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September 8, 2003

ALL COUNTY LETTER NO.  03-41

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS
ALL COUNTY CHILD CARE COORDINATORS

SUBJECT: 2003 REGIONAL MARKET RATE (RMR) CEILINGS AND
EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

This letter transmits the 2003 RMR ceilings for California child care providers, as
well as the California Department of Education’s (CDE) emergency regulations
(attached) which govern the use of the RMR.

Background

The RMR was developed by the California Child Care Resource and Referral
Network and is based on a statewide survey of over 14,000 child care providers.
The Budget Act of 2003 (Chapter 157, Statutes of 2003) provides for payment of
child care costs up to the 85th percentile of the market rates charged by providers
who offer the same type of child care for the same age child in that region for
California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CALWORKs) and various
child care programs administered by CDE.  The Budget Act also directs CDE to
promulgate emergency regulations governing use of the RMR to provide
consistency statewide and to clarify the appropriate rate of reimbursement for child
care services.  Additionally, the Budget Act directs the California Department of
Social Services (CDSS) to take appropriate steps to ensure that these emergency
regulations apply to the Stage One Child Care Program.  Therefore, counties are
required to use the CDE emergency regulations when applying RMR to Stage One.
The Budget Act assumes $23.3 million dollars in Stage One savings due to the
RMR changes and it is imperative that we achieve as much of the savings as
possible.  Therefore, counties must implement these changes as soon as
administratively possible and no later than December 1, 2003.

Notice of Action

The CDSS Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP), Chapter 47-420.3, specifies
that counties shall notify clients whenever there is an approval, denial, change, or
discontinuance in the amount of a child care subsidy.  With release of the new
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RMR ceilings and the change in payment rules, it is likely that many clients’ child
care payments will be affected.  To provide timely notice to these individuals,
counties shall issue notices of action to these clients at least ten days before the
change in child care benefit occurs.

A copy of the NA Back 9, Your Hearing Rights, transmitted via All County
Information Notice 1-94-99, dated December 3, 1999, must accompany each of
these notices.  Counties are reminded that clients have the right to a hearing for
the purposes of determining an incorrect subsidy or grant computation.  CALWORKs
clients who request a hearing are treated as though the subject of the hearing was
not a law change until the time of the hearing (MPP Section 22-003.12).

RMR Ceilings

Highlights of the 2003 RMR ceilings include:

 The Budget Act of 2003 changes the RMR ceilings to the 85th percentile of
market rates.   The revised rates cover approximately 85 percent of child care
providers in the region.  Before this change, the RMR ceiling covered
approximately 93 percent of child care providers in a given region.  The ceiling
for license-exempt providers continues to be 90 percent of the family child care
home rates.

 There are some changes to the rate categories in the individual county ceiling
table.  These changes reflect the rates that will be applied under CDE’s
emergency regulations.  Changes include elimination of the full-time hourly rate
and consolidation of the full-time and part-time daily rates into one rate.

 The methodology to address the small sample size in each rate category has
changed.  To better reflect rates in the local market, the 2003 RMR uses more
local rates as long as they were within 20 percent of the regional rates.  Prior to
the change, regional rates were used when a certain rate category had less
than ten providers who responded to the survey.  Since the local rates based on
survey data may be different than the regional average, counties may find
substantial rate changes in certain rate categories.

RMR Emergency Regulations

The Budget Act specifies that the RMR emergency regulations are to change the
definitions of certain rate categories and provide conditions and limitations on the use of
certain rates and adjustment factors.  Below are highlights of some of these changes:

 The rate categories are re-defined.  The changes define when a rate category is
to be used.  For your information, a visual illustration of the different rate
categories is provided in Attachment A.
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 When the provider’s rate is different from the reimbursable rate categories
allowed by the emergency regulations, the regulations provide a formula that is
to be used to calculate the rate to be applied.

 Licensed providers who are reimbursed using a weekly or monthly rate are
eligible to receive a higher rate when providing evening or weekend care.  These
providers will receive a 1.25 adjustment factor when more than 50 percent of the
hours of care occur on weekends or in evenings between 6 p.m. and 6 a.m.  A
1.125 adjustment factor is provided when more than 25 percent but no more than
50 percent of the hours of care occur during this period.

 Providers who care for a child with exceptional needs are eligible to receive an
adjustment factor when there is documentation that additional services are
being provided and such services have an on-going fiscal impact on the
provider.

 With the exception of certain uses of the hourly and daily rates, providers must
be reimbursed using a single rate category, unless it is less costly to use more
than one rate category.  For example, the family needs four hours on Monday
and Wednesday, and nine hours on Thursday for a total of 17 hours in a week.
The provider can be paid using 1) the part-time weekly rate, or 2) the hourly
rate on Monday and Wednesday, plus the daily rate on Thursday.  Option 2 can
be used if it is less costly.

 Counties can pay the provider for child absences and/or provider paid holidays
if a provider charges unsubsidized clients for these absences/holidays.
Payments for child absences are not limited, however, a provider’s paid
holidays are limited to ten days per fiscal year.  Certain hourly and daily rates
are excluded from this provision.

 Counties can pay an alternate or substitute child care provider when the regular
provider has a paid holiday, or when the child is sick.  Payments to the alternate
provider are limited to ten days per fiscal year for provider holidays and for
alternative sick care, respectively, up to a total of 20 days per fiscal year.

Training Sessions

These highlights cover only the most significant changes in the regulations.  There
are other changes as well and we encourage counties to carefully review the
regulations.  We understand that counties may have questions on these
emergency regulations.  CDE and CDSS will jointly conduct five regional training
sessions between September 9 – 15, 2003, in various locations throughout the
State.  These sessions will provide training and technical assistance to counties
and alternative payment programs to facilitate the implementation of the rates and
regulations.  Attached you will find more information about these trainings, as well
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as how to register for them.  Please note that there is limited seating for each
session.

We will also compile and make available to counties in writing the most frequently
asked questions and answers on the RMR regulations.

Please feel free to direct any questions or concerns regarding the 2003 RMR
ceilings or the emergency regulations to Ms. Hilva Chan, RMR Analyst, Child Care
Programs Bureau, at (916) 654-2857.

Sincerely,

Original Document
Signed By

BRUCE WAGSTAFF
Deputy Director
Welfare to Work Division

Attachments



ATTACHMENT A
AA  VVIISSUUAALL  IILLLLUUSSTTRRAATTIIOONN  OOFF  DDIIFFFFEERREENNTT  RRMMRR  RRAATTEE  CCAATTEEGGOORRIIEESS

        DROP-IN CARE

Per Day (By Hour)

 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12   Hours

REGULAR CARE

Per Week (By Hour)

      1                           6                               15             30      52.5   Hours

Per Month (By Weekly Hours)

 15                              30   Hours
15     30

*Daily Rate - may also be used for full-time care when work schedule is so variable that no other rate categories would apply.

Hourly Rate Daily Rate

Hourly Rate
(6 hrs or less/day, up to 15 hrs/wk)

Part-time
Weekly Rate

     (>15-30 hours/wk,
     at least 3 days/wk)

Full-time Weekly Rate
(More than 30 hrs/wk)

Daily (More than 6 hrs/day, up to 3 days/wk)*

Hourly Rate for Full-
Time Plus

(> 52.5 hrs/wk; not
covered by the FT

weekly or monthly rates;
and only apply to a

single provider)

Part-time Monthly Rate
(Averages >15-30 hours/wk, every week)

Full-time Monthly Rate
(Averages more than 30 hours per week every week)



Attachment B

Title 5.  EDUCATION1

Division 1.  State Department of Education2

Chapter 19.  Child Care and Development Programs3

Subchapter 2.  General Requirements4

Article 1. General Provisions5
Delete Section 18021:6

§ 18021.  Payments to Family Child Care Providers.7

(a) Contractors who operate through family child care homes shall pay each non-employee family8

child care provider the same rate(s) the provider charges non-subsidized families.9

(b) For non-employee family child care home providers that do not serve non-subsidized children, the10

contractor shall pay a rate that is within 1.5 standard deviations of the mean market rate for family child11

care homes as established by the most recent survey of the local resource and referral agency.12

NOTE:  Authority cited: Section 8261, Education Code.  Reference: Section 8261, Education Code.13

