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As a result of testimony received from the public hearing and at the Department’s discretion, post-hearing
changes have been made to the regulations readopted on March 11, 2004. Those changes include that
regardless of a pardon, expungement, or sealing of an individual's record by a court, the individual
signing a LIC 508 must declare whether he/she has been convicted of a crime. The definition of
“rehabilitation” is clarified to include “the effort to establish good character since the date of the last
conviction.” Also clarified is that individuals, except for certified foster parents, may request a criminal
record exemption on their own behalf. Furthermore, Section 80019(d)(2)(B) is repealed since it deals
with a specific facility type, Family Child Care Homes. Finally, minor grammatical and nonsubstantive
corrections have also been made.

These regulations were considered at the Department's public hearing held on September 17, 2003.
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Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80001 (Cont.)
80001 DEFINITIONS (Continued) 80001
(5) "Adult Day Care Facility" means any facility of any capacity which provides nonmedical care

(6)

(7

®)

)

(10)

(b) (1)

2

© @

2

and supervision to adults on less than a 24-hour per day basis.

"Adult Day Support Center" means a community based group program designed to meet the
needs of functionally impaired adults through an individual plan of care in a structured
comprehensive program that provides a variety of social and related support services in a
protective setting on less than a 24-hour basis.

"Adult Residential Facility" means any facility of any capacity which provides 24-hour a day
nonmedical care and supervision to adults except elderly persons.

"Applicant" means any individual, firm, partnership, association, corporation, county, city, public
agency or other government entity that has made application for community care facility license,
administrator certificate, or special permit.

"Authorized Representative" means any person or entity authorized by law to act on behalf of
any client. Such person or entity may include but not be limited to a minor's parent, a legal
guardian, a conservator or a public placement agency.

"Automated External Defibrillator" (AED) means a light-weight, portable device used to
administer an electric shock through the chest wall to the heart. Built-in computers assess the
patient’s heart rhythm, determine whether defibrillation (electrical shock) is needed and then
administer the shock. Audible and/or visual prompts guide the user through the process.

"Basic Rate" means the rate charged by a facility to provide basic services. For SSI/SSP
recipients, the basic rate means the established nonmedical out-of-home care rate which includes
any exempt income allowance but does not include that amount allocated for the recipient's
personal and incidental needs.

"Basic Services" means those services required by applicable law and regulation to be provided
by the licensee in order to obtain and maintain a community care facility license.

“California Clearance” means an individual has no felony or misdemeanor convictions reported
by the California Department of Justice. However, the individual may have been arrested with
no criminal conviction, convicted of a minor traffic offense or adjudicated as a juvenile.

"Capacity" means the maximum number of persons authorized to be provided care and
supervision at any one time in any licensed facility.

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
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80001 (Cont.)

GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS Regulations

80001 DEFINITIONS (Continued) 80001

(3) "Care and Supervision" means any one or more of the following activities provided by a person
or facility to meet the needs of the clients:

(A)
(B)
©

Assistance in dressing, grooming, bathing and other personal hygiene.
Assistance with taking medication, as specified in Section 80075.

Central storing and/or distribution of medications, as specified in Section 80075.
(D) Arrangement of and assistance with medical and dental care.

(E) Maintenance of house rules for the protection of clients.

(F) Supervision of client schedules and activities.

(G) Maintenance and/or supervision of client cash resources or property.
(H) Monitoring food intake or special diets.

) Providing basic services as defined in Section 80001b.(2).

(4) "Cash Resources" means:

(A)
(B)
©
(D)

(E)
(F)

Monetary gifts.
Tax credits and/or refunds.
Earnings from employment or workshops.

Personal and incidental need allowances from funding sources including but not limited
to SSI/SSP.

Allowances paid to children.

Any other similar resources as determined by the licensing agency.

(5) "Certified administrator" means an administrator who has been issued a group home or adult
residential facility certificate by the Department and whose certificate is current.

(6) "Child" means a person who is under 18 years of age.

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
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Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80001 (Cont.)

80001 DEFINITIONS (Continued) 80001

(7)  “Child Abuse Central Index” means the California Department of Justice maintained statewide,
multi-jurisdictional, centralized index of child abuse investigation reports. These reports pertain
to alleged incidents of physical abuse, sexual abuse, mental/emotional abuse and/or severe
neglect. Each child protection agency (police, sheriff, county welfare and probation
departments) is required by law to forward to the California Department of Justice a report of
every child abuse incident it investigates, unless an incident is determined to be unfounded.

(8) “Child Abuse Central Index Clearance” means that the California Department of Justice has
conducted a name search of the index and the search did not result in a match or the search
resulted in a match but the California Department of Social Services determined after an
investigation that the allegation of child abuse or neglect was not substantiated.

(9) "Child Care Center" means any facility of any capacity other than a family day care home as
defined in Section 102352f.(1) in which less than 24-hour per day nonmedical supervision is
provided for children in a group setting.

(10) "Client" means a child or adult who is receiving care and supervision in a community care
facility. Client includes "resident" as used in the Community Care Facility Act.

(11) "Client Who Relies Upon Others To Perform All Activities of Daily Living" means a client who
is unable to perform all six activities of daily living without physical assistance.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE
(See also the definition of Activities of Daily Living in Section 80001a.(1).

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(12) Close friend. "Close friend" means a person who is attached to another by feelings of personal
regard as indicated by both parties involved.

(13) "Community Care Facility" means any facility, place or building where nonmedical care and
supervision, as defined in Section 80001c.(2) are provided.

(14) "Community Treatment Facility" means any residential facility that provides mental health
treatment services to children in a group setting which has the capacity to provide secure
containment. The facility's program components shall be subject to program standards developed
and enforced by the State Department of Mental Health pursuant to Section 4094 of the Welfare
and Institutions Code.

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
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80001 (Cont.) GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS Regulations

80001 DEFINITIONS (Continued) 80001

(15) "Completed Application" means:

(A) The applicant has submitted and the licensing agency has received all required materials
including: an approved fire clearance, if appropriate, from the State Fire Marshal; a
criminal record clearance on the applicant and any other individuals specified in Section
80019.

(B) The licensing agency has completed a site visit to the facility.

(16) "Conservator" means a person appointed by the Superior Court pursuant to the provisions of
Section 1800 et seq. of the Probate Code or Section 5350 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, to
care for the person, or estate, or person and estate, of another.

(17) "Consultant" means a person professionally qualified by training or experience to provide expert
information on a particular subject.

