AAP agreement. If there is a subsequent request for a supplemental rate increase, the supplemental rate process must be completed. There is no requirement to reassess the supplement unless an increase is requested by the adoptive parent based on a change in the child's needs.

Question #17: Are children who are placed in a vendorized FFH eligible to continue receiving the higher ARM rate for AAP purposes or must the rate be reduced to the \$2,006 flat rate?

Answer: No. Children receiving the ARM rate set by the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and residing in a vendorized FFH are not subject to the dual agency rates set by the CDSS. The \$898 rate and the \$2,006 rate and, if applicable, the supplement to the rate are dual agency rates established by CDSS per SB 84, effective July 1, 2007, for the care and supervision of dual agency children placed in non-vendorized facilities.

Question #18: A child under three years of age is receiving the dual agency rate of \$898 as the AAP benefit amount. Upon the child's third birthday, may the county automatically reduce the rate to the basic rate and applicable SCI rate until the child's eligibility for regional center services is determined?

Answer: No. In order to reduce or change the AAP benefit amount, the Department or licensed public adoption agency must have the concurrence of the adoptive parent(s). The AAP benefit must continue at the same rate as stated in the last AAP agreement. To avoid the potential for an overpayment while waiting for an eligibility determination by the regional center, the Department or licensed public adoption agency and the adoptive parent(s) may complete and sign two AAP Payment Instruction forms. One AAP agreement is specific to the rate of \$898 through the month of the child's third birthday. The second AAP agreement is specific to the basic rate and eligible SCI rate following the child's third birthday and is effective until the determination is made that the child is eligible for regional center services. If it is determined that the child is eligible and becomes a regional center consumer, the adoptive parent(s) are entitled to receive retroactive payments from the child's third birthday forward reflecting the dual agency rate.

The Department or licensed public adoption agency should refer the child and family to the responsible regional center for an evaluation and determination as early as possible in order to avoid the need for retroactive payments or the risk of overpayments.

III. FOSTER FAMILY AGENCIES

Question #19: How much AFDC-FC is a vendorized Foster Family Agency (FFA) paid if a child is determined to be developmentally disabled as defined in the Lanterman Act?

Answer: If the FFA is vendorized by a regional center the certified family home in which the child is placed will be paid by the FFA to provide for care and supervision needs of the child. The payment will be a portion of the regional center ARM rate and varies in amount depending upon the FFA. If the certified foster parents adopt the child, the AAP payment is negotiated based on the child's needs and the circumstances of the adoptive parents, not to exceed \$2,006 plus any supplement to the rate, if applicable.

Question #20: May a FFA which is not vendorized by a regional center receive the \$2,006 rate for care and supervision of a child?

Answer: The statute specifically addresses those placement categories for which dual agency rates will be provided. Dual agency rates apply to the following placement categories:

- 1) the approved home of a relative;
- 2) the licensed family home of a non-relative;
- 3) the approved home of a non-relative extended family member; or
- 4) the home of a non-related legal guardian or former non-related guardian when the guardian of a child otherwise eligible for AFDC-FC has been dismissed due to a child attaining 18 years of age. W&IC sections 11402, 11461, and 362.7;
- 5) a Kin-GAP child is eligible for dual agency rates, effective July 1, 2009, pursuant to AB 4.

Question #21: Does the FFA rate remain the same for children under three years of age who receive services under the CESISA?

Answer: The FFAs are not authorized to receive dual agency flat rates regardless of the child's age. The rate paid to a non-vendorized FFA will be the CDSS set rate for the FFAs based on the age of the child. If the FFA is vendorized, the rate to be paid is the ARM rate established by DDS.

IV. VENDORIZED FACILITIES

Question #22: Which rate is applicable for dual agency children placed in licensed community care facilities vendorized by a regional center? Would the applicable rate be the ARM rate established by DDS or the \$2,006 dual agency rate?