14

Add Subchapter 2.5, Article 1, Sections 18074 to 18076.2 to read:15

Subchapter 2.5. Utilization of the Regional Market Rate16

Article 1.  General Provisions17

§ 18074.  Applicable Regulations.18

The regulations contained in this Subchapter, except for those contained in Section 18075.1, shall19

apply to contractors using the regional market rate to develop reimbursement agreements with licensed20

and license-exempt providers of child care and development services to eligible families.  Section21

18075.1 applies to contractors developing reimbursement agreements with licensed providers only.22

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 8265 and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Sections 8265 and 8269,23

Education Code.24

§ 18074.1.  Definition(s).25

(a) “Certified need for child care” means the number of days and hours of child care and26

development services approved and documented by the contractor as sufficient to meet the family’s need27

for child care as specified in Education Code section 8263(a)(2).28

(b) “Maximum payment rate” means the regional market rate ceiling plus any applicable adjustments.29

(c) “School age” means children enrolled in kindergarten through grade nine.30

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 8261, 8263, and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Sections 8263,31

8269, and 8461, Education Code.32

§ 18074.2.  Application of Regional Market Rate Ceilings.33

(a) Providers who establish a rate pursuant to Section 18074.3 of this subchapter, and who operate34

with a valid license per Title 22 California Code of Regulations, Division 12, or are school districts35

36



adhering to the requirements of Title 22 California Code of Regulations, Division 12, shall be reimbursed1

pursuant to their established rate for the appropriate category in accordance with Section 18075, but not to2

exceed the maximum payment rate.3

(b) Providers who establish a rate pursuant to Section 18074.3 of this subchapter, and who are exempt4

from licensure per California Health and Safety Code sections 1596.792(d), (f), and (g), and Title 225

California Code of Regulations, Sections 101158 and 102358, shall be reimbursed pursuant to their6

established rate for the appropriate category in accordance with Section 18075, but not to exceed 907

percent of the maximum payment rate for family child care homes.8

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 8265 and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Sections 8265 and 8269,9

Education Code.10

§ 18074.3.  Establishment of Provider Rate.11

Providers of child care and development services to eligible families shall provide documentation to12

the contractor of the rate(s) they charge.  When a provider has not established a rate, as defined in Section13

18075 of this subchapter, that corresponds to the certified need of the family, the contractor shall establish14

the appropriate rate as follows:15

(a) Identify a rate category that corresponds to a provider’s established rate.16

(b) Divide the provider’s rate by the regional market rate ceiling for the appropriate rate category.17

This will yield a percentage.18

(c) Apply the resulting percentage to the regional market rate ceiling for the rate category to be used19

for reimbursement.  This shall be considered to be the provider’s established rate for that category.20

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 8265 and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Sections 8265 and 8269,21

Education Code.22

§ 18075.  Reimbursement Rate Categories.23

Contractors shall reimburse providers in accordance with the following rate categories, up to the24

regional market rate ceiling for each category.25

(a) Hourly, which shall only be used for the following:26

(1) When a child’s certified need for child care and development services is no more than 15 hours27

per week and no more than six hours on any day within the week; or28

(2) An unscheduled but documented need of six hours or less per occurrence, such as the parent’s29

need to work overtime, that exceeds the child’s certified need for child care and development services; or30

(3) That portion of the child’s certified need for child care and development services that exceeds31

52.5 hours per week and is not included in the provider’s full-time weekly or full-time monthly rate.  This32

provision applies only if the family utilizes no more than one provider to meet the child’s entire need for33

child care and development services.34

(b) Daily, which shall only be used for the following:35

(1) When a child’s certified need for child care and development services occurs on three days or less36



each week for more than six hours per day; or1

(2) An unscheduled but documented need of more than six hours per occurrence, such as the parent’s2

need to work on a regularly scheduled day off, that exceeds the child’s certified need for child care and3

development services; or4

(3) The parent’s variable work schedule lacks a pattern of recurring work days and days off on a5

weekly or monthly basis and, in the judgment of the contractor, prohibits the child’s certified need for6

child care and development services from being met by applying any other rate in this section.7

(c) Part-time weekly, which shall only be used when the child’s certified need for child care and8

development services is greater than 15 hours per week and no more than 30 hours per week and the need9

for child care and development services occurs on at least three days per week.10

(d) Full-time weekly, which shall only be used when the child’s certified need for child care and11

development services is greater than 30 hours per week.12

(e) Part-time monthly, which shall only be used when:13

(1) The child’s certified need for child care and development services is greater than 15 hours but no14

more than 30 hours per week and the need for child care and development services occurs in every week15

of the month; or16

(2) The child’s certified need for child care and development services averages more than 15 hours17

but no more than 30 hours per week when calculated by dividing the total number of hours of services18

needed in the month by 4.33, and the need for child care and development services occurs in every week19

of the month.20

(f) Full-time monthly, which shall only be used when:21

(1) The child’s certified need for child care and development services is more than 30 hours per week22

and the need for child care and development services occurs in every week of the month; or23

(2) The child’s certified need for child care and development services averages more than 30 hours24

per week when calculated by dividing the total number of hours of services needed in the month by 4.33,25

and the need for child care and development services occurs in every week of the month.26

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 8265 and 8269, Education Code.  Reference:   Sections 8220, 8222, and27

8357, Education Code.28

§ 18075.1.  Rate Adjustment for Evenings and/or Weekends for Licensed Providers.29

(a) This section applies only to services reimbursed to licensed providers, and only when the30

contractor is reimbursing a provider using a category specified in Section 18075(c), (d), (e), or (f).31

(b) When the child’s certified need for child care and development services occurs between the hours32

of 6:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. on weekdays, or any time on weekends, the contractor shall multiply the33

provider rate as follows:34

(1) By 1.25 when more than 50 percent of the need for child care and development services occurs35

during this period.36



(2) By 1.125 when more than 25 percent but no more than 50 percent of the need for child care and1

development services occurs during this period.2

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 8265 and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Sections 8220, 8222, and3

8357, Education Code.4

§ 18075.2.  Rate Adjustment for Children with Exceptional Needs.5

(a) When child care and development services are provided to a child with exceptional needs, the6

contractor shall multiply the provider rate by only one of the following:7

(1) By 1.2, when the child has exceptional needs as defined in Education Code section 8208(l).8

(2) By 1.5, when the child is severely disabled as defined in Education Code section 8208(x).9

(b) Contractors shall apply this rate adjustment only when there is documentation that additional10

services and/or accommodations for that particular child are being provided, and such services and/or11

accommodations result in an on-going financial impact on the provider.12

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 8222, 8265, 8265.5, and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Sections13

8208(l) and 8208(x), Education Code.14

§ 18076.  Limitations on Reimbursement.15

(a) Single Rate Category.  Contractors shall only provide reimbursement using a single rate category16

as defined in Section 18075, unless using more than one category results in a lower amount of17

reimbursement than would result if using a single category.18

(b) Notwithstanding (a), when Sections 18075 (a)(2), 18075(a)(3), or 18075(b)(2) are applicable,19

contractors may reimburse providers for those categories in addition to the applicable single category.20

(c) Contractors may reimburse a child care provider using a rate that exceeds the regional market rate21

ceilings when there are no more than two child care providers in the region offering services meeting the22

needs of the subsidized family pursuant to Education Code section 8263, and the provider has established23

a rate pursuant to Section 18074.3 of this article that exceeds the ceilings.24

(d) Contractors shall adopt a policy governing absences that includes reasonable limitations for25

reimbursement purposes.26

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 8265 and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Sections 8222, 8266.5,27

and 8357, Education Code.28

§ 18076.1.  Provider Payment.29

(a) A family may choose a child care provider who charges a higher fee than the contractor’s30

maximum payment rate.31

(b) In such cases, the family shall be responsible for the difference between the rate charged by the32

provider and the contractor’s maximum payment rate.33

(c) The contractor shall pay registration, materials, and/or insurance fees charged by providers, either34

in a single payment or prorated over a 12-month period, as long as:35

36



(1) The same fee is charged to nonsubsidized families, and1

(2) The fee or prorated portion thereof, plus the rate established for the provider pursuant to this2

subchapter, does not exceed the maximum payment rate.3

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 8265 and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Sections 8222, 8266.5,4

and 8357, Education Code.5

§ 18076.2.  Reimbursement for Absences.6

(a) This section does not apply to reimbursement for services provided pursuant to Sections7