(18) "Control of Property" means the right to enter, occupy, and maintain the operation of the facility
property within regulatory requirements. Evidence of control of property may include, but is not
limited to the following:

(A) a Grant Deed showing ownership; or

(B) the lease agreement or rental agreement; or

©) a court order or similar document which shows the authority to control the property
pending outcome of a probate proceeding or an estate settlement.

(19) “Conviction” means:

(A) A criminal conviction in California; or

(B) Any criminal conviction of another state, federal, military or other jurisdiction, which if
committed or attempted in California, would have been punishable as a crime in
California.

(20) “Criminal Record Clearance” means an individual has a California clearance and an FBI
clearance.

(d) (1) "Day" means calendar day unless otherwise specified.
CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
MANUAL LETTER NO. CCL-04-13 Effective 8/20/04
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Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80001 (Cont.)

80001 DEFINITIONS (Continued) 80001

(2) "Deficiency" means any failure to comply with any provision of the Community Care Facilities
Act (Health and Safety Code, Section 1500 et seq.) and/or regulations adopted by the Department
pursuant to the Act.

(3) "Delayed-Egress Device" means a special time-delay, egress-control device as specified in
Health and Safety Code Sections 1531.1(b), (e), and 1569.699(a).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE
(A) Health and Safety Code Section 1531.1(b) is paraphrased in pertinent part:

As used in this section, "delayed-egress device" means a device that precludes the use of
exits for a predetermined period of time. These devices shall not delay any resident's
departure from the facility for longer than 30 seconds.

(B) Health and Safety Code Section 1531.1(e) is paraphrased in pertinent part:

The facility shall be subject to all fire and building codes, regulations, and standards
applicable to residential care facilities for the elderly utilizing delayed egress devices
and shall receive approval by the county or city fire department, the local fire prevention
district, or the State Fire Marshal for the installed delayed egress devices.

© Health and Safety Code Section 1569.699(a) is paraphrased in pertinent part:

When approved by the person responsible for enforcement as described in Section
13146, exit doors in facilities classified as Group R, Division 2 facilities under the
California Building Standards Code, licensed as residential care facilities for the elderly,
and housing clients with Alzheimer's disease or demential, may be equipped with
approved listed special egress-control devices of the time-delay type, provided the
building is protected throughout by an approved automatic sprinkler system and an
approved automatic smoke-detection system. The devices shall conform to all of the
following requirements:

1. Automatic deactivation of the egress-control device upon activation of either the
sprinkler system or the detection system.

HANDBOOK CONTINUES

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
MANUAL LETTER NO. CCL-04-13 Effective 8/20/04
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Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80001 (Cont.)

80001 DEFINITIONS (Continued) 80001
HANDBOOK CONTINUES
2. Automatic deactivation of the egress-control device upon loss of electrical

power to any one of the following: The egress-control device; the smoke-
detection system; exit illumination as required by Section 1012 of the California
Building Code.

3. Be capable of being deactivated by a signal from a switch located in an
approved location.

4. Initiate an irreversible process that will deactivate the egress-control device
whenever a manual force of not more than 15 pounds (66.72N) is applied for
two seconds to the panic bar or other door-latching hardware. The egress-
control device shall deactivate within an approved time period not to exceed a
total of 15 seconds, except that the person responsible for enforcement as
described in Section 13146 may approve a delay not to exceed 30 seconds in
residential care facilities, for the elderly serving patients with Alzheimer's
disease. The time delay established for each egress-control device shall not be
field adjustable.

5. Actuation of the panic bar or other door-latching hardware shall activate an
audible signal at the door.

6. The unlatching shall not require more than one operation.

7. A sign shall be provided on the door located above and within 12 inches
(305mm) of the panic bar or other door-latching hardware reading:

KEEP PUSHING. THIS DOOR WILL OPEN IN ........ SECONDS. ALARM
WILL SOUND.

Sign letters shall be at least one inch (25 mm) in height and shall have a stroke
of not less than 1/8 inch (3.3 mm).

8. Regardless of the means of deactivation, relocking of the egress-control device
shall be by manual means only at the door.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(4) "Dementia" means a deterioration of intellectual function and other cognitive skills, leading to a
decline in one's ability to perform activities of daily living.

(5) "Department" is defined in Health and Safety Code Section 1502(b).

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
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80001 (Cont.) GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS Regulations

80001

DEFINITIONS (Continued) 80001

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE
(A) Department means the California Department of Social Services.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(6)

"Developmental Disability" means a disability as defined in Welfare and Institutions Code
Section 4512(a).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) Welfare and Institutions Code Section 4512(a) provides in part: "Developmental
disability" means a disability which originates before an individual attains age 18,
continues, or can be expected to continue, indefinitely and constitutes a substantial
handicap for such individual.

This term shall include mental retardation, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, and autism. This
term shall also include handicapping conditions found to be closely related to mental
retardation or to require treatment similar to that required for mentally retarded
individuals, but shall not include other handicapping conditions that are solely physical
in nature.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(7

®)

"Dietitian" means a person who is a member of or registered by the American Dietetics
Association.

"Director" is defined in Health and Safety Code Section 1502(c).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE
(A) Director means the director of the California Department of Social Services.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

) (M

)
3

"Egress-Alert Device" means a wrist band or other device, that may be worn by a client or
carried on a client's person that triggers a visual or auditory alarm when the client leaves the
facility building or grounds.

"Elderly Person" means any person who is 60 years of age or older.
"Emergency Approval to Operate" (LIC 9117 4/93) (EAO) means a temporary approval to

operate a facility for no more than 60 days pending the Department's decision on whether to
approve or deny a provisional license.

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL

MANUAL LETTER NO. CCL-04-13 Effective 8/20/04

Page 13



Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80001 (Cont.)
80001 DEFINITIONS (Continued) 80001
(3) "PRN Medication" (pro re nata) means any nonprescription or prescription medication which is

to be taken as needed.

(4) "Provision" or "Provide" means whenever any regulation requires that provisions be made for or
that there be provided any service, personnel, or other requirement, the licensee shall do so
directly or present evidence to the licensing agency that the requirement has been met by some
other means.

(5) "Provisional License" means a license which is temporary, nonrenewable and issued for a period

not to exceed twelve months. A provisional license is issued in accordance with the criteria
specified in Section 80030.

(@) (Reserved)

® @

2

3)

(s (D

2

“Rehabilitation” means the effort to reestablish good character since the date of the last
conviction, including, but not limited to, education, counseling or therapy, training, stable
employment, restitution, remorse, changes in lifestyle, or community service.

"Relative" means spouse, parent, stepparent, son, daughter, brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister,
half-brother, half-sister, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, first cousin or such person denoted by the
prefix "grand" or "great" or the spouse of any of the persons specified in this definition, even
after the marriage has been terminated by death or dissolution.

