

STATE OF CALIFORNIA—HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

744 P Street • Sacramento, CA 95814 • www.cdss.ca.gov



April 15, 2015

ALL COUNTY LETTER 15-42

REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL
[] State Law Change
[] Federal Law or Regulation
Change
[] Court Order
[] Clarification Requested by
One or More Counties
[Y] Initiated by CDSS

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS

ALL CALFRESH PROGRAM SPECIALISTS ALL CAIWORKS PROGRAM SPECIALISTS ALL CONSORTIUM PROJECT MANAGERS

ALL QUALITY CONTROL PROGRAM COORDINATORS

SUBJECT: CALFRESH: CLARIFICATION OF HOUSEHOLD REPORTS

OVER THE INCOME REPORTING THRESHOLD (IRT) FOR THE

SEMI-ANNUAL REPORTING (SAR) SYSTEM

REFERENCE: ASSEMBLY BILL (AB) 6 (CHAPTER 501, STATUTES OF 2011),

ALL COUNTY LETTER (ACL) 09-24; ACL 11-11; ACL12-25; ACL 12-25E; ACL 12-62E; ACL12-62E; ACL13-08; ACL 13-17; ACL 13-32; ALL COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE (ACIN) I-50-13; ACL 14-56; SENATE BILL (SB) 855 (CHAPTER 29, STATUTES OF 2014); ASSEMBLY BILL (AB) 1468 (CHAPTER 26, STATUTES OF

2014)

On May 17, 2012, ACLs 12-25 and 12-25E provided new policy instructions to County Welfare Departments (CWDs) for the implementation of SAR for CalWORKs and CalFresh. The purpose of this ACL is to provide clarification regarding the gross income limit for conferring Modified Categorical Eligibility (MCE), for household reports of income over the IRT, required case actions for households with continued eligibility, and requirements for notifying households of their IRT. This ACL transmits revised IRT informing notices SAR 2, AR 2 SAR and AR 2 CR with revisions described below. These forms have been posted to the California Department of Social Services forms website and translations will be available as soon as possible. The forms should be automated into the consortia systems as soon as possible, or a process must be put in place to meet the requirements of the policy change until necessary automation changes are complete. Additionally this letter provides clarification regarding the proration of ineligible noncitizen's income pertinent to IRT requirements relevant to both SAR and MCE. Please refer to ACL 14-56, dated August 22, 2014, and ACL 14-56E, dated April 10, 2015 for further information regarding MCE households.

MCE GROSS INCOME LIMIT

The United States Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) established the gross income limit at a maximum of 200 percent of the FPL in order to confer Broad-Based Categorical Eligibility (BBCE or MCE in California) for households under Simplified Reporting (SAR in California). Effective July 1, 2014, pursuant to Senate Bill 855 (Chapter 29, Statutes of 2014), **Non-Assistance CalFresh (NACF) households** with gross income at or below 200 percent of the FPL must be conferred MCE status if they are issued or have online access to the TANF-funded "Family Planning – PUB 275" brochure and meet all other conditions of eligibility for CalFresh (exceptions are listed in the table below).

ESTABLISHING THE INCOME REPORTING THRESHOLDS (IRT)

As stated in ACL 12-25, households are required to report mid-period when their income exceeds their IRT. The CalFresh IRT is the amount of household gross income that renders **most** households ineligible for CalFresh benefits. The IRT was set at 130 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL) per household size. Public Assistance CalFresh (PACF) households receive one of the two-tiered CalWORKs IRTs as described in ACL 12-25.

The CalFresh IRT is based on the household size in existence at the time of certification (initial or recertification), or whenever there is a household composition change.