18075(a)(2) and (a)(3), and Sections 18075(b)(2) and (b)(3), of this subchapter.8

      (b) Reimbursable hours of child care and development services for the child’s regular provider shall9

include: 10

      (1) Time that a child is absent when the contractual terms used by the provider for services to11

nonsubsidized families require payment for such absences.12

      (2) Time that the provider has a paid holiday and can provide documentation that the contractual13

terms used by the provider for services to nonsubsidized families require payment for such holidays.  The14

number of reimbursable paid holidays shall be limited to a maximum of ten days per fiscal year.15

 (c) Reimbursable hours of child care and development services for an eligible alternate provider shall16

include:17

(1) Time that child care and development services are provided when the regular provider has a paid18

holiday, and the parent has to obtain an alternate provider to meet the certified need for child care and19

development services.  Payment to an alternate provider when the regular provider has a paid holiday20

shall be limited to ten days per child per fiscal year.21

(2) Time that child care and development services are provided by an eligible alternate provider when22

the child is ill and the parent has to obtain care from an eligible alternate provider.  Payment to an23

alternate provider when the child is ill shall be limited to a maximum of ten days per fiscal year.24

(d) The contractor shall not reimburse for child care and development services when:25

(1) The child is attending school.26

(2) The child is receiving any other child care and development services except as specified in27

Section 18076.2(c)(2).28

(3) For school age children, when services are provided during the usual hours of operation of a local29

public school available to the child, or a private school that the family chooses to attend, unless the child30

is receiving services from an alternate provider due to illness as specified in subsection 18076.2(b).31

NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 8265 and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Section 8208(e), 8263,32

8266.5, and 8357, Education Code.33

34

35

36



Chapter 19.5 CalWORKs and Child Care and Development Programs1

Subchapter 2.  CalWORKs Stage 2 Child Care Program2

Article 4.  Provider Payments and Parent Fees3

Amend Section 18413 to read:4

§ 18413.  Provider Payments.5

(a) The contractor shall pay each provider no more than the provider charges nonsubsidized families,6

and not to exceed the applicable regional market rate ceiling established pursuant to statute. 1.5 standard7

deviations above the mean cost of care for that region established by the most recent regional market rate8

survey.  For providers that serve only subsidized children, the contractor shall pay a rate that is not to9

exceed 1.5 standard deviations above the mean market rate established by the most recent regional market10

rate survey.  When there are no more than two child care providers in the region providing the type of11

care needed by the family, the contractor is not bound by the maximum payment rate for that region.12

(b) The contractor shall calculate the payment for child care on a monthly, weekly, daily, or hourly13

basis depending on the family’s needs and the contractual terms used by the provider to charge14

nonsubsidized families for the same service.  The payment basis shall not be calculated for the sole15

purpose of financially benefiting the provider.16

(c)(b) Reimbursable hours of care shall include: work hours, commute hours, participation in county-17

approved activities, and other eligible hours as approved by the contractor.18

(1) Time necessary for the parent to travel between his/her work or work activity and the child care19

provider;20

(2) Time that a child is absent when the contractual terms used by the provider for services to21

nonsubsidized families require payment for such absences; and22

(3) Time that care is provided by another eligible provider when the child is ill or when the usual23

provider of care has a paid holiday at the time that the parent must work or attend a work activity.24

(d) Contractors shall adopt a policy governing absences that include reasonable limitations for25

reimbursement purposes.26

(e) The contractor shall pay registration fees charged by child care providers, as long as these fees are27

the same as those charged to nonsubsidized families for the same purpose and the registration fee together28

with the provider payment do not exceed the maximum payment rate.29

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 8261 and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Sections 8353 and 8357,30

Education Code.31

32

33

34

35



Subchapter 3.  CalWORKs Stage 3 Child Care Program1

Article 4.  Provider Payments and Parent Fees2

Amend Section 18428 to read:3

§ 18428.  Provider Payments.4

(a) The contractor shall pay each provider no more than the provider charges nonsubsidized families,5

and not to exceed the applicable regional market rate ceiling established pursuant to statute.  1.5 standard6

deviations above the mean cost of care for that region established by the most recent regional market rate7

survey.  For providers that serve only subsidized children, the contractor shall pay a rate that is not to8

exceed 1.5 standard deviations above the mean market rate established by the most recent regional market9

rate survey.  When there are no more than two child care providers in the region providing of the type of10

care needed by the family, the contractor is not bound by the maximum payment rate for that region.11

(b) The contractor shall calculate the payment for child care on a monthly, weekly, daily, or hourly12

basis depending on the family’s needs and the contractual terms used by the provider to charge13

nonsubsidized families for the same service.  The payment basis shall not be calculated for the sole14

purpose of financially benefiting the provider.15

(c)(b) Reimbursable hours of care shall include: work hours, commute hours, participation in county-16

approved activities, and other eligible hours as approved by the contractor.17

(1) Time necessary for the parent to travel between his/her work or work activity and the child care18

provider;19

(2) Time that a child is absent when the contractual terms used by the provider for services to20

nonsubsidized families require payment for such absences; and21

(3) Time that care is provided by another eligible provider when the child is ill or when the usual22

provider of care has a paid holiday at the time that the parent must work or attend a work activity.23

(d) Contractors shall adopt a policy governing absences that include reasonable limitations for24

reimbursement purposes.25

(e) The contractor shall pay registration fees charged by child care providers, as long as these fees are26

the same as those charged to nonsubsidized families for the same purpose and the registration fees27

together with the provider payment do not exceed the maximum payment rate.28

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 8261 and 8269, Education Code.  Reference: Sections 8354 and 8357,29

Education Code.30

31

32

33

34
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Attachment C

                                   ALAMEDA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.50      $285.00     $1200.00
                                             N=1         N=9         N=36

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.50       (N/A)       $175.00     $720.00
                                 N=4                     N=2         N=23

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $37.90      $188.00     $919.00
                                             N=8         N=36        N=147

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $140.00     $543.00
                                 N=8                     N=22        N=139

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $33.00      $175.00     $700.00
                                             N=37        N=24        N=40

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.86       (N/A)       $120.00     $400.00
                                 N=37                    N=14        N=48
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $175.00     $758.00
                                             N=52        N=170       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.00       (N/A)       $145.00     $628.00
                                 N=18                    N=12        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $39.18      $155.00     $671.00
                                             N=60        N=196       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.00       (N/A)       $140.00     $606.00
                                 N=27                    N=24        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $34.47      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=39        N=141       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $6.00       (N/A)       $120.00     $519.50
                                 N=30                    N=72        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $157.50     $682.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.26      $139.50     $604.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.10

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.02      $135.00     $584.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   ALPINE
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.80      $171.00     $559.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.25       (N/A)       $128.00     .
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.19      $127.00     $490.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $96.00      $343.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=0

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $118.00     $400.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=1

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $286.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=0         N=0         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=0         N=0         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $99.00      $428.50
                                 N=0                     N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=0         N=0         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=0                     N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.80      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.20

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   AMADOR
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.80      $171.00     $559.00
                                             N=1         N=1         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.25       (N/A)       $128.00     .
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=1

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.19      $127.00     $490.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=3

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $96.00      $343.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=3

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $118.00     $400.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=2

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $286.00
                                 N=0                     N=1         N=3
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.67      $112.00     $485.00
                                             N=11        N=5         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.75       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=8                     N=1         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.80      $112.50     $487.00
                                             N=13        N=7         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $99.00      $428.50
                                 N=16                    N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $21.00      $112.00     $485.00
                                             N=8         N=4         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=13                    N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $23.10      $101.00     $436.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.24

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $23.22      $101.50     $438.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.26

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.90      $101.00     $436.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.24

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   BUTTE
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $525.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=6

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=3

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $400.00
                                             N=2         N=1         N=29

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $290.00
                                 N=3                     N=1         N=26

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $365.00
                                             N=2         N=1         N=14