"Responsible person” means that individual or individuals, including a relative, health care
surrogate decision maker, or placement agency, who assists the client or prospective client in
placement or assumes varying degrees of responsibility for the client's well-being. A responsible
person cannot act on behalf of a client unless authorized by law.

"Serious Deficiency" means any deficiency that presents an immediate or substantial threat to the
physical health, mental health or safety of the clients of a community care facility.

“Simplified Exemption” means an exemption granted on the Department’s own motion, as
authorized in Health and Safety Code Section 1522(c)(4), if the individual's criminal history
meets specific criteria established by Department regulation.

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
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80001 (Cont.) GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS Regulations

80001

DEFINITIONS (Continued) 80001

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

(A) See Section 80051 and other applicable sections in Chapters 2 through 7 for examples of
violations which commonly result in serious deficiencies.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

| 3)

| )

| )
| (6)
| (7
| (8)
| ® (@

| @ (1

"Small Family Home" means any residential facility in the licensee's family residence providing
24-hour a day care for six or fewer children who are mentally disordered, developmentally
disabled or physically handicapped and who require special care and supervision as a result of
such disabilities.

"Social Rehabilitation Facility" means any facility which provides 24-hour-a-day nonmedical
care and supervision in a group setting to adults recovering from mental illness who temporarily
need assistance, guidance or counseling.

"Social Worker" means a person who has a graduate degree from an accredited school of social
work.

"SSI/SSP" means the Supplemental Security Income/State Supplemental Program which is a
federal/state program that provides financial assistance to aged, blind and/or disabled residents of
California.

"Substantial Compliance" means the absence of any serious deficiencies.

"Substantiated Complaint” means a complaint which has been investigated by the licensing
agency, and as a result, a violation of regulations has been found.

"Transfer Trauma" means the consequences of the stress and emotional shock caused by an
abrupt, involuntary relocation of a client or resident from one facility to another.

"Universal Precautions" means an approach to infection control that treats all human blood and
body fluids as if they are infectious. Generally, Universal Precautions consist of regular hand-
washing after coming into contact with another person's body fluids (mucous, saliva, urine, etc.)
and includes the use of gloves when handling blood or body fluids that contain blood.
Specifically, Universal Precautions consist of the following four basic infection guidelines:

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
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Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80019 (Cont.)

80019 CRIMINAL RECORD CLEARANCE (Continued) 80019

(¢c)  Prior to the Department issuing a license, the applicant, administrator and any adult other than a client,
residing in the facility shall obtain a California criminal record clearance or exemption as specified in
Health and Safety Code Section 1522(a)(5).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE
(1) Health and Safety Code Section 1522(a)(5) provides in part:

An applicant and any other person specified in subdivision (b) of the Health and Safety Code
Section 1522 shall submit a second set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice for the
purpose of searching the criminal records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in addition to
the criminal records search required by this subdivision. If an applicant and all other persons
described in subdivision (b) of Health and Safety Code Section 1522 meet all of the conditions
for licensure, except the receipt of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's criminal history
information for the applicant or any of the persons described in subdivision (b) of Health and
Safety Code Section 1522, the Department may issue a license if the applicant and each person
described in subdivision (b) of Health and Safety Code Section 1522 has signed and submitted a
statement that he or she has never been convicted of a crime in the United States, other than a
traffic infraction, as defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 42001 of the Vehicle
Code. If, after licensure, the Department determines that the licensee or person described in
subdivision (b) of Health and Safety Code Section 1522 has a criminal record, the license may be
revoked pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 1550. The Department may also suspend
the license pending as administrative hearing pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 1550.5.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(d)  All individuals subject to criminal record review shall be fingerprinted and sign a Criminal Record
Statement (LIC 508 [Rev. 1/03]) under penalty of perjury.

(1) A person signing the LIC 508 must:

(A) Declare whether he/she has been convicted of a crime, other than a minor traffic
violation as specified in Section 80019(i) regardless of whether the individual was
granted a pardon for the conviction, received an expungement pursuant to Penal Code
1203.4 or the individual’s record was sealed as a result of a court order.

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
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80019 (Cont.) GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS Regulations

80019 CRIMINAL RECORD CLEARANCE (Continued) 80019

(B) If convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation, provide information
regarding the conviction.

(2) Thelicensee shall submit these fingerprints to the California Department of Justice, along with a
second set of fingerprints for the purpose of searching the records of the Federal Bureau of
Investigation, or to comply with the requirements of Section 80019(e), prior to the individual's
employment, residence, or initial presence in the community care facility.

(A) Fingerprints shall be submitted to the California Department of Justice by the licensee,
or sent by electronic transmission to the California Department of Justice by a
fingerprinting entity approved by the Department.

(e) All individuals subject to a criminal record review pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 1522
shall prior to working, residing or volunteering in a licensed facility:

(1)  Obtain a California clearance or a criminal record exemption as required by the Department or

(2) Request a transfer of a criminal record clearance as specified in Section 80019(f) or

(3) Request and be approved for a transfer of a criminal record exemption, as specified in Section
80019.1(r), unless, upon request for the transfer, the Department permits the individual to be
employed, reside or be present at the facility.

(f)  Alicensee or applicant for a license may request a transfer of a criminal record clearance from one state
licensed facility to another, or from TrustLine to a state licensed facility by providing the following
documents to the Department:

(1) A signed Criminal Background Clearance Transfer Request, LIC 9182 (Rev. 4/02).
(2) A copy of the individual's:
(A) Driver's license, or

(B) Valid identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, or

©) Valid photo identification issued by another state or the United States government if the
individual is not a California resident.

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
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Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80019 (Cont.)

80019 CRIMINAL RECORD CLEARANCE (Continued) 80019

HANDBOOK CONTINUES
(6)  Section 368 of the Penal Code provides:

(A) Any person who, under circumstances or conditions likely to produce great bodily harm
or death, willfully causes or permits any elder or dependent adult, with knowledge that
he or she is an elder or a dependent adult, to suffer, or inflicts thereon unjustifiable
physical pain or mental suffering, or having the care or custody of any elder or
dependent adult, willfully causes or permits the person or health of the elder or
dependent adult to be injured, or willfully causes or permits the elder or dependent adult
to be placed in a situation such that his or her person or health is endangered, is
punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding one year, or in the state
prison for two, three, or four years.

(B) Any person who, under circumstances or conditions other than those likely to produce
great bodily harm or death, willfully causes or permits any elder or dependent adult, with
knowledge that he or she is an elder or a dependent adult, to suffer, or inflicts thereon
unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or having the care or custody of any elder
or dependent adult, willfully causes or permits the person or health of the elder or
dependent adult to be injured or willfully causes or permits the elder or dependent adult
to be placed in a situation such that his or her person or health may be endangered, is
guilty of a misdemeanor.