Answer: For facilities vendorized by regional centers with an ARM rate established by DDS, the ARM rate will be paid for dual agency children in these placements.

V. CHILDREN UNDER THREE YEARS OF AGE

Question #23: May children under three years of age receiving services under the CESISA (i.e., not yet determined to have a developmental disability, as defined in the Lanterman Act) and receiving a combined basic AFDC-FC and a SCI greater than the \$898 rate, continue receiving the combined payment as long as the SCI eligibility is maintained?

Answer: Yes. The higher rate is to be paid for the child under three years of age until there is a change in placement, which would warrant a redetermination of the rate or until the child is no longer AFDC-FC eligible.

Question #24: Who determines whether a child <u>under</u> three years of age has a developmental disability and is eligible to receive the higher rate of \$2,006?

Answer: The responsible California regional center determines whether a child under three years of age has a developmental disability, as defined in the Lanterman Act. The rate to be paid from the date of determination is \$2,006. There is no supplement to this rate for a child who is under three years of age. Please refer to ACL No. 08-17.

Question #25: Is the diagnosis of multiple high risk medical conditions sufficient for a child under three years of age to receive the \$2,006 rate?

Answer: No. The responsible California regional center determines whether a child under three years of age is an individual with a developmental disability, as defined in the Lanterman Act. If a child under three years of age is determined to have a developmental disability, the rate to be paid from the date of determination is \$2,006. Otherwise, the applicable rate for a child receiving services under the CESISA and who has not yet been determined by the California regional center to have a developmental disability, as defined in the Lanterman Act, is \$898 per child, per month.

VI. SUPPLEMENT TO THE RATE QUESTIONS

Question #26: A child in receipt of AFDC-FC or AAP benefits is receiving a pre-SB 84 ARM rate and is eligible for the supplement to the rate. Is the child's rate to be reduced to the flat rate of \$2,006 plus the supplement to rate, or is the supplement to the rate added to the higher pre-SB 84 ARM rate?

Answer: If the ARM rate is higher than the \$2,006 rate, the higher rate remains in effect until there is a change in placement or the child ages out of foster care. The Department or licensed public adoption agency should not reduce the rate to the flat rate of \$2,006. A change in placement would occur when a child moves from one family home to another family home. The maximum dual agency rate including the supplement to the rate, if applicable, is \$3,006. The adoptive parent(s) or foster parent(s) may request an assessment from the regional center and a subsequent supplement to the rate based upon

a child's needs. However, an AAP benefit remains subject to the requirement to negotiate the appropriate amount with the adoptive parent(s). The supplement to the rate would be negotiated and may be added to the pre-SB 84 ARM rate. The total dual agency rate consisting of the pre-SB 84 ARM rate and the supplement to the rate shall not exceed the \$3,006 rate.

Examples of how to calculate the supplement to the rate when the child in receipt of AFDC-FC or AAP benefits is receiving a higher pre-SB 84 ARM rate.

Example 1: A child is receiving a pre-SB 84 rate of \$2,061 and is determined eligible for the \$250 supplement to the rate. The \$250 supplement to the rate is to be added to the \$2,061 for a total rate of \$2,311.

Example 2: A child is receiving a pre-SB 84 rate of \$2,194 and is determined eligible for the \$1,000 supplement to the rate, the total rate would be \$3,194. In order to not exceed the \$3,006 maximum rate, the supplement to the rate would be \$812 (\$3,006 - \$2,194 = \$812).

Question #27: Does a child who has been determined to be a dual agency child and who has a completed Questionnaire (SOC 837) on file have to be reassessed for a supplement to the rate yearly, if ever, if he or she remains in the same placement?

Answer: Existing statute does not address the number of times a request for a SOC 837 may be submitted for a reassessment. If the child remains in the same placement and his or her needs remain the same, a reassessment is not warranted.

Question #28: Is a regional center representative or regional center service coordinator (or designee) required to review and sign the Supplement to the Rate Questionnaire (SOC 837)?