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $245.00
                                 N=1                     N=1         N=12
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $24.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=56        N=23        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $93.50      $405.00
                                 N=7                     N=3         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.00      $105.00     $454.50
                                             N=70        N=25        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $87.00      $376.50
                                 N=15                    N=8         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $105.00     $454.50
                                             N=55        N=17        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $93.00      $402.50
                                 N=25                    N=9         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $21.60      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.80      $94.50      $409.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.10

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $94.50      $409.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.10

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   CALAVERAS
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.80      $171.00     $559.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=1

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.25       (N/A)       $128.00     .
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.19      $127.00     $490.00
                                             N=2         N=0         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $96.00      $343.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=3

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $118.00     $400.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=1

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $286.00
                                 N=2                     N=0         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=9         N=3         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=5                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $105.00     $454.50
                                             N=10        N=3         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $99.00      $428.50
                                 N=10                    N=1         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $90.00      $389.50
                                             N=8         N=5         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=9                     N=2         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $94.50      $409.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.10

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $81.00      $350.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   COLUSA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=2

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=1

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=1
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=1         N=1         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.05       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=9                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.67      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=2         N=1         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.50       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=23                    N=1         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.52      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=1         N=1         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=24                    N=1         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.40      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.47      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   CONTRA COSTA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.50      $239.00     $1015.00
                                             N=0         N=12        N=20

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.50       (N/A)       $154.00     $812.00
                                 N=0                     N=3         N=9

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $29.00      $183.00     $840.00
                                             N=8         N=30        N=101

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $135.00     $480.00
                                 N=13                    N=19        N=111

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $164.00     $608.00
                                             N=8         N=25        N=37

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.65       (N/A)       $122.00     $440.00
                                 N=20                    N=12        N=43
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $50.00      $175.00     $758.00
                                             N=51        N=167       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.00       (N/A)       $140.00     $606.00
                                 N=10                    N=13        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $40.00      $160.00     $693.00
                                             N=62        N=185       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $135.00     $584.50
                                 N=30                    N=25        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $145.00     $628.00
                                             N=31        N=122       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $115.00     $498.00
                                 N=30                    N=82        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $45.00      $157.50     $682.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $36.00      $144.00     $623.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.20

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $130.50     $565.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   DEL NORTE
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=2

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=2                     N=0         N=3

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=2                     N=0         N=1
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=5         N=1         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.75       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=6                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=4         N=1         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=13                    N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=4         N=1         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.75       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=11                    N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.80      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $17.10      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   EL DORADO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $35.00      $190.00     $845.00
                                             N=3         N=4         N=2

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       $159.00     $611.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=2

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $23.25      $152.00     $598.00
                                             N=6         N=7         N=13

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $110.00     $333.00
                                 N=1                     N=4         N=16

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.56      $145.00     $475.00
                                             N=2         N=1         N=4

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $106.00     $370.00
                                 N=1                     N=2         N=4
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $30.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=55        N=24        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.46       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=6                     N=2         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $28.61      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=59        N=22        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=15                    N=2         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=35        N=7         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.70       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=14                    N=2         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.00      $135.00     $584.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.75      $135.00     $584.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $90.00      $389.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   FRESNO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.62      $173.00     $600.00
                                             N=8         N=14        N=4

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=1                     N=6         N=2

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.85      $136.00     $500.00
                                             N=24        N=26        N=19

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $343.00
                                 N=2                     N=20        N=17

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $125.00     $502.00
                                             N=23        N=23        N=11

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.50       (N/A)       $100.50     $300.00
                                 N=3                     N=16        N=11
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $28.00      $130.00     $563.00
                                             N=168       N=72        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $105.00     $454.50
                                 N=20                    N=7         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $26.50      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=202       N=79        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $92.00      $398.50
                                 N=24                    N=11        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=172       N=46        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.75       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=40                    N=17        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.20      $117.00     $506.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.60

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $23.85      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.50

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   GLENN
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=0                     N=1         N=2

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $24.03      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=28        N=0         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.05       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=0                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=37        N=2         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=3                     N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=38        N=1         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=6                     N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $21.63      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.25      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.80      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   HUMBOLDT
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=2

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=2

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=2         N=0         N=2

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=5                     N=0         N=2

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=2         N=0         N=2

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=4                     N=0         N=2
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.00      $136.00     $589.00
                                             N=17        N=12        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=38                    N=8         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $130.00     $563.00
                                             N=23        N=13        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=53                    N=9         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.67      $135.00     $584.50
                                             N=21        N=11        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $79.00      $342.00
                                 N=54                    N=8         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $24.30      $122.50     $530.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.72

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.30      $117.00     $506.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.60

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $23.10      $121.50     $526.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.70

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   IMPERIAL
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=1         N=2         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $23.30      $116.00     $486.00
                                             N=10        N=5         N=4

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $285.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=4

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $125.00     $450.00
                                             N=7         N=2         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $279.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=1
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $105.00     $454.50
                                             N=22        N=57        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=0                     N=15        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $98.50      $426.50
                                             N=26        N=63        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.75       (N/A)       $93.00      $402.50
                                 N=2                     N=27        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.67      $97.00      $420.00
                                             N=23        N=59        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=1                     N=44        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $94.50      $409.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.10

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $88.50      $384.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.20      $87.50      $378.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   INYO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $23.03      $135.00     $486.00
                                             N=4         N=0         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $323.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=2

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $125.00     $450.00
                                             N=2         N=0         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $279.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $30.83      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=9         N=1         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.65       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=9                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=10        N=1         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.25       (N/A)       $92.00      $398.50
                                 N=8                     N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.29      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=9         N=0         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.34       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=14                    N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.75      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $21.86      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.20

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   KERN
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=1         N=1         N=10

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $450.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=5

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $21.74      $135.00     $434.00
                                             N=10        N=2         N=40

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $338.00
                                 N=1                     N=1         N=41

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $110.00     $415.00
                                             N=15        N=3         N=20

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $242.00
                                 N=3                     N=2         N=17
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $26.21      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=135       N=73        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $108.00     $467.50
                                 N=19                    N=9         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=173       N=85        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.33       (N/A)       $85.00      $368.00
                                 N=34                    N=23        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=161       N=60        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $85.00      $368.00
                                 N=51                    N=44        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $23.59      $108.00     $467.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.40

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.20

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.20

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   KINGS
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=1

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.40      $135.00     $436.00
                                             N=4         N=0         N=4

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $295.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=4

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $125.00     $450.00
                                             N=1         N=2         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $279.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=2
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $20.00      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=61        N=19        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $80.00      $346.50
                                 N=2                     N=3         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.00      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=71        N=22        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.75       (N/A)       $85.00      $368.00
                                 N=2                     N=9         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $17.50      $95.00      $411.50
                                             N=54        N=17        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=8                     N=15        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $18.00      $90.00      $389.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $17.10      $90.00      $389.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $15.75      $85.50      $370.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   LAKE
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $430.00
                                             N=2         N=0         N=3

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=2                     N=0         N=3

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=3

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=2                     N=0         N=2
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=18        N=3         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.05       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=16                    N=2         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=24        N=2         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.36       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=20                    N=2         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=23        N=3         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=21                    N=3         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $90.00      $389.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $90.00      $389.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   LASSEN
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=1         N=1         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=1         N=1         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=1

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=1         N=2         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.75       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=10                    N=2         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.67      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=2         N=2         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.75       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=18                    N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.52      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=1         N=2         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.75       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=24                    N=1         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.40      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.47      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   LOS ANGELES
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $37.00      $193.00     $920.00
                                             N=8         N=40        N=47

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.50       (N/A)       $137.00     $710.00
                                 N=1                     N=10        N=21

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.59      $135.00     $672.00
                                             N=21        N=146       N=197

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $125.00     $500.00
                                 N=1                     N=82        N=162

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $135.00     $520.00
                                             N=14        N=126       N=49

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $86.00      $384.00
                                 N=3                     N=84        N=53
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $35.76      $155.00     $671.00
                                             N=104       N=525       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $6.00       (N/A)       $130.00     $563.00
                                 N=22                    N=67        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=134       N=583       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.00       (N/A)       $130.00     $563.00
                                 N=35                    N=120       *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $33.75      $145.00     $628.00
                                             N=101       N=468       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $6.00       (N/A)       $113.00     $489.50
                                 N=58                    N=270       *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.18      $139.50     $604.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.10