The chart below contains the IRT information based on household type:

Household	Non	Non	NACF	Public	Mixed	Mixed
Type	Assistance	Assistance	CalFresh	Assistance	Household	Household
	CalFresh	CalFresh	Sanctioned	CalFresh		
	(NACF)	(NACF)	Individual*	(PACF)	Some	Some
			Non-MCE		members	members
	Income at or	Income		All members	receive	receive
	below 130%	between		are receiving	CalWORKs	CalWORKs
		131% and at		CalWORKs		
		or below		and	All members	All members
		200%		CalFresh	receive	receive
					CalFresh	CalFresh
					Income at or	Income at
					below 130%	between
						131% and at
						or below
						200%
CalFresh	130%	No IRT	130%	CalWORKs	130%	No IRT
IRT Level				IRT		

- * A sanctioned individual may include:
 - Any household member who is disqualified for an Intentional Program Violation (IPV).
 - The head of household who does not comply with work requirements.
 - Any member of a household that has been convicted of a drug-related felony (refer to Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP) section 63-402.229). [Note: With the passage of AB 1468 (Chapter 26, Statues of 2014) which removes the drug felon ban in California effective April 1, 2015, this will no longer apply. Please see ACL 14-100, dated December 19, 2014 for further information.]

NOTE: If a PACF household who is Categorically Eligible (CE) and all members are receiving CalFresh reports excess income, the household is eligible for Transitional CalFresh.

A household's IRT is established at initial certification, at recertification, with the submission of the SAR 7, or mid-period in certain circumstance, as described in the next section.

INCOME REPORTING THRESHOLDS

The CDSS has been notified by FNS that households determined eligible with gross income at or below 130 percent of the FPL will be required to report changes in income when the household's gross income exceeds 130 percent of the FPL, both during the SAR payment period and at recertification and submission of the SAR 7). Households certified between 131 percent and 200 percent of the FPL will not be required to make any reports of income during the SAR payment period. Such households will not have a CalFresh IRT because they have already reported income of over 130 percent, and per FNS guidance, a household is only required to report that its gross income exceeds 130 percent of the FPL one time during a reporting period. All households will continue to be required to report all income on their SAR 7 and at recertification.

The PACF households will continue to be required to report based on their CalWORKs IRT. Mixed households [those households containing multiple CalWORKs Assistance Units (AU) and all receive CalFresh] will be required to report for CalWORKs when the IRT for each particular AU is exceeded. In such cases, the CalFresh household will be required to report (for CalFresh) when the household's gross income exceeds the established CalFresh IRT.

CALFRESH HOUSEHOLD REPORTS OF INCOME OVER 130 PERCENT IRT

Once a CalFresh household reports income over the 130 percent IRT, the CWD must determine the appropriate case action to take depending on the reasonable anticipation of gross income for the remainder of the certification period. If it is apparent that the household's gross income will not continue to exceed its 130 percent IRT (i.e. the IRT was exceeded due to overtime or extra shifts) and will return to an amount less than the 130 percent IRT, the CWD shall not discontinue the case or issue a notice of adverse action. The household must be provided with a 'no change NOA' as stated in ACL 13-17.

If it is not clear that the household's income will continue to exceed its IRT for the remainder of the certification period, the CWD must discuss the circumstances with the household in order to determine if the household will remain eligible and at or below the 200 percent FPL. If the household's income cannot be reasonably anticipated, because the household is not reasonably certain that the income will continue or does not know when to expect the income again, the CWD shall not discontinue the household or decrease the household's allotment. However, if the unexpected income does continue, the household must report. Income that cannot be reasonably anticipated cannot be prospectively budgeted.

MODIFIED CATEGORICAL ELIGIBILITY

In cases where it is apparent a household's income will continue to exceed the income limit for the program that conferred MCE status, the household's MCE status must be removed and the removal of MCE status **must** be documented in the case record before the case can be terminated for exceeding the CalFresh gross income limit with timely and adequate notice.

NOTE: As stated in ACL 13-32 and restated in ACL 14-56, if the household contains at least one elderly/disabled individual, the household is not subject to a gross income test for actual program eligibility and the county must determine whether the household is eligible based on net income and resource limit (\$3,250 for elderly/disabled households).