(7)  Section 1522(c) of the Health and Safety Code provides in part:

If the conviction or arrest was for another crime, except a minor traffic violation, the licensee
shall, upon notification by the California Department of Social Services, act immediately to
either (1) terminate the person's employment, remove the person from the community care
facility, or bar the person from entering the community care facility; or (2) seek an exemption
pursuant to subdivision (f). The California Department of Social Services shall determine if the
person shall be allowed to remain in the facility until a decision on the exemption is rendered.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE
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80019 (Cont.) GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS Regulations

80019 CRIMINAL RECORD CLEARANCE (Continued) 80019

(k)  The licensee shall maintain documentation of criminal record clearances or criminal record exemptions
of employees in the individual's personnel file as required in Section 80066.

(1)  The licensee shall maintain documentation of criminal record clearances or criminal record exemptions
of volunteers that require fingerprinting and non-client adults residing in the facility.

(1) Documentation shall be available for inspection by the Department.

(m) The Department may seek verification from a law enforcement agency or court of an individual’s
criminal record as reported to the Department from any member of the public or affected individual.

(1)  Upon obtaining confirmation from a law enforcement agency or court of the offense, the
Department shall proceed as if this criminal record information was provided by the California
Department of Justice.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 1530, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 1503.5, 1505, 1508,
1522, 1531 1533, 1538, 1540, 1540.1, 1541, 1547, 1549, and 14564, Health and Safety Code.
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Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80019.1 (Cont.)

80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION 80019.1
(a) The Department will notify a licensee to act immediately to remove from the facility or bar from
entering the facility any person described in Sections 80019.1(a)(1) through (5) below while the
Department considers granting or denying an exemption. Upon notification, the licensee shall
comply with the notice.
@8 Any person who has been convicted of, or is awaiting trial for, a sex offense against a minor;
2) Any person who has been convicted of a felony;
3) Any person who has been convicted of an offense specified in Sections 243.4, 273a, 273d,
273g, or 368 of the Penal Code or any other crime specified in Health and Safety Code
Section 1522(c)(3);
@) Any person who has been convicted of any crime specified below:
(A) Battery
(B) Shooting at Inhabited Dwelling
©) Corporal Injury on Spouse/Cohabitant
(D) Discharging Firearm with Gross Negligence
(E) Exhibiting Weapon/Firearm
(F) Threat to Commit a Crime Resulting in Gross Bodily Injury or Death
(G) Criminal Threat to Harm or Injure Another Person
(H) Cruelty to Animals
@ Willful Harm or Injury to Child; or
5) Any other person ordered to be removed by the Department.
(b) In addition to the requirements of Section 80019.1(a), the licensee must return the confirmation of

removal form that is sent by the Department, within five (5) days of the date of the form, that
confirms under penalty of perjury that the individual has been removed from the facility.
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80019.1 (Cont.) GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS Regulations

80019.1

(©)

(1

CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1

Confirmation must be made on either a Removal Confirmation — Exemption Needed, LIC
300A (Rev. 9/03), Removal Confirmation - Denial, LIC 300B (Rev. 9/03), Removal
Confirmation - Rescinded, LIC 300C (Rev. 9/03), or Removal Confirmation —
Nonexemptible, LIC 300D (Rev. 9/03).

After a review of the criminal record transcript, the Department may grant an exemption if:

(M
2

3)

“)

The applicant/licensee requests an exemption in writing for himself or herself, or

The applicant/licensee requests an exemption in writing for an individual associated with the
facility, or

The applicant/licensee chooses not to seek an exemption on the affected individual's behalf, the
affected individual requests an individual exemption in writing, and

The affected individual presents substantial and convincing evidence satisfactory to the
Department that he/she has been rehabilitated and presently is of such good character as to justify
being issued or maintaining a license, employment, presence, or residence in a licensed facility.

(d) To request a criminal record exemption, a licensee or license applicant must submit information that
indicates that the individual meets the requirements of Section 80019.1(c)(4). The Department will
send a written notice to the licensee or license applicant that lists the information that must be
submitted to request a criminal record exemption. The information must be submitted within forty five
(45) days of the date of the Department's notice.

(1) Individuals who submit a criminal record exemption request shall cooperate with the Department
by providing any information requested by the Department, including, but not limited to, police
reports and certified court documents to process the exemption request, pursuant to Section
80019.1(e).

(2) Ifthe individual for whom the criminal record exemption is requested is an employee or resident
other than a spouse or a dependent family member and the licensee/license applicant does not
submit the information listed in the Department’s written notice within 45 days of the date of the
notice, the Department may cease processing the exemption request and close the case.

(3) Ifthe individual for whom the criminal record exemption is requested is an applicant, licensee,
spouse or dependent family member and the licensee/license applicant does not submit the
information listed in the Department’s written notice within 45 days of the date of the notice, the
Department may deny the exemption request.
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80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1
(4)  Except for certified foster parents, individuals may request a criminal record exemption on their

own behalf if the licensee or license applicant:
(A) Chooses not to request the exemption and
(B) Terminates the individual’s employment because of the individual’s criminal history, or

©) Removes the individual who resides in the facility because of the individual’s criminal
history.

(¢) The Department shall consider factors including, but not limited to, the following as evidence of good
character and rehabilitation:

(1)  The nature of the crime including, but not limited to, whether it involved violence or a threat of
violence to others.
(2) Period of time since the crime was committed and number of offenses.
(3) Circumstances surrounding the commission of the crime that would demonstrate the unlikelihood
of repetition.
(4) Activities since conviction, including employment or participation in therapy or education, that
would indicate changed behavior.
(5) Granting by the Governor of a full and unconditional pardon.
(6) Character references.
(A) All character references shall be on a Reference Request form (LIC 301E — Exemptions
[Rev. 7/03]).
(7) A certificate of rehabilitation from a superior court.
(8) Evidence of honesty and truthfulness as revealed in exemption application documents.
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80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1

(A) Documents include, but are not limited to:

1. A Criminal Record Statement (LIC 508, [Rev. 1/03]) or for Foster Family
Homes, Small Family Homes and Certified Family Homes an LIC 508D [Rev.
1/03]) and

2. The individual's written statement/explanation of the conviction and the

circumstances about the arrest.

(9) Evidence of honesty and truthfulness as revealed in exemption application interviews and
conversations with the Department.

(f)  The Department shall also consider the following factors in evaluating a request for an exemption:
(1) Facility and type of association.