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.50      $135.00     $584.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.38      $130.50     $565.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   MADERA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=2         N=1         N=1

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.38      $135.00     $486.00
                                             N=4         N=2         N=4

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $323.00
                                 N=0                     N=2         N=4

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.43      $125.00     $450.00
                                             N=4         N=2         N=4

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $230.00
                                 N=1                     N=2         N=4
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $24.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=56        N=16        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=1                     N=3         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=79        N=18        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $75.00      $325.00
                                 N=7                     N=7         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.00      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=65        N=16        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $75.00      $325.00
                                 N=9                     N=7         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $21.60      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $17.10      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.20

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   MARIN
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.50      $285.00     $1200.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=7

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.50       (N/A)       $175.00     $845.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=8

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $36.15      $182.00     $930.00
                                             N=4         N=0         N=39

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.50       (N/A)       $144.00     $533.00
                                 N=4                     N=1         N=42

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $165.00     $680.00
                                             N=11        N=0         N=11

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.50       (N/A)       $120.00     $403.00
                                 N=3                     N=0         N=14
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $50.00      $190.00     $822.50
                                             N=79        N=7         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $6.00       (N/A)       $145.00     $628.00
                                 N=15                    N=1         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $45.00      $175.00     $758.00
                                             N=77        N=8         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.25       (N/A)       $130.00     $563.00
                                 N=21                    N=2         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $42.86      $165.00     $714.50
                                             N=27        N=4         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $6.00       (N/A)       $115.00     $498.00
                                 N=20                    N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $45.00      $171.00     $740.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.80

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $40.50      $157.50     $682.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $38.57      $148.50     $643.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.30

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   MARIPOSA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.38      $135.00     $486.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $323.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=2

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $125.00     $450.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $279.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=9         N=0         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=3                     N=1         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=12        N=0         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.75       (N/A)       $92.00      $398.50
                                 N=5                     N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.29      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=14        N=0         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=6                     N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $21.86      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.20

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   MENDOCINO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=5

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.15       (N/A)       $133.00     $293.00
                                 N=3                     N=0         N=11

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=2

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=5                     N=0         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=3         N=1         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.25       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=21                    N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=3         N=2         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.25       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=50                    N=2         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.52      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=3         N=1         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=52                    N=1         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.47      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   MERCED
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=0         N=1         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.38      $135.00     $390.00
                                             N=2         N=3         N=8

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $270.00
                                 N=3                     N=1         N=9

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $105.00     $370.00
                                             N=1         N=3         N=4

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.26       (N/A)       $95.00      $279.00
                                 N=3                     N=2         N=5
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=15        N=32        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.32       (N/A)       $97.50      $422.00
                                 N=21                    N=8         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $21.71      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=23        N=38        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.30       (N/A)       $80.00      $346.50
                                 N=29                    N=9         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.60      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=22        N=35        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.30       (N/A)       $75.00      $325.00
                                 N=46                    N=11        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $19.80      $108.00     $467.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.40

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.54      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.20

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.34      $90.00      $389.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   MODOC
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=3                     N=0         N=0

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=2         N=0         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.05       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=2                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=4         N=0         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.50       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=3                     N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=5         N=0         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=3                     N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   MONO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.38      $135.00     $486.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $323.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $125.00     $450.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=1

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $279.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $26.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=2         N=1         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.25       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=5                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=2         N=0         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $92.00      $398.50
                                 N=8                     N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.29      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=0         N=0         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=6                     N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $23.40      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $21.86      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.20

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   MONTEREY
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=4

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=2

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.05      $135.00     $625.00
                                             N=4         N=4         N=23

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $105.00     $360.00
                                 N=1                     N=3         N=26

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $115.00     $525.00
                                             N=2         N=4         N=5

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $255.00
                                 N=1                     N=1         N=6
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $28.00      $140.00     $606.00
                                             N=24        N=56        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.15       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=23                    N=3         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=32        N=63        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.75       (N/A)       $85.00      $368.00
                                 N=39                    N=11        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $115.00     $498.00
                                             N=33        N=46        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $75.00      $325.00
                                 N=62                    N=33        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.20      $126.00     $545.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.80

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.50

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $103.50     $448.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.30

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   NAPA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.50      $285.00     $1168.50
                                             N=1         N=3         N=3

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.50       (N/A)       $175.00     $777.00
                                 N=0                     N=1         N=3

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $150.00     $900.00
                                             N=6         N=6         N=19

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $124.00     $550.00
                                 N=2                     N=7         N=12

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $135.00     $680.00
                                             N=1         N=6         N=4

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.86       (N/A)       $100.00     $440.00
                                 N=3                     N=5         N=4
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $190.00     $822.50
                                             N=37        N=15        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.00       (N/A)       $145.00     $628.00
                                 N=3                     N=1         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=43        N=20        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $150.00     $649.50
                                 N=6                     N=3         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=28        N=9         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=14                    N=9         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.40      $171.00     $740.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.80

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $135.00     $584.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $135.00     $584.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   NEVADA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $195.00     $845.00
                                             N=2         N=0         N=2

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       $159.00     $611.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.42      $160.00     $500.00
                                             N=7         N=0         N=11

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $137.00     $405.00
                                 N=1                     N=1         N=11

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.56      $145.00     $480.00
                                             N=14        N=0         N=4

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $106.00     $331.00
                                 N=3                     N=0         N=6
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $30.00      $140.00     $606.00
                                             N=33        N=8         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.25       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=8                     N=1         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $140.00     $606.00
                                             N=44        N=9         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.30       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=17                    N=1         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.75      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=21        N=3         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=13                    N=2         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.00      $126.00     $545.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.80

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $126.00     $545.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.80

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.48      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   ORANGE
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.00      $230.00     $860.00
                                             N=6         N=52        N=30

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.50       (N/A)       $180.00     $620.00
                                 N=0                     N=15        N=16

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.59      $165.00     $660.00
                                             N=18        N=131       N=126

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $132.00     $441.00
                                 N=2                     N=88        N=154

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.00      $152.50     $630.00
                                             N=9         N=97        N=54

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $105.00     $370.50
                                 N=4                     N=66        N=37
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $155.00     $671.00
                                             N=76        N=255       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $6.00       (N/A)       $150.00     $649.50
                                 N=13                    N=11        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $36.67      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=83        N=251       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=24                    N=24        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $143.00     $619.00
                                             N=43        N=104       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $115.00     $498.00
                                 N=26                    N=58        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $139.50     $604.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.10

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $33.00      $135.00     $584.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $128.50     $557.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.86

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   PLACER
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $202.00     $800.00
                                             N=2         N=9         N=3

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       $155.00     $611.00
                                 N=0                     N=4         N=1

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $160.00     $600.00
                                             N=10        N=14        N=14

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $132.00     $355.00
                                 N=3                     N=14        N=21

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.52      $153.00     $525.00
                                             N=24        N=11        N=8

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $114.00     $281.50
                                 N=2                     N=6         N=9
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.50      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=68        N=31        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.46       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=1                     N=2         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $135.00     $584.50
                                             N=81        N=27        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $105.00     $454.50
                                 N=8                     N=6         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=54        N=18        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=16                    N=13        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $29.25      $135.00     $584.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $121.50     $526.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.70

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   PLUMAS
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=2         N=0         N=0

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=8         N=0         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=7                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=9         N=0         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.50       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=14                    N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $17.50      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=10        N=0         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=14                    N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $15.75      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   RIVERSIDE
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.00      $201.00     $700.00
                                             N=1         N=35        N=7

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $620.00
                                 N=0                     N=15        N=4

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $144.00     $485.00
                                             N=10        N=71        N=52

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $108.00     $340.00
                                 N=1                     N=59        N=41

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $21.07      $141.00     $548.00
                                             N=10        N=60        N=16

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.75       (N/A)       $103.00     $335.00
                                 N=5                     N=38        N=14
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $30.00      $131.50     $569.50
                                             N=57        N=186       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.25       (N/A)       $105.00     $454.50
                                 N=11                    N=16        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $29.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=79        N=219       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.50       (N/A)       $105.00     $454.50
                                 N=30                    N=47        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $29.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=65        N=180       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=42                    N=107       *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.00      $118.50     $512.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.63

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $26.10      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.50

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $26.10      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SACRAMENTO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $195.00     $825.00
                                             N=2         N=28        N=14