NOTE: As stated in ACL 13-32 and restated in ACL 14-56, households of one or two persons that have been conferred MCE/BBCE status will be entitled to the minimum CalFresh benefit even though the household's net income exceeds the maximum allowable for the household size. In addition, households of three or more persons that have been conferred MCE/BBCE status will be entitled to the allotment amount indicated in the tables of benefit issuance by household size even if the household's net income exceeds the maximum amount allowable.

Scenario #1 - Household with Gross Income at or Below 130 Percent FPL

A NACF household applies for benefits and has gross income at or below 130 percent of the FPL for the household size. This is documented in the case narrative and the household is conferred MCE status. The CWD must send a SAR 2 that notifies the household of the CalFresh family size, current income and the 130 percent IRT amount for the household size. The household must report mid-period when gross income exceeds their IRT.

Household reports over the IRT (Under 200 Percent of FPL)

If the household reports mid-period that its gross income exceeds its IRT and the income will continue to exceed the 130 percent of the FPL, the CWD must determine if the household's gross income is under 200 percent of the FPL. If the household's gross income is determined to be over 130 percent and at or below 200 percent of the FPL, the CWD must send a new SAR 2 that notifies the household of their CalFresh family size, current income, and that the household no longer has an IRT for reporting purposes.

Household reports over the IRT (Above 200 Percent of FPL)

If the household reports mid-period that its gross income exceeds its IRT and the income will continue to exceed 130 percent of the FPL, the CWD must determine if the household's gross income does not exceed 200 percent of the FPL. If the household has gross income of over 200 percent of the FPL, the CWD must remove the MCE status and document in the case record that the household is no longer MCE. The household's statement is sufficient for Verified Upon Receipt (VUR) when the household reports their income is over 200 percent of the FPL. Since the non-elderly/disabled household exceeds the 130 percent of the FPL for CalFresh, the household's CalFresh shall be discontinued for failing the gross income test.

Household of One or Two Person Reports over the IRT (Under 200 Percent of FPL)

If a household of one or two reports mid-period that its gross income exceeds its IRT and the income will continue to exceed the 130 percent of the FPL, the CWD must determine if the household's gross income is under 200 percent of the FPL. If the household has gross income of between 131 percent and 200 percent of the FPL, the CWD must send a new SAR 2 that notifies the household of their CalFresh family size, current income and that the household no longer has an IRT for reporting purposes. Households of one or two persons that have been conferred MCE status will be entitled to the minimum CalFresh benefit even

though the household's net income exceeds the maximum allowable for their household size.

<u>Household of One or Two Person Reports over the IRT (Above 200 Percent of FPL)</u>

If the household reports mid-period that its gross income exceeds its IRT and the income will continue to exceed the 130 percent of the FPL, the CWD must determine if the household's gross income does not exceed 200 percent of the FPL. If the household's gross income exceeds 200 percent of the FPL, the CWD must remove the MCE status and document in the case record that the household is no longer MCE. Since the household exceeds the 130 percent of the FPL for CalFresh, the household shall be discontinued.

Scenario #2 - Household with Gross Income between 131 and 200 Percent FPL

A NACF household applies for CalFresh and has gross income above 130 percent but the gross income does not exceed 200 percent of the FPL. The household is conferred MCE and this is documented in the case narrative. The CWD must send a SAR 2 notifying the household of their CalFresh family size, current gross income amount, and that they do not have an IRT amount. The household is not required to report again until their next SAR 7 or at recertification, whichever occurs first.

Household Voluntarily Reports Increase (Under 200 Percent of FPL)

If the household voluntarily reports an increase in income that does not exceed 200 percent of the FPL, the CWD is only to take action if the report is considered VUR. If the information is not considered VUR, no action is taken and no Notice of Action needs to be provided to the household. If the information is considered VUR (as defined in ACL 13-17, dated March 22, 2013, ACIN I-58-13, dated September 12, 2013 and ACIN I-58-13E, dated March 28, 2014), the CWD must take the appropriate action.