(2) The individual’s age at the time the crime was committed.
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Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80019.1 (Cont.)

80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1
(g) The Department may deny an exemption request if:

(1) The licensee and/or the affected individual fails to provide documents requested by the
Department, or

(2) The licensee and/or the affected individual fails to cooperate with the Department in the
exemption process.

(h) The reasons for any exemption granted or denied shall be in writing and kept by the Department.

(i)  The Department has the authority to grant a criminal record exemption that places conditions on the
individual's continued licensure, and employment or presence in a licensed facility.

) It shall be conclusive evidence that the individual is not of such good character as to justify issuance
of an exemption if the individual:

1 Makes a knowingly false or misleading statement regarding:
gly g g
(A) Material relevant to their application for a criminal record clearance or exemption,
(B) His or her criminal record clearance or exemption status to obtain employment or
permission to be present in a licensed facility, after the Department has ordered that

they be excluded from any or all licensed facilities, or

©) His or her criminal record clearance or exemption status in order to obtain a position
with duties that are prohibited to him/her by a conditional exemption; or

2) Is on probation or parole.
(A) If the individual is currently on probation, and provides sufficient proof that the
probationary period(s) is informal, unsupervised and no probation officer is
assigned, the Department may, in its discretion, grant a criminal record exemption

notwithstanding Section 80019.1(j)(2).

(B) Section 80019.1(j)(2) does not apply to Certified Family Homes.
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80019.1 (Cont.) GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS Regulations

80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1

&) The Department shall consider granting a criminal record exemption if the individual’s criminal
history meets all of the applicable criteria specified in Sections 80019.1(k)(1) through (6) and the
individual provides the Department with substantial and convincing evidence of good character as
specified in Section 80019.1(c)(4). For purposes of this section, a violent crime is a crime that, upon
evaluation of the code section violated or the reports regarding the underlying offense, presents a risk
of harm or violence.

(D The individual has been convicted of one nonviolent misdemeanor, and one year has lapsed
since completing the most recent period of incarceration or probation.

2) The individual has been convicted of two or more nonviolent misdemeanors and four
consecutive years have lapsed since completing the most recent period of incarceration,
probation or parole, whichever is latest.

3) The individual has been convicted of one or more violent misdemeanors and 15 consecutive
years have lapsed since completing the most recent period of incarceration, probation or
parole, whichever is latest.

@) The individual has been convicted of one nonviolent felony and four consecutive years have
lapsed since completing the most recent period of incarceration, probation or parole,
whichever is latest.

(5) The individual has been convicted of two or more nonviolent felonies and ten consecutive
years have lapsed since completing the most recent period of incarceration, probation or
parole, whichever is latest.

(6) The individual has not been convicted of a violent felony.

(7 If the individual is currently on probation, and provides sufficient proof that the probationary
period(s) is informal, unsupervised and no probation officer is assigned, the period of lapsed
time required in Sections 80019.1(k)(1) through (5) above shall begin from the last date of
conviction(s).

Q)] It shall be a rebuttable presumption that an individual is not of such good character as to justify the
issuance of an exemption if the individual fails to meet the requirements specified in Sections
80019.1(k)(1) through (6).

(m) The Department shall not grant an exemption if the individual has a conviction for any offense
specified in Section 1522(g)(1) of the Health and Safety Code.
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Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80019.1 (Cont.)

80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

Health and Safety Code Section 1522(g)(1) provides that no exemption shall be granted if an
individual has been convicted of any of the following offenses:

(D) Penal Code Sections 136.1 and 186.22 — Gang related/Intimidation of witnesses or victims.

2) Penal Code Sections 187, 190 through 190.4 and 192(a) — Any murder/Attempted
murder/Voluntary manslaughter.

3) Penal Code Section 203 — Any mayhem.

4) Penal Code Section 206 - Felony torture.

®)] Penal Code Sections 207, 208, 209, 209.5, 210 — Kidnapping.
(6) Penal Code Sections 211, 212.5, 213, 214 — Any robbery.

@) Penal Code Section 215 — Carjacking.

®) Penal Code Section 220 — Assault with intent to commit mayhem, rape, sodomy or oral
copulation.

9 Penal Code Section 243.4 — Sexual battery.

(10)  Penal Code Section 261(a), (a)(1), (2), (3), (4) or (6) — Rape.
(11)  Penal Code Section 262(a)(1) or (4) — Rape of a spouse.
(12)  Penal Code Section 264.1 — Rape in concert.

(13)  Penal Code Section 266 — Enticing a minor into prostitution.

(14)  Penal Code Section 266c — Induce to sexual intercourse, etc. by fear or consent through
fraud.

(15)  Penal Code Section 266h(b) — Pimping a minor.
(16)  Penal Code Section 266i(b) — Pandering a minor.

HANDBOOK CONTINUES
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80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1

HANDBOOK CONTINUES
(17)  Penal Code Section 266j — Providing a minor under 16 for lewd or lascivious act.
(18)  Penal Code Section 267 — Abduction for prostitution.
(19)  Penal Code Section 269 — Aggravated assault of a child.

(20)  Penal Code Section 272 — Contributing to the delinquency of a minor (must involve lewd or
lascivious conduct).

(21)  Penal Code Section 273a(a) [or 273a(1) if the conviction was prior to January 1, 1994] —
Willfully causing or permitting any child to suffer under circumstances or conditions likely

to produce great bodily harm or death.

(22)  Penal Code Section 273d — Willfully inflicting any cruel or inhuman corporal punishment or
injury on a child.

(23)  Penal Code Section 285 — Incest.

(24)  Penal Code Section 286 — Sodomy.

(25)  Penal Code Section 288 — Lewd or lascivious act upon a child under 14.

(26)  Penal Code Section 288a — Oral copulation.

(27)  Penal Code Section 288.2 — Felony conviction for distributing lewd material to children.
(28)  Penal Code Section 288.5(a) — Continuous sexual abuse of a child.

(29)  Penal Code Section 289 — Genital or anal penetration or abuse by any foreign or unknown
object.

(30)  Penal Code Section 290(a) — All crimes for which one must register as a sex offender
including attempts and not guilty by insanity.

(31)  Penal Code Section 311.2(b), (c) or (d) — Transporting or distributing child-related
pornography.

(32)  Penal Code Section 311.3 — Sexual exploitation of a child.