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       $159.00     $616.00
                                 N=0                     N=10        N=10

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.14      $160.00     $595.00
                                             N=6         N=56        N=55

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $128.00     $410.00
                                 N=0                     N=45        N=61

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.56      $142.00     $555.00
                                             N=6         N=44        N=23

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $114.00     $335.00
                                 N=2                     N=37        N=18
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $35.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=81        N=127       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.00       (N/A)       $128.00     $554.00
                                 N=18                    N=18        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $135.00     $584.50
                                             N=95        N=164       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=35                    N=19        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=65        N=131       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=45                    N=74        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $31.50      $135.00     $584.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $121.50     $526.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.70

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.30      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SAN BENITO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=0         N=1         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.38      $135.00     $486.00
                                             N=0         N=1         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $360.00
                                 N=0                     N=1         N=3

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $125.00     $450.00
                                             N=0         N=1         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $279.00
                                 N=0                     N=1         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $26.00      $145.00     $628.00
                                             N=1         N=21        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $411.50
                                 N=4                     N=4         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $26.67      $130.00     $563.00
                                             N=5         N=26        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.93       (N/A)       $80.00      $346.50
                                 N=3                     N=6         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=4         N=16        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=6                     N=16        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $23.40      $130.50     $565.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.90

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.00      $117.00     $506.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.60

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SAN BERNARDINO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.39      $193.00     $865.00
                                             N=5         N=37        N=7

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.50       (N/A)       $130.00     $620.00
                                 N=1                     N=14        N=3

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.25      $139.00     $510.00
                                             N=19        N=105       N=31

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $97.50      $310.00
                                 N=1                     N=76        N=33

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.00      $126.00     $548.00
                                             N=11        N=90        N=16

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.25       (N/A)       $93.00      $384.00
                                 N=6                     N=76        N=12
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.95      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=27        N=215       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=11                    N=41        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $28.00      $118.50     $513.00
                                             N=44        N=258       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=23                    N=90        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $114.00     $493.50
                                             N=37        N=254       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=28                    N=180       *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.16      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.20      $106.50     $461.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.37

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $102.50     $444.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.28

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SAN DIEGO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $44.00      $227.00     $800.00
                                             N=5         N=80        N=21

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.50       (N/A)       $160.00     $530.00
                                 N=3                     N=33        N=18

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.77      $160.00     $604.00
                                             N=32        N=165       N=166

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $122.00     $390.00
                                 N=13                    N=117       N=182

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.00      $153.00     $515.00
                                             N=11        N=112       N=46

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.15       (N/A)       $98.00      $348.00
                                 N=18                    N=79        N=52
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $37.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=49        N=298       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.00       (N/A)       $130.00     $563.00
                                 N=24                    N=26        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $145.00     $628.00
                                             N=44        N=339       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $120.00     $519.50
                                 N=38                    N=68        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $135.00     $584.50
                                             N=29        N=231       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $114.50     $496.00
                                 N=49                    N=108       *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $33.30      $135.00     $584.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.50      $130.50     $565.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.90

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $121.50     $526.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.70

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SAN FRANCISCO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.50      $285.00     $1200.00
                                             N=0         N=1         N=13

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.50       (N/A)       $175.00     $845.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=7

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $36.15      $182.00     $900.00
                                             N=3         N=0         N=55

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $144.00     $660.00
                                 N=2                     N=1         N=49

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $32.00      $150.00     $625.00
                                             N=6         N=3         N=5

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.75       (N/A)       $120.00     $440.00
                                 N=3                     N=2         N=15
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $54.00      $225.00     $974.50
                                             N=54        N=49        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $8.00       (N/A)       $145.00     $628.00
                                 N=14                    N=1         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $47.50      $200.00     $866.00
                                             N=56        N=50        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $8.00       (N/A)       $144.00     $623.50
                                 N=24                    N=4         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $45.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=34        N=19        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $8.00       (N/A)       $115.00     $498.00
                                 N=32                    N=1         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $48.60      $202.50     $877.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $42.75      $180.00     $779.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $40.50      $135.00     $584.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SAN JOAQUIN
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.80      $174.50     $559.00
                                             N=1         N=9         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.25       (N/A)       $128.00     .
                                 N=1                     N=5         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.87      $130.00     $451.00
                                             N=7         N=31        N=13

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $96.00      $368.00
                                 N=3                     N=21        N=24

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $122.00     $400.00
                                             N=8         N=19        N=4

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $94.50      $245.00
                                 N=5                     N=15        N=8
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $30.00      $135.00     $584.50
                                             N=25        N=141       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $109.00     $472.00
                                 N=14                    N=12        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=35        N=161       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.50       (N/A)       $106.00     $459.00
                                 N=27                    N=36        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=22        N=132       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $411.50
                                 N=36                    N=77        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.00      $121.50     $526.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.70

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.50

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SAN LUIS OBISPO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=2         N=2         N=2

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=0                     N=1         N=5

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.25      $115.00     $500.00
                                             N=8         N=5         N=27

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $280.00
                                 N=4                     N=6         N=28

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.89      $112.00     $400.00
                                             N=9         N=6         N=5

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $279.00
                                 N=5                     N=2         N=9
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $26.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=29        N=41        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=21                    N=1         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=40        N=40        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $80.00      $346.50
                                 N=27                    N=4         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=28        N=22        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=35                    N=4         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $23.40      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.50

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SAN MATEO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.50      $285.00     $1100.00
                                             N=1         N=1         N=10

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.50       (N/A)       $175.00     $845.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=9

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $36.15      $162.50     $868.00
                                             N=2         N=10        N=72

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $125.00     $600.00
                                 N=2                     N=9         N=90

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $37.00      $165.00     $605.00
                                             N=8         N=10        N=11

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $120.00     $435.00
                                 N=2                     N=1         N=21
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $55.00      $220.00     $952.50
                                             N=60        N=106       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.00       (N/A)       $135.00     $584.50
                                 N=12                    N=10        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $50.00      $200.00     $866.00
                                             N=65        N=112       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $7.00       (N/A)       $135.00     $584.50
                                 N=25                    N=15        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $180.00     $779.50
                                             N=38        N=47        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $130.00     $563.00
                                 N=21                    N=13        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $49.50      $198.00     $857.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.40

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $45.00      $180.00     $779.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.50      $162.00     $701.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.60

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SANTA BARBARA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.00      $215.00     $840.00
                                             N=2         N=1         N=9

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.50       (N/A)       $155.00     $612.00
                                 N=2                     N=1         N=7

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.59      $127.50     $642.00
                                             N=5         N=5         N=47

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $96.50      $498.00
                                 N=2                     N=6         N=50

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.29      $120.00     $548.00
                                             N=9         N=10        N=5

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.75       (N/A)       $95.00      $425.00
                                 N=0                     N=6         N=17
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $35.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=41        N=69        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.00       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=26                    N=12        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $135.00     $584.50
                                             N=54        N=76        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $120.00     $519.50
                                 N=38                    N=14        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=44        N=54        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=49                    N=25        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $31.50      $135.00     $584.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.50      $121.50     $526.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.70

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SANTA CLARA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.50      $286.00     $1480.00
                                             N=1         N=27        N=38

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.50       (N/A)       $175.00     $935.00
                                 N=2                     N=9         N=20

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $43.00      $192.00     $988.00
                                             N=11        N=71        N=98

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $145.00     $606.00
                                 N=5                     N=65        N=90

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $45.00      $170.00     $750.00
                                             N=24        N=56        N=16

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $105.00     $435.00
                                 N=4                     N=46        N=49
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $50.00      $183.50     $794.50
                                             N=24        N=213       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $8.00       (N/A)       $152.00     $658.00
                                 N=23                    N=22        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $45.00      $170.00     $736.00
                                             N=42        N=241       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $8.00       (N/A)       $138.00     $597.50
                                 N=33                    N=45        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $32.00      $153.00     $662.50
                                             N=27        N=144       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $6.90       (N/A)       $114.50     $496.00
                                 N=33                    N=85        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $45.00      $165.00     $715.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.67

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $40.50      $153.00     $662.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $28.80      $137.50     $596.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.06

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SANTA CRUZ
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.50      $285.00     $1285.00
                                             N=2         N=2         N=5