Household Voluntarily Reports Increase (Above 200 Percent of FPL)

If the household voluntarily reports an increase in income that exceeds 200 percent of the FPL, and the income will continue, the CWD must remove the MCE status, document the case record and discontinue the case whether the information is considered VUR or not. It is critical that the reason for the discontinuance (loss of MCE status and exceeding the CalFresh gross income limit) be **clearly** documented in the case record.

Household of One or Two Person Voluntarily Reports over the IRT (Under 200 Percent of FPL)

If a household of one or two persons voluntarily reports an increase in income that does not exceed 200 percent of the FPL, the CWD is only to take action if the report is considered VUR. If the information is not considered VUR, no action is taken and no Notice of Action needs to be provided to the household. If the information is considered VUR, the CWD must take the appropriate action. Households of one or two persons that have been conferred MCE status will be entitled to the minimum CalFresh benefit even though the household's net income exceeds the maximum allowable for their household size.

Household of One or Two Person Reports over the IRT (Above 200 Percent of FPL)

If a household of one or two persons voluntarily reports an increase in income that exceeds 200 percent of the FPL, the CWD must remove the MCE status, document the case record and discontinue the case whether the information is considered VUR or not.

IRT NOTIFICATIONS

The IRT must be provided to the CalFresh Household and CalWORKs AU using the SAR 2 form at approval of initial application **and at any time** the household/AU's IRT changes during the certification period, whether the household has an IRT or not. The IRT can be listed on other forms, as long as CWDs ensure that the SAR 2 is issued to each household. Required forms cannot be modified unless changes are reviewed and approved by CDSS.

NACF households whose income is at or below 130 percent of the FPL are provided with the CalFresh IRT listed in the table below. For PACF households in which all members receive CalFresh and CalWORKs; the CWD must only provide the CalFresh household with the CalWORKs IRT. For CalFresh households containing one or more CalWORKs AUs; the CWD must provide each CalWORKs AU the CalWORKs IRT and the entire household the CalFresh IRT. For PACF households with additional members in the CalFresh household who are not in the CalWORKs AU; the CWD must provide the household with the CalFresh IRT and the AU with the CalWORKs IRT.

If a household reports that its gross income has exceeded its IRT, before discontinuing the case, CWDs must first determine if the household's gross income is expected to continue to exceed the IRT.

PACF HOUSEHOLD OVERISSUANCE

If a PACF household fails to report income over the CalWORKs IRT, an overpayment is established. If the unreported income is under the CalFresh IRT, an overissuance is not calculated for the failure to report as this is not a mandatory CalFresh report.

HOUSEHOLDS WITH ONE OR MORE INELIGIBLE NON-CITIZEN(S)

Per MPP section 63-503.442, the income of ineligible noncitizens that are part of the CalFresh household is prorated prior to applying the CalFresh gross income test to the household. This policy also applies to the IRT. The prorated amount attributed to eligible household members counts toward the household's total gross income. This prorated household income is counted toward the maximum gross income that a household can have in order to have MCE conferred through receipt of the PUB 275.

When the household reports income over the IRT, the CWD must calculate the household income based on the gross income of eligible members plus the prorated share of the ineligible non-citizen(s). In cases where this amount exceeds 200 percent of the FPL, the household's MCE status must be removed and the removal of MCE status must be documented in the case record before the case can be terminated for exceeding the CalFresh gross income limit.

Example:

An NACF MCE CalFresh household of three, consisting of an undocumented mother and two children with U.S. citizenship, has an IRT of \$1,705. On March 5, during a January through December certification period, the household reports income over IRT with the mother earning \$3000 a month. The amount prorated to the household is \$2,000 and benefits are adjusted accordingly. The household has fulfilled its mandatory reporting requirement for the remainder of the SAR payment period. On the SAR 7 submitted in June, the household reports a \$1,200 increase in monthly income. The total income combined with the \$800 prorated increase to the CalFresh household is now \$2,800 a month, the CWD determines the household is no longer eligible, removes MCE status and sends the household a 'Discontinuance NOA.'