HANDBOOK CONTINUES
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Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80019.1 (Cont.)
80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1
HANDBOOK CONTINUES
(33)  Penal Code Section 311.4 — Using a minor to assist in making or distributing child

pornography.
(34)  Penal Code Section 311.10 — Advertising or distributing child pornography.
(35)  Penal Code Section 311.11 — Possessing child pornography.
(36)  Penal Code Section 314 paragraphs 1 or 2 — Lewd or obscene exposure of private parts.
(37)  Penal Code Section 347(a) — Poisoning or adulterating food, drink, medicine, pharmaceutical
products, spring, well, reservoir or public water supply.
(38)  Penal Code Section 368 — Elder or dependent adult abuse.
(39)  Penal Code Section 417(b) — Drawing, exhibiting or using a loaded firearm.
(40)  Penal Code Section 451(a) or (b) — Arson.
(41)  Penal Code Section 460(a) — First degree burglary if it is charged and proved that a non-
accomplice was present in the residence during the burglary.
(42)  Penal Code Sections 186.22 and 518 — Gang related/Extortion.
(43)  Penal Code Section 647.6 or prior to 1988 former Section 647a — Annoy or molest a child
under 18.
(44)  Penal Code Section 653f(c) — Solicit another to commit rape, sodomy, etc.
(45)  Penal Code Sections 664/187 — Any attempted murder.
(46) * Penal Code Section 667.5(c)(7) — Any felony punishable by death or imprisonment in the
state prison for life.
(47) * Penal Code Section 667.5(c)(8) — Enhancement for any felony which inflicts great bodily
injury.
HANDBOOK CONTINUES
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80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1

HANDBOOK CONTINUES
(48)  Penal Code Section 667.5(¢c)(13) — Enhancement for violation of Penal Code Section 12308,
12309 or 12310 — Exploding or igniting or attempting to explode or ignite any destructive

device or explosive with intent to commit murder.

(49)  Penal Code Section 667.5(c)(14) - Any kidnapping — Penal Code Sections 207, 208, 209,
209.5 and 210.

(50)  Penal Code Section 667.5(c)(22) - Any violation of Penal Code Section 12022.53 —
Enhancement for listed felonies where use of a firearm.

(51)  Penal Code Section 667.5(¢c)(23) — Use of weapon of mass destruction.

(52)  Business and Professions Code Section 729 — Felony sexual exploitation by a physician,
psychotherapist, counselor, etc.

* See Health and Safety Code Section 1522(g)(1) for exception.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(n) The Department shall consider granting a simplified criminal record exemption only if the individual
has the criminal history profile outlined in Sections 80019.1(n)(1) through (4) below:

(D The individual does not have a demonstrated pattern of criminal activity;
2) The individual has no more than one conviction;
3) The conviction is a misdemeanor and is a crime that is nonviolent and does not pose a risk of

harm to an individual; and

4) It has been at least five consecutive years since the completion of the most recent period of
incarceration or supervised probation.

(0) At the Department’s discretion, an individual who is otherwise eligible for a simplified exemption
may be required to go through the standard exemption process if the Department determines such
action will help to protect the health and safety of clients.

| (p) If the Department denies or cannot grant a criminal record exemption the Department shall:

| (D For initial applicants, deny the application.

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
MANUAL LETTER NO. CCL-03-04 Effective 7/16/03
Page 44.7




Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80019.1 (Cont.)

80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1

2) For current licensees, the Department may institute an administrative action, including, but
not limited to, revocation of the license.

3) For current employees, exclude the affected individual pursuant to Health and Safety Code
Section 1558, deny the application or revoke the license, if the individual continues to
provide services and/or reside at the facility.

@) For individuals residing in the facility or the licensee, exclude the affected individual
pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 1558, deny the application or revoke the license,
if the individual continues to provide services and/or reside at the facility.

) If a request for an exemption has been denied, the individual shall be excluded for a period of two
years unless the individual has been convicted of a crime for which no exemption may be granted
pursuant to Section 80019.1(m). If a request for an exemption has been denied based on a conviction
of a crime for which no exemption may be granted, the individual shall be excluded for the remainder
of the individual’s life.

(D If the Department determines during the review of an exemption request, that the individual
was denied an exemption for a conviction of a crime for which an exemption may be granted
within the preceding two years, the Department shall cease any further review of the request
until two years have elapsed from the date of the denial. In cases where the individual
requested a hearing on an exemption denial, the Department shall cease review of the request
for an exemption until two years from the effective date of the decision and order of the
Department upholding the denial. In cases where the individual submitted a petition for
reinstatement or reduction in penalty pursuant to Government Code Section 11522 that was
denied, the Department shall cease review of the request for an exemption until two years
from the effective date of the decision and order of the Department denying the petition.

2) An exclusion order based solely upon a denied exemption shall remain in effect and the
individual shall not be employed in or present in a licensed facility or certified home, unless
either a petition or an exemption is granted.

3) If an individual who has previously been denied an exemption re-applies after the relevant
time period described in Section 80019.1(q)(1) above, the Department may, according to the
provisions in Section 80019.1 et seq., grant or deny the subsequent request for an exemption.
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80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1

@) If an individual submits a petition pursuant to Government Code Section 11522 for
reinstatement or reduction of penalty for an exclusion, an individual must submit his/her
fingerprints through an electronic fingerprinting system approved by the Department and
submit to the Department a statement of the reason why the individual should be permitted to
work or be present in a facility, along with all information required of an individual
requesting a criminal record exemption as provided in Section 80019.1. Ifit is determined,
based upon information provided by the Department of Justice, that the individual has been
convicted of a crime for which no exemption may be granted, the petition shall be denied.
An individual’s failure to submit fingerprints or other information as requested by the
Department, shall be grounds for denial of the petition. The burden shall be on the petitioner
to prove sufficient rehabilitation and good character to justify the granting of the petition.

(r) A licensee or applicant for a license may request a transfer of a criminal record exemption from one
state licensed facility to another by providing the following documents to the Department:

(D A signed Criminal Record Exemption Transfer Request, LIC 9188 (Rev. 9/03).
2) A copy of the individual’s:

(A) Driver’s license, or

(B) Valid identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, or

©) Valid photo identification issued by another state or the United States Government if
the individual is not a California resident.

3) Any other documentation required by the Department (e.g., Criminal Record Statement - LIC
508, [Rev.1/03] or for Foster Family Homes, Small Family Homes and Certified Family
Homes an LIC 508D [Rev. 1/03] and job description).

(s) The Department may consider factors including, but not limited to, the following in determining
whether or not to approve an exemption transfer:

(D) The basis on which the Department granted the exemption;
2) The nature and frequency of client contact in the new position;
3) The category of facility where the individual wishes to transfer;

4 The type of clients in the facility where the individual wishes to transfer;
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80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1

(5) Whether the exemption was appropriately evaluated and granted in accordance with existing
exemption laws or regulations; or

(6) Whether the exemption meets current exemption laws or regulations.