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.50       (N/A)       $175.00     $845.00
                                 N=1                     N=2         N=4

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $37.00      $170.00     $765.00
                                             N=7         N=5         N=28

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $144.00     $562.00
                                 N=6                     N=6         N=28

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $33.00      $165.00     $680.00
                                             N=7         N=5         N=4

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $120.00     $440.00
                                 N=3                     N=0         N=8
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $200.00     $866.00
                                             N=27        N=9         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.00       (N/A)       $145.00     $628.00
                                 N=16                    N=3         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $155.00     $671.00
                                             N=42        N=15        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.50       (N/A)       $120.00     $519.50
                                 N=28                    N=4         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $32.50      $155.00     $671.00
                                             N=36        N=11        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $115.00     $498.00
                                 N=37                    N=6         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $180.00     $779.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.50      $139.50     $604.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.10

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $29.25      $139.50     $604.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.10

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SHASTA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=3         N=1         N=1

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $475.00
                                             N=11        N=0         N=8

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=6

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.40      $95.00      $475.00
                                             N=5         N=0         N=4

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=4                     N=0         N=3
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=68        N=14        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=9                     N=2         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $23.33      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=77        N=19        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=12                    N=9         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=68        N=12        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $75.00      $325.00
                                 N=17                    N=11        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $21.00      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.80      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SIERRA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $195.00     $845.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       $159.00     $611.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.45      $160.00     $598.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=0

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $137.00     $386.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.56      $145.00     $525.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $106.00     $331.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=2         N=0         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.46       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=2                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $130.50     $565.00
                                             N=2         N=0         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=3                     N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=2         N=0         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.70       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=2                     N=1         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $28.80      $135.00     $584.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $117.50     $508.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.61

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SISKIYOU
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.02      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=4         N=1         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=2                     N=1         N=1

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.63      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=3         N=1         N=1

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.75       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=4                     N=1         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $28.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=6         N=0         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.05       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=15                    N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=6         N=1         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=21                    N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.52      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=3         N=1         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=21                    N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.20      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.47      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SOLANO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.50      $285.00     $1285.00
                                             N=0         N=5         N=2

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.50       (N/A)       $175.00     $845.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=2

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $36.15      $168.00     $900.00
                                             N=1         N=10        N=14

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $156.00     $550.00
                                 N=1                     N=8         N=18

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $135.00     $680.00
                                             N=2         N=10        N=4

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $115.00     $440.00
                                 N=0                     N=6         N=5
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $33.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=37        N=107       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.00       (N/A)       $135.00     $584.50
                                 N=14                    N=15        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.00      $140.00     $606.00
                                             N=39        N=138       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $105.00     $454.50
                                 N=20                    N=30        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $28.67      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=32        N=101       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=26                    N=55        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $29.70      $135.00     $584.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.00      $126.00     $545.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.80

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.80      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SONOMA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.50      $285.00     $1285.00
                                             N=1         N=8         N=11

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $7.50       (N/A)       $161.00     $752.00
                                 N=2                     N=4         N=10

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $36.15      $163.00     $641.00
                                             N=7         N=13        N=66

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $6.50       (N/A)       $122.00     $399.00
                                 N=13                    N=12        N=70

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $28.00      $150.00     $565.00
                                             N=22        N=13        N=21

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.50       (N/A)       $115.00     $268.00
                                 N=16                    N=7         N=31
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $175.00     $758.00
                                             N=92        N=70        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.00       (N/A)       $120.00     $519.50
                                 N=35                    N=6         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $38.55      $160.00     $693.00
                                             N=102       N=69        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $120.00     $519.50
                                 N=49                    N=12        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $30.65      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=77        N=44        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.65       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=52                    N=18        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $157.50     $682.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $34.70      $144.00     $623.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.20

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.59      $135.00     $584.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   STANISLAUS
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.80      $158.00     $559.00
                                             N=5         N=10        N=2

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.25       (N/A)       $128.00     .
                                 N=0                     N=3         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.96      $120.00     $490.00
                                             N=13        N=13        N=10

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $92.00      $304.00
                                 N=1                     N=8         N=15

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $17.18      $118.00     $400.00
                                             N=9         N=8         N=1

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $86.00      $286.00
                                 N=0                     N=8         N=2
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $115.00     $498.00
                                             N=90        N=86        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $85.00      $368.00
                                 N=8                     N=10        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $21.00      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=98        N=98        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $99.00      $428.50
                                 N=15                    N=13        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $95.00      $411.50
                                             N=91        N=66        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $75.00      $325.00
                                 N=25                    N=47        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $103.50     $448.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.30

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.90      $90.00      $389.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $85.50      $370.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SUTTER
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $570.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=3

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=2

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $395.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=11

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $270.00
                                 N=0                     N=1         N=15

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $95.00      $370.00
                                             N=3         N=1         N=5

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $275.00
                                 N=2                     N=1         N=6
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=57        N=18        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.05       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=2                     N=2         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=67        N=23        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $85.00      $368.00
                                 N=6                     N=3         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.28      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=57        N=17        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $85.00      $368.00
                                 N=13                    N=12        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $20.25      $90.00      $389.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $90.00      $389.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $16.45      $90.00      $389.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.00

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   TEHAMA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=1

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=1

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.00
                                             N=25        N=3         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=8                     N=1         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.40      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=33        N=2         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=10                    N=2         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=30        N=3         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=19                    N=2         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $20.25      $101.50     $438.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.26

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.36      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.20

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   TRINITY
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $420.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $280.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=0

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=0         N=0         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.05       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=6                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.67      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=0         N=0         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=9                     N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.52      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=0         N=0         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.31       (N/A)       $84.00      $363.50
                                 N=11                    N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.40      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.47      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   TULARE
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $173.00     $657.00
                                             N=3         N=0         N=1

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.50       (N/A)       $126.00     $421.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.38      $135.00     $486.00
                                             N=14        N=0         N=13

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.22       (N/A)       $104.00     $270.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=13

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.37      $125.00     $380.00
                                             N=20        N=0         N=7

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $95.00      $279.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=3
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $20.00      $105.00     $454.50
                                             N=66        N=57        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $120.00     $519.50
                                 N=3                     N=11        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.00      $101.00     $437.50
                                             N=76        N=63        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.41       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=10                    N=14        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.62      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=69        N=50        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.50       (N/A)       $102.00     $441.50
                                 N=21                    N=33        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $18.00      $94.50      $409.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.10

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $17.10      $91.00      $394.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.02

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $17.66      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.20

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   TUOLUMNE
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $27.80      $171.00     $559.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.25       (N/A)       $128.00     .
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $127.00     $490.00
                                             N=6         N=0         N=1

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $96.00      $343.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $118.00     $400.00
                                             N=6         N=0         N=1

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $286.00
                                 N=2                     N=0         N=1
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.00      $100.00     $433.00
                                             N=30        N=3         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=3                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=33        N=1         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $99.00      $428.50
                                 N=3                     N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=23        N=1         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=6                     N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $19.80      $90.00      $389.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.20

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   YUBA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $32.00      $160.00     $531.00
                                             N=0         N=1         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       .           $385.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $24.07      $112.00     $355.00
                                             N=0         N=1         N=4

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.45       (N/A)       $133.00     $240.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=3

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $95.00      $400.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=2

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.90       (N/A)       $60.00      $250.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=2
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $20.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=27        N=2         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.36       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=3                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=34        N=1         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=8                     N=1         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $120.00     $519.50
                                             N=33        N=1         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.36       (N/A)       $90.00      $389.50
                                 N=9                     N=3         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $18.00      $112.50     $487.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.50

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $18.00      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.40

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $108.00     $467.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.40

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   OXNARD/VENTURA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.00      $229.00     $844.00
                                             N=1         N=5         N=2

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.50       (N/A)       $172.00     $670.00
                                 N=1                     N=0         N=2

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.59      $154.00     $620.00
                                             N=7         N=16        N=16

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $120.00     $310.00
                                 N=4                     N=11        N=26

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $157.00     $440.00
                                             N=3         N=11        N=2