Answer: Yes. The completed SOC 837 should be reviewed and signed by the regional center service coordinator or other regional center representative (or designee).

Question #29: What action should be taken when a regional center service coordinator or other regional center representative (or designee) refuses to review and sign the completed Questionnaire (SOC 837)?

Answer: W&IC section 11464 (c) (2) (C) states: "When assessing a request for the supplement, the county shall seek information from the consumer's regional center to assist in the assessment".

The DDS released a directive, dated December 16, 2008, to all California regional center executive directors which informs them that counties and adoptions district offices will request information from the regional centers to assist with an assessment of the child when

a supplement to the rate has been requested. If a regional center representative refuses to sign the SOC 837, the county child welfare services (CWS) worker or adoption worker should note on the SOC 837 the name of the staff person who supplied the information. In addition, please notify CDSS of any refusals by regional center staff to sign the SOC 837 by contacting the Foster Care Rates Bureau, Rates Policy Unit, at (916) 324-4873, so that the CDSS can inform DDS of these concerns.

Question #30: If a child was receiving regional center services and was placed with a relative who was receiving assistance under California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) program, when would the child be eligible for the dual agency rate?

Answer: A child receiving regional center services and living with a relative receiving assistance under CalWORKs would not be eligible for a dual agency rate. However, if a petition is subsequently filed, and the relative or voluntary placement agreement is entered into; the relative who previously received CalWORKs is now receiving AFDC-FC/AAP benefits or Kin-GAP; and the child is a regional center client; the child is now eligible for the dual agency rate and the supplement to the rate, if applicable.

Question #31: If a county CWS worker or adoption worker completes the "Supplement to the Rate Questionnaire (SOC 837)", does he or she send the completed Questionnaire to the regional center or to other professionals, such as doctors?

Answer: In accordance with ACL No. 08-54, the county CWS worker or the adoption worker will complete a Questionnaire based on the most current information about the dual agency child. A Questionnaire should be completed by a regional center service coordinator or the regional center representative first and, if needed, other professional(s) either by telephone, fax, e-mail or mail. If the Questionnaire received from the regional center service coordinator or other regional center representative, reflects a "DO NOT KNOW" response in any item, a Questionnaire should be referred to other professionals as previously defined in ACL No. 08-54, page three. The completed Questionnaire must be reviewed and signed by the regional center service coordinator or other regional center representative (or designee). Multiple Questionnaires concerning a child may be used when consultations with multiple professionals are necessary to complete a thorough evaluation of the child's condition and needs.

County staff may also complete a questionnaire by obtaining information directly from the child's caregiver(s) or adoptive parent(s).

Question #32: What is sufficient in terms of the number of Questionnaires needed to proceed and justify the supplement to the rate?

Answer: One Questionnaire completed in consultation with a regional center coordinator or other regional center representative is sufficient. The county CWS worker or adoption worker does not need to have any more Questionnaires completed by other professionals. If, however, the Questionnaire received from the regional center service coordinator or other regional center representative reflects a "DO NOT KNOW" response in any item concerning a child's condition, the county CWS worker or the adoption worker should follow up and seek the information from other professionals who have pertinent information. Relevant documentation from other professionals should be obtained in order to complete the Questionnaire and a thorough evaluation of the child's needs and conditions.

County staff may also obtain information directly from the child's caregiver(s) or adoptive parent(s).

Question #33: Which Supplement to the Rate forms must counties place in the eligibility file?

Answer: For children in receipt of AFDC-FC benefits, the completed Supplement to the Rate Questionnaire (SOC 837), the Supplement to the Rate Eligibility Form (SOC 836), and the Supplement to the Dual Agency Rate – Multiple Questionnaire Worksheet (SOC 835) should be placed in the child's county CWS case file and in the child's eligibility file.