(t) If the Department denies the individual's request to transfer a criminal record exemption, the
Department shall provide the individual and the licensee with written notification that states the
Department’s decision and informs the affected individual of their right to an administrative hearing
to contest the Department’s decision.

(u) At the Department’s discretion, an exemption may be rescinded if it is determined that:
(D The exemption was granted in error, or
2) The exemption does not meet current exemption laws or regulations, or
3) The conviction for which an exemption was granted subsequently becomes non-exemptible
by law.
v) The Department may rescind an individual’s criminal record exemption if the Department obtains

evidence showing that the individual engaged in conduct that is inconsistent with the good character
requirement of a criminal record exemption, as evidenced by factors including, but not limited to, the
following:

@8 Violations of licensing laws or regulations;

2) Any conduct by the individual that indicates that the individual may pose a risk to the health
and safety of any individual who is or may be a client;

3) Nondisclosure of a conviction or evidence of lack of rehabilitation that the individual failed
to disclose to the Department, even if it occurred before the exemption was issued; or

4) The individual is convicted of a subsequent crime.
(w) If the Department rescinds an exemption the Department shall:
@) Notify the licensee and the affected individual in writing; and

2) Initiate an administrative action.
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80019.1 CRIMINAL RECORD EXEMPTION (Continued) 80019.1

x) If the Department learns that an individual with a criminal record clearance or exemption has been
convicted of a subsequent crime, the Department, at its sole discretion, may immediately initiate an
administrative action to protect the health and safety of clients.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1522 and 1530, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 1522, 1531,
and 14564, Health and Safety Code.

80019.2 CHILD ABUSE CENTRAL INDEX 80019.2

(a) Priortoissuing a license to care for children, the Department shall conduct a Child Abuse Central Index
(CACI) review pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 1522.1 and Penal Code Section
11170(b)(3). The Department shall check the CACI for the applicant(s), and all individuals subject to a
criminal record review, pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 1522(b) and shall approve or deny
a facility license, employment, residence or presence in the facility based on the results of the review.

(1) The applicant shall submit the Child Abuse Central Index check (LIC 198A [3/99] which is
incorporated by reference, for state licensed facilities and LIC 198 [4/99] which is incorporated
by reference, for county licensed facilities) for all individuals required to be checked, directly to
the California Department of Justice at the same time that the individual's fingerprints are
submitted for a criminal background check as required by Section 80019(c).

(A) Individuals who have submitted the Child Abuse Central Index check (LIC 198A) with
fingerprints on or after January 1, 1999 need not submit a new check if the individual

can transfer their criminal record clearance or exemption pursuant to Section 80091(e) or
Section 80019.1(f).

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
MANUAL LETTER NO. CCL-04-13 Effective 8/20/04

Page 45.1




Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80019.2

80019.2 CHILD ABUSE CENTRAL INDEX (Continued) 80019.2

(2) The Department shall investigate any reports received from the CACI. The investigation shall
include, but not be limited to, the review of the investigation report and file prepared by the child
protection agency that investigated the child abuse report. The Department shall not deny a
license based upon a report from the CACI unless the Department substantiates the allegation of
child abuse.

(b)  Subsequent to licensure, all individuals subject to a criminal record review, pursuant to Health and
Safety Code Section 1522(b), shall complete a Child Abuse Central Index check (LIC 198A [3/99]),
prior to employment, residence or initial presence in the facility that cares for children.

(1)  The licensee shall submit the Child Abuse Central Index checks (LIC 198A [3/99]), directly to
the California Department of Justice at the same time that the individual's fingerprints are
submitted for a criminal background check as required by Section 80019(d).

(A) Individuals who have submitted the Child Abuse Central Index check (LIC 198A) with
fingerprints on or after January 1, 1999 need not submit a new check if the individual
can transfer their criminal record clearance or exemption pursuant to Section 80019(e) or
Section 80019.1(f).

(2) The Department shall check the CACI pursuant to Penal Code Section 11170(b)(3), and shall
investigate any reports received from the CACI. The investigation shall include, but not be
limited to, the review of the investigation report and file prepared by the child protective agency
that investigated the child abuse report. The Department shall not deny a license or take any
other administrative action based upon a report from the CACI unless the Department
substantiates the allegation of child abuse.

(3) The Department shall investigate any subsequent reports received from the CACI. The
investigation shall include, but not be limited to, the review of the investigation report and file
prepared by the child protective agency that investigated the child abuse report. The Department
shall not revoke a license or take any other administrative action based upon a report from the
CACTI unless the Department substantiates the allegation of child abuse.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 1530, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 1521, 1522, 1522.04,
1531, and 14564, Health and Safety Code.
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80020 FIRE CLEARANCE 80020

(a)  All facilities shall secure and maintain a fire clearance approved by the city or county fire department,
the district providing fire protection services, or the State Fire Marshal.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE
(1) The request for fire clearance shall be made through and maintained by the licensing agency.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(b) The applicant shall notify the licensing agency if the facility plans to admit any of the following
categories of clients so that an appropriate fire clearance, approved by the city or county, fire
department, the district providing fire protection services, or the State Fire Marshal, can be obtained
prior to the acceptance of such clients:

(1)  Persons 65 years of age and over.

(2) Persons who are nonambulatory, as defined in Section 80001n.(1).

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE
(A) Persons who use postural supports pursuant to Section 80072(a)(8) are nonambulatory.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 1530, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 1501, 1520, 1528 and
1531, Health and Safety Code.

80021 WATER SUPPLY CLEARANCE 80021

(a)  All community care facilities where water for human consumption is from a private source shall meet
the following requirements:

(1)  Asacondition of initial licensure, the applicant shall provide evidence of an on-site inspection of
the source of the water and a bacteriological analysis which establishes the safety of the water,
conducted by the local health department, the State Department of Health Services or a licensed
commercial laboratory.
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80053 FOLLOW-UP VISITS TO DETERMINE COMPLIANCE 80053

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

A follow-up visit shall be conducted to determine compliance with the plan of correction specified in
the notice of deficiency.

(1) Ataminimum, a follow-up visit shall be conducted within ten working days following the dates
of corrections specified in the notice of deficiency, unless the licensee has demonstrated that the

deficiency was corrected as required.

(2) No penalty shall be assessed unless a follow-up visit is conducted as specified in (a) and (a)(1)
above.

If a follow-up visit indicates that a deficiency was not corrected on or before the date specified in the
notice of deficiency, the evaluator shall issue a notice of penalty.

A notice of penalty shall be in writing and shall include:
(1) The amount of penalty assessed, and the date the payment is due.
(2) The name and address of the agency responsible for collection of the penalty.

