## **DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES**

744 P Street, Sacramento, California 95814



December 26, 2001

ALL COUNTY LETTER NO. 01-88

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS
ALL CDSS ADOPTIONS DISTRICT OFFICES
ALL ADOPTION SERVICE PROVIDERS

REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL
[x] State Law Change
[ ] Federal Law or Regulation
Change
[ ] Court Order
[ ] Clarification Requested by
One or More Counties
[ ] Initiated by CDSS

SUBJECT: SENATE BILL 104 (CHAPTER 688, STATUTES OF 2001) AND AMENDED FAMILY CODE SECTIONS 8801.3 and 8814.5

Effective January 1, 2002, Senate Bill 104 (Chapter 688, Statutes of 2001) decreases the time within which a birth parent may revoke his or her consent to the independent adoption of a child. Under the new statute, the revocation must occur within 30 days after the consent was signed unless the birth parent has signed a waiver of the right to revoke consent.

Consents signed before January 1, 2002 are governed by the current statutory time frame of 90 days. In such case, absent a waiver of the right to revoke consent, the birth parent is entitled to the full 90-day revocation period, beginning on the date the consent was signed.

The California Department of Social Services (CDSS) is in the process of revising Independent Adoption Program forms to reflect the statutory change. All forms should be changed by January 1, 2002 and will be available through the CDSS Warehouse or the CDSS On-line Forms and Publications site. Revised regulations will follow.

Questions concerning this correspondence should be addressed to Robert (Bob) Scott of the Adoptions Services Bureau at (916) 322-6553.

Sincerely,

Original Document Signed By Dave Dodds For

SYLVIA PIZZINI
Deputy Director
Children and Family Services Division

c: CWDA