IRT FORMS

SAR 2 (3/15) Reporting Changes for Cash Aid and CalFresh

This form replaced the current version of the SAR 2. This form was updated to clearly identify the Income Reporting Threshold (IRT) for CalFresh households and CalWORKs assistance units for the instructions in this letter and removed drug felon language. The form now has check boxes identifying which program(s) the

recipient receives. The form now has two columns to list the family size, current income and IRT for each program. When the recipient only has one IRT, an 'N/A' will be placed in each box below the column if a recipient is not receiving benefits for that program (e.g. the member gets CalFresh only, CalWORKs only, or all members receiving CalFresh are also receiving CalWORKs). In addition, a note has been added that instructs those households that have an "N/A" in the IRT column they have no IRT and they do not have any mandatory mid-period income reporting requirements. Due to a state law change concerning the eligibility of drug felons, any language regarding ineligibility of drug felons was removed.

AR 2 SAR (3/15) Reporting Changes for Cash Aid and CalFresh

This form replaced the current version of the AR 2 SAR. This form was updated to clearly identify the Income Reporting Threshold (IRT) for CalFresh SAR households and CalWORKs Annual Reporting assistance units according to the instructions in this letter and removed drug felon language. The form now has check boxes identifying which program(s) the recipient receives. The form now has two columns to list the family size, current income and IRT for each program. An 'N/A' will be placed in each box below the column if a recipient is not receiving benefits for that program. In addition, a note has been added that instructs those households that have an "N/A" in the IRT column they have no IRT and they do not have any mandatory income mid-period reporting requirements. Due to a state law change concerning the eligibility of drug felons, any language regarding ineligibility of drug felons was removed.

AR 2 CR (3/15) Reporting Changes for Cash Aid and CalFresh

This form replaced the current version of the AR 2. This is for CalWORKs Annual Reporting assistance units and those members are CalFresh Change Reporting households. This form was updated to remove drug felon language. Due to a state law change concerning the eligibility of drug felons, any language regarding ineligibility of drug felons was removed.

CAMERA READY COPIES AND TRANSLATIONS

For camera-ready copies in English, contact the Forms Management Unit at fmudss@dss.ca.gov. If your office has internet access you may obtain these forms from the CDSS webpage at:

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/FormsandPu 271.htm.

ACL NO. 15-42 Page Ten

When all translations are completed per MPP section 21-115.2, including Spanish forms, they are posted on an on-going basis on the CDSS webpage. Copies of the translated forms can be obtained at:

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/FormsandPu_274.htm.

For questions on translated materials, please contact Language Services at (916) 651-8876. Until translations are available, recipients who have elected to receive materials in languages other than English should be sent the English version of the form or notice along with the <u>GEN 1365-Notice of Language Services</u> and a local contact number.

CWDs shall ensure that effective bilingual services are provided. This requirement may be met through utilization of paid interpreters, qualified bilingual employees, and qualified employees of other agencies or community resources. These services shall be provided free of charge to the applicant/recipient. In the event that CDSS does not provide translations of a form, it is the county's responsibility to provide the translation if an applicant or recipient requests it. More information regarding translations can be found in MPP section 21-115.

This ACL and other CDSS Letters and Notices are available on the internet at: http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/lettersnotices/default.htm

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact your CalFresh county consultant or call the CalFresh Policy Bureau at (916) 654-1896.

Sincerely,

Original Document Signed By:

TODD R. BLAND Deputy Director Welfare to Work Division

Attachments

REPORTING CHANGES FOR CASH AID AND CALFRESH

CASE NAME:	
CASE NUMBER:	
WORKER NUMBER:	

Because you get Cash Aid CalFresh, you must report within 10 days when your TOTAL income reaches a certain level. You must report anytime your household's total monthly income is more than your current Income Reporting Threshold (IRT).