For AAP benefits when the CDSS Adoption District Office (DO) or the county is the responsible public agency, all the completed AAP case paperwork should be maintained in the confidential AAP case file. The SOC 837 is part of the confidential documentation supporting the determination of the AAP amount and duration of payment and should be kept in the AAP confidential case file. When the DO is the responsible public agency, the only forms the county is entitled to receive are the AAP 4, FC 8 and AAP 2. The county should maintain the AAP 4, FC 8 and AAP 2 forms in the child's county CWS case/adoptions file and in the child's eligibility file.

Question #34: If a child's condition improves or worsens subsequent to an authorization for a supplement to the rate, does the supplement to the rate remain at the authorized level or must a new supplement to the rate be determined?

Answer: If a child's condition either improves or worsens, a new SOC 837, a new SOC 836, and a SOC 835 must be completed to determine eligibility for, and the appropriate level of, a supplement to the rate based on the assessed severity of a dual agency child's condition and extraordinary care and supervision needs.

For AAP, however, in order to reduce or change the AAP benefit amount, the Department or licensed public adoption agency must have the concurrence of the adoptive parent(s).

All County Letter No. 10-16 Page Twelve

Question #35: If the county CWS worker or the adoption worker denies a request for the supplement to the rate, does the eligibility file still need to contain copies of the forms SOC 837, SOC 836, and SOC 835?

Answer: Yes. For those children in receipt of AFDC-FC the SOC 837 (when completed) will have all the boxes checked "no" and signatures and the SOC 836 will have the "date of denial" with the signatures. These forms are documentation and must be placed in the child's county CWS case file and in the child's eligibility file.

When the DO or the county welfare department (CWD) completes all the AAP case paperwork and negotiates the AAP benefit amount, all documents will be maintained in the confidential AAP case file. The SOC 837 is part of the confidential documentation supporting the determination of the AAP amount and duration of payment and must be kept in the confidential AAP case file. The only forms the county is entitled to receive are the AAP 4, FC 8 and AAP 2. In addition, the CWD will maintain the AAP 4, FC 8 and AAP 2 forms in the child's county CWS case/ adoptions file and in the child's eligibility file. The foster care providers and adoptive parents must be provided the completed Questionnaire and Eligibility forms upon request.

Question #36: At what age are children no longer eligible for the dual agency rate?

Answer: A child is no longer eligible for the dual agency rate when the child no longer receives AFDC-FC or AAP benefits (usually age 18 with exceptions). However, W&IC section 16120 (d) allows adoptive families to request the continuation of benefits until the child reaches 21 if that child has a physical or mental disability that warrants the continuation of AAP benefits. At each time of reassessment, the AAP agreement (AD 4320) is signed by the adoptive parents and this information is noted on the AD 4320. Upon or immediately before the child's attaining age 18, the parents may request AAP to continue to age 21 under a new agreement.

VII. EARLY START INTERVENTION PROGRAM

Question #37: What rate is to be paid for dual agency children under three years of age previously receiving services under the CESISA and the \$898 rate prior to October 1, 2009, but, are now in the Prevention Program?

Answer: The applicable rate for dual agency children under three years of age previously receiving services under the CESISA and receiving the \$898 rate prior to October 1, 2009, will continue to receive the \$898 rate in the Prevention Program until the age of three or there is a change in placement.

All County Letter No. 10-16 Page Thirteen

Question #38: What is the applicable rate for children under three years of age being served under the Prevention Program as of October 1, 2009?

Answer: The applicable rate as of October 1, 2009, for children under three years of age being served under the Prevention Program is the basic FFH rate plus a specialized care increment, if applicable.

VIII. INQUIRIES

Questions about AAP dual agency rates should be directed to the Adoption Services Bureau at (916) 651-8089. If you have questions about AFDC-FC dual agency rates, please contact me at (916) 657-2614 or Nina Ures, Rates Analyst, at the Foster Care Rates Bureau, Rates Policy Unit, at (916) 324-4873.

Sincerely,

Original Document Signed By:

GREGORY E. ROSE Deputy Director Children and Family Services Division