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.75       (N/A)       $102.00     $364.00
                                 N=1                     N=6         N=6
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $37.50      $155.00     $671.00
                                             N=50        N=116       *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.00       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=9                     N=15        *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.20      $145.00     $628.00
                                             N=68        N=147       *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=18                    N=21        *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $135.00     $584.50
                                             N=58        N=101       *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=30                    N=49        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $33.75      $139.50     $604.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.10

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.68      $130.50     $565.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.90

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.50      $121.50     $526.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.70

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SANTA PAULA
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.00      $229.00     $844.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.50       (N/A)       $172.00     $670.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.59      $154.00     $620.00
                                             N=1         N=0         N=2

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $120.00     $373.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=1

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $157.00     $440.00
                                             N=0         N=0         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.75       (N/A)       $102.00     $364.00
                                 N=0                     N=0         N=0
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $37.50      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=9         N=11        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.00       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=2                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.20      $145.00     $628.00
                                             N=12        N=13        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $112.00     $485.00
                                 N=3                     N=1         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $135.00     $584.50
                                             N=17        N=11        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=10                    N=4         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $33.75      $135.00     $584.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.68      $130.50     $565.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.90

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.50      $121.50     $526.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.70

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   SIMI VALLEY
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $39.00      $229.00     $844.00
                                             N=0         N=5         N=1

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.50       (N/A)       $172.00     $670.00
                                 N=0                     N=3         N=2

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $27.59      $154.00     $620.00
                                             N=1         N=10        N=18

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.25       (N/A)       $120.00     $420.00
                                 N=0                     N=9         N=22

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $157.00     $440.00
                                             N=0         N=8         N=3

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.75       (N/A)       $102.00     $364.00
                                 N=0                     N=6         N=3
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=21        N=80        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.00       (N/A)       $125.00     $541.50
                                 N=8                     N=5         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $40.00      $150.00     $649.50
                                             N=26        N=80        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $112.00     $485.00
                                 N=10                    N=5         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $35.00      $140.00     $606.00
                                             N=16        N=31        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $85.00      $368.00
                                 N=13                    N=22        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $36.00      $135.00     $584.50

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $3.00

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $36.00      $135.00     $584.50

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.00

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $31.50      $126.00     $545.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.80

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   DAVIS
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $220.00     $896.00
                                             N=0         N=1         N=3

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       $159.00     $611.00
                                 N=0                     N=1         N=3

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.45      $158.00     $629.00
                                             N=0         N=4         N=11

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $145.00     $405.00
                                 N=0                     N=4         N=10

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.56      $150.00     $525.00
                                             N=2         N=5         N=0

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $95.00      $331.00
                                 N=0                     N=3         N=2
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $29.00      $127.00     $550.00
                                             N=7         N=2         *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.00       (N/A)       $124.00     $537.00
                                 N=7                     N=0         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $25.00      $115.00     $498.00
                                             N=5         N=2         *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $122.00     $528.50
                                 N=14                    N=0         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.00      $125.00     $541.50
                                             N=2         N=1         *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=8                     N=0         *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $26.10      $114.50     $495.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.54

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.50      $103.50     $448.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.30

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.80      $112.50     $487.50

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.50

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



                                   RURAL YOLO
                       2002 REGIONAL MARKET RATE CEILINGS\NEW METHODOLOGY
                       FOR CALIFORNIA CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
                       85th PERCENTILE CEILING RATES

     CHILD CARE CENTERS          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $40.00      $220.00     $896.00
                                             N=0         N=4         N=1

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             .           (N/A)       $159.00     $611.00
                                 N=0                     N=1         N=1

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.45      $158.00     $629.00
                                             N=0         N=5         N=11

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $145.00     $405.00
                                 N=0                     N=5         N=11

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.56      $150.00     $525.00
                                             N=3         N=1         N=2

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $3.50       (N/A)       $95.00      $331.00
                                 N=1                     N=2         N=4
     _________________________________________________________________________

     FAMILY DAY CARE HOMES       HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $25.00      $127.00     $550.00
                                             N=36        N=23        *

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $5.00       (N/A)       $124.00     $537.00
                                 N=5                     N=5         *

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $22.69      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=46        N=34        *

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $5.00       (N/A)       $122.00     $528.50
                                 N=14                    N=7         *

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $21.47      $110.00     $476.50
                                             N=35        N=30        *

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $4.00       (N/A)       $100.00     $433.00
                                 N=11                    N=24        *
     _________________________________________________________________________

     IN-HOME/EXEMPT(**)          HOURLY      DAILY       WEEKLY      MONTHLY

     FT UNDER 2 YRS.             (N/A)       $22.50      $114.50     $495.00

     PT UNDER 2 YRS.             $2.54

     FT 2-5 YRS.                 (N/A)       $20.42      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 2-5 YRS.                 $2.20

     FT 6 + YRS.                 (N/A)       $19.32      $99.00      $429.00

     PT 6 + YRS.                 $2.20

     (.) =FEWER THAN THREE PROVIDERS
     (*) =CALCULATED FROM WEEKLY RATE (WEEKLY*4.33)
     (**)=HOURLY REIMBURSEMENT ONLY FOR PART-TIME IN-HOME/EXEMPT



Attachment D

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

TRAINING WORKSHOPS FOR ALL CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF 
EDUCATION (CDE) ALTERNATIVE PAYMENT/CalWORKs CONTRACTORS 

AND COUNTY WELFARE DEPARTMENTS 
 

These training workshops are designed as training for trainers for management and 
information technology staff of CDE Alternative Payment/CalWORKs Contractors and 
County Welfare Departments regarding the changes in the Regional Market Rate 
regulations (RMR) and the new RMR ceilings.  Join us at a location of your choice. 

 

Refer to Attached Registration Form 
 

WHEN:  September 9, 10, 11, 12, & 15, 2003 

WHERE: Oakland, Sacramento, San Bernardino, Los Angeles, and Eureka 

DEADLINE: ALL registrations must be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. on 

Thursday, September 4, 2003. 

 

REGISTRATION RESTRICTIONS:  
 

Registration is limited to three people from each agency.  It is strictly on a first-
come, first-serve basis; no waiting list will be established. Late registrations and 
registrations at the door will not be accepted.  Participants are requested to bring 
their copy of the new Regional Market Rate regulations and ceilings to the training.  
These workshops have been designed to answer questions about the RMR as it applies 
to Alternative Payment/CalWORKs Programs, and therefore, are not appropriate for 
center-based programs. 



Attachment E

RMR Training for
CDE CalWORKs/Alternative Payment Contractors

and County Welfare Departments
Registration Form

Names of People Attending Training

1.                                                                                                                                                                        

2.                                                                                                                                                                        

3.                                                                                                                                                                        
Agency Name
          
Agency Address
          
City
          

State
          

Zip
          

Telephone
          

Fax
          

E-mail Address
          

Check the Workshop You Plan to Attend (PLEASE CHECK ONE LOCATION ONLY):

September 9, 2003 September 11, 2003
Dept. of Gen Services, Real Estate Svcs. Chaffey College, Faculty/Staff Dining Room
1515 Clay Street 5885 Haven Avenue
Oakland, CA  94612 Rancho Cucamonga, CA  91737

September 10, 2003 September 12, 2003
Consumnes River College, Recital Hall West L.A. College, Fine Arts Theater-FA 100
8401 Center Parkway 9000 Overland Avenue
Sacramento, CA  95823 Culver City, CA  90230

September 15, 2003
College of the Redwoods, Lakeview Room
7351 Tompkins Hill Road
Eureka, CA  95501

All training begins at 9:00 a.m. and ends at 4:00 p.m.
Registration Information:
Attendance is limited to a maximum of 3 people per agency and 200 participants per session.
There will be no waiting list. In addition, late registrations and registrations at the door will
not be accepted.  Participants will be notified of their registration acceptance.

For further information, please call Carlieta Wilson at (916) 322-4096.

Deadline for Registering for ALL of the RMR Training Sessions:  No later than 5:00 p.m., Thursday,
September 4, 2003.
Due to budget constraints, no lunch or refreshments will be served.  Participants are requested to
bring their copy of the new Regional Market Rate regulations and ceilings with them.

Please e-mail:
cawilson@cde.ca.gov
NOTE:  In your “e-mail subject line,” please
enter the phrase, “RMR Training
Registration.”

Fax your registration form to:
Carlieta Wilson
Fax:  (916) 323-6853