Benefit Type	CalWORKs	CalFresh
Family Size		
Your Current Income		
Your IRT is		

Note: If your IRT for CalFresh is listed as "N/A", you are not required to report income changes for CalFresh until your next SAR 7 or recertification, whichever comes first. However, if you have an IRT amount listed for CalWORKs, you must report when your gross income goes over that amount.

How to report?

If your total income is over the IRT amount listed above, you must report this to the County within 10 days. You can report this information to the County by calling the county or reporting it in writing.

By "total monthly income" we mean:

- Any money you get (both earned **and unearned**).
- The amount *before* any deductions are taken out. (Examples of deductions are: taxes, Social Security or other retirement contributions, garnishments, etc.)

What will happen?

- → Your benefits may be lowered or stopped based on income over your IRT.
- Your IRT may change when your income changes or when someone moves in or out of your home.
- The County will let you know in writing each time your IRT changes.
- ⇒ You also need to report on your SAR 7 all income you get during the Report Month, even if you already reported that money.

Penalty for not reporting

If you do not report when your income is more than your household's IRT limit you might get more benefits than you should. You **must** repay any extra benefits you get. If you do not report on purpose to try to get more benefits, this is fraud, and you may be charged with a crime and/or may no longer get CalFresh for a period of time or life.

If you get Cash Aid, you <u>MUST ALSO</u> report the things below <u>within 10 days</u> of when they happen:

- 1. Anytime someone joins, or is in your household, who has been found by a court of law to be in violation of a condition of probation or parole.
- 2. Anytime someone joins, or is in your household, who is running from the law (has a warrant out for their arrest).
- 3. Anytime you have an address change.

If you get CalFresh, you <u>MUST ALSO</u> report the following:

 If you are an Able Bodied Adult Without Dependents (ABAWD), you must report anytime your work or training hours drop to less than 20 hours a week or 80 hours a month.

Voluntarily reporting information

You may also voluntarily report changes to the County anytime. *Reporting some changes may get you more benefits.* For example:

- Your income stops or goes down.
- Someone with income moves out of your home.
- Someone without income moves into your home.
- Someone in the house becomes pregnant.
- Someone on cash aid has a special need, such as: a pregnancy, a special diet prescribed by a doctor, household emergency, etc.
- The birth of a child.
- For CalFresh, if someone disabled or age 60 or older has new or higher out of pocket medical costs.

Note: Some changes you report voluntarily may result in a decrease in your CalFresh benefits.

REPORTING CHANGES FOR CalWORKS AND CALFRESH

CASE NAME:	
CASE NUMBER:	
WORKER NUMBER:	

Because you get CalWORKs CalFresh, you must report within 10 days when your TOTAL income reaches a certain level. You must report anytime your household's total monthly income is more than your current Income Reporting Threshold (IRT).

Benefit Type	CalWORKs	CalFresh
Family Size		
Your Current Income		
Your IRT is		

Note: If your IRT for CalFresh is listed as "N/A", you are not required to report income changes for CalFresh until your next SAR 7 or recertification, whichever comes first. However, if you have an IRT amount listed for CalWORKs, you must report when your gross income goes over that amount.

How to report?

If your total income is over the IRT amount listed above, you must report this to the County **within 10 days**. You can report this information to the County by calling the County or reporting it in writing.

By "total monthly income" we mean:

- Any money you get (both earned and unearned).
- The amount *before* any deductions are taken out. (Examples of deductions are: taxes, Social Security or other retirement contributions, garnishments, etc.)

What will happen?

- → Your benefits may be lowered or stopped based on income over your IRT.
- ⇒ Your IRT may change when your income changes or when someone moves in or out of your home.
- The County will let you know in writing each time your IRT changes.
- You also need to report during your annual redetermination/recertification (RD/RC) all income the RD/RC form asks about, even if you already reported that money.

Penalty for not reporting

If you do not report when your income is more than your household's IRT limit you may get more benefits than you should. You **must** repay any extra benefits you get based on income you do not report. If you do not report on purpose to try to get more benefits, this is fraud, and you may be charged with a crime.

Because you get CalWORKs, you <u>MUST ALSO</u> report the things below <u>within 10 days</u> of when they happen:

- Anytime someone moves into or out of your household.
- 2. Anytime someone joins, or is in your household, who is in violation of a condition of probation or parole.
- 3. Anytime someone joins, or is in your household, who is running from the law.
- 4. Anytime you have an address change.

If you get CalFresh, you <u>MUST ALSO</u> report the following:

 If you are an Able Bodied Adult Without Dependents (ABAWD), you must report anytime your work or training hours drop to less than 20 hours a week or 80 hours a month.

Voluntarily reporting information

You may also voluntarily report changes to the County anytime. *Reporting some changes may get you more benefits.* For example:

- Someone in the house becomes pregnant.
- Someone on cash aid has a special need, such as: a pregnancy, a special diet prescribed by a doctor, household emergency, etc.
- For CalFresh, if someone disabled or age 60 or older has new or higher out of pocket medical costs.

REPORTING CHANGES FOR CalWORKS AND CALFRESH

CASE NAME:	
CASE NUMBER:	
WORKER NUMBER:	

Because you get CalWORKs, you must report within 10 days when your TOTAL income reaches a certain level. You must report anytime your household's total monthly income is more than your current Income Reporting Threshold (IRT).

Your family size is	
Your current income is	\$
Your CalWORKs IRT is	\$

How to report?

If your total income is over the IRT amount listed above, you must report this to the County **within 10 days**. You can report this information to the County by calling the County or reporting it in writing.

By "total monthly income" we mean:

- Any money you get (both earned and unearned).
- The amount *before* any deductions are taken out. (Examples of deductions are: taxes, Social Security or other retirement contributions, garnishments, etc.)

What will happen?

- Your benefits may be lowered or stopped based on income over your IRT.
- → Your IRT may change when your income changes or when someone moves in or out of your home.
- The County will let you know in writing each time your IRT changes.
- You also need to report during your annual redetermination/recertification (RD/RC) all income the RD/RC form asks about, even if you already reported that money.

Penalty for not reporting

If you do not report when your income is more than your household's IRT limit you may get more benefits than you should. You **must** repay any extra benefits you get based on income you do not report. If you do not report on purpose to try to get more benefits, this is fraud, and you may be charged with a crime.

Because you get CalWORKs, you <u>MUST ALSO</u> report the things below <u>within 10 days</u> of when they happen:

- Anytime someone moves into or out of your household.
- Anytime someone joins, or is in your household, who is in violation of a condition of probation or parole.
- 3. Anytime someone joins, or is in your household, who is running from the law.
- 4. Anytime you have an address change.

If you get CalFresh, you <u>MUST</u> report the things below <u>within 10 days</u> of when they happen:

- Anytime someone moves into or out of your household.
- 2. Anytime you have an address change.
- You have a change in the source of income including starting, stopping or changing jobs.
- 4. Earned income changes by more than \$100.
- 5. Unearned income changes by more than \$50 (except for CalWORKs or General Assistance).
- 6. Rent or utility costs change (only if you move).
- 7. Any change in the amount of any legally obligated child support.
- 8. If you are an Able Bodied Adult Without Dependents (ABAWD), you must report any time your work or training hours drop to less than 20 hours a week or 80 hours a month.

Voluntarily reporting information

You may also voluntarily report changes to the County anytime. *Reporting some changes may get you more benefits.* For example:

- Someone in the house becomes pregnant.
- Someone on cash aid has a special need, such as: a pregnancy, a special diet prescribed by a doctor, household emergency, etc.
- For CalFresh, if someone disabled or age 60 or older has new or higher out of pocket medical costs.