When an immediate penalty has been assessed pursuant to Sections 80054(c), (d), (e¢) and (f) and
correction is made when the evaluator is present, a follow-up visit is not required.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 1530 and 1548, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 1533, 1534
and 1548, Health and Safety Code.

80054 PENALTIES 80054

(a)

(b)

A penalty of $50 per day, per cited violation, shall be assessed for serious deficiencies that are not
corrected by the date specified in the notice of deficiency, up to a maximum of $150 per day.

Notwithstanding Section 80054(a) above, an immediate penalty of $100 per cited violation shall be
assessed if any individual required to be fingerprinted under Health and Safety Code Section 1522(b)
has not obtained a California clearance or a criminal record exemption, requested a transfer of a
criminal record clearance or requested and be approved for a transfer of an exemption as specified in
Section 80019(e) prior to the individual’s employment, residence or initial presence in the facility.

(1)  The Department may assess civil penalties for continued violations as permitted by Health and
Safety Code Section 1522.
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80054 PENALTIES (Continued) 80054
(2) Progressive civil penalties specified in Sections 80054(d) and (e) below shall not apply.

(¢) Notwithstanding Section 80054(a) above, an immediate penalty of $150 per day shall be assessed for
any of the following:

(1)  Sickness, injury or death of a client has occurred as a result of the deficiency.

(d)  When a facility is cited for a deficiency and violates the same regulation subsection within a 12-month
period, the facility shall be cited and an immediate penalty assessment of $150 per cited violation shall
be assessed for one day only. Thereafter a penalty of $50 per day, per cited violation, shall be assessed
until the deficiency is corrected.

(¢)  When a facility, that was cited for a deficiency subject to the immediate penalty assessment in Section
80054(d) above, violates the same regulation subsection within a 12-month period of the last violation,
the facility shall be cited and an immediate penalty of $150 per cited violation shall be assessed for one
day only. Thereafter, a penalty of $150 per day, per cited violation, shall be assessed until the
deficiency is corrected.

(1)  For purposes of Sections 80054(d) and (e) above, a regulation subsection is the regulation
denoted by a lower-case letter after the main regulation number.

HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE

An example of the same regulation subsections are Sections 87218(a)(2) and 87218(a)(5).
Sections 87218(a) and 87218(b) are not the same regulation subsection.

HANDBOOK ENDS HERE

(f) If any deficiency is not corrected by the date specified in the notice of deficiency, a penalty shall be
assessed for each day following that date until compliance has been demonstrated.

(1) Immediate penalty assessment as specified in (c), (d) and (e) above, shall begin on the day the
deficiency is cited.

(g) If a licensee or his/her representative reports to the licensing agency that a deficiency has been
corrected, the penalty shall cease as of the day the licensing agency receives notification that the
correction was made.
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80065 PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS (Continued) 80065

(e)

¢

The licensee shall provide for direct supervision of clients during participation in or presence at
potentially dangerous activities or areas in the facility.

(1)  An adult other than a client shall be present at all times while clients are using a pool or other
body of water from which rescue requires the rescuer's ability to swim.

(2)  Adults who supervise while clients are using a pool or other body of water from which rescue
requires the rescuer's ability to swim, shall have a valid water safety certificate.

All personnel shall be given on-the-job training or shall have related experience which provides
knowledge of and skill in the following areas, as appropriate to the job assigned and as evidenced by
safe and effective job performance.
(1)  Principles of nutrition, food preparation and storage and menu planning.
(2) Housekeeping and sanitation principles.
(3) Provision of client care and supervision, including communication.
(4) Assistance with prescribed medications which are self-administered.
(5) Recognition of early signs of illness and the need for professional assistance.
(6) Availability of community services and resources.
(7)  For adult CCFs, Universal Precautions as defined in Section 80001 (u)(1).
(A) Training in Universal Precautions may be provided in the facility or staff may attend

training provided by a local health facility, county health department, or other local
training resources.

(g) Allpersonnel, including the licensee, administrator and volunteers, shall be in good health, and shall be
physically, mentally, and occupationally capable of performing assigned tasks.

(1)  Except as specified in (3) below, good physical health shall be verified by a health screening,
including a test for tuberculosis, performed by or under the supervision of a physician not more
than one year prior to or seven days after employment or licensure.
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80065 PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS (Continued) 80065

(2) A health screening report signed by the person performing such screening shall be made on each
person specified above, and shall indicate the following:

(A) The person's physical qualifications to perform the duties to be assigned.

(B) The presence of any health condition that would create a hazard to the person, clients or
other staff members.

(3) The good physical health of each volunteer who works in the facility shall be verified by:
(A) A statement signed by each volunteer affirming that he/she is in good health.

(B) A test for tuberculosis performed not more than one year prior to or seven days after
initial presence in the facility.

(h)  Personnel with evidence of physical illness that poses a threat to the health and safety of clients shall be
relieved of their duties.

(i)  Prior to employment or initial presence in the facility, all employees and volunteers subject to a
criminal record review shall:

(1)  Obtain a California clearance or a criminal record exemption as required by law or Department
regulations or

(2) Request a transfer of a criminal record clearance as specified in Section 80019(f) or

(3) Request and be approved for a transfer of a criminal record exemption, as specified in Section
80019.1(r), unless, upon request for the transfer, the Department permits the individual to be
employed, reside or be present at the facility.

(j)  Clients shall not be used as substitutes for required staff but shall be permitted, as a voluntary part of
their program of activities, to participate in household duties and other tasks suited to the client's needs
and abilities.

(1)  Such duties and tasks shall be specified in the client's needs and services plan as specified in
Chapters 2, 4, 5 and 6.

CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-CCL
MANUAL LETTER NO. CCL-04-13 Effective 8/20/04
Page 102




Regulations GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 80066 (Cont.)

80065 PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS (Continued) 80065

(k)  When regular staff members are absent, there shall be coverage by personnel capable of performing
assigned tasks as evidenced by on-the-job performance.

(I)  Personnel shall provide for the care and safety of persons without physical or verbal abuse, exploitation
or prejudice.

(m) All personnel shall be instructed to report observations or evidence of violations of any of the personal
rights specified in Section 80072 and/or any of the personal rights provisions of Chapters 2 through 7.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 1530, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 5453 and 5458,
Welfare and Institutions Code; Sections 1501, 1502(a)(7), 1522, 1531 and 1562, Health and Safety Code;
and Section 42001, Vehicle Code.

80066 PERSONNEL RECORDS 80066

| (a)  Personnel records shall be maintained on the licensee, administrator and each employee, and shall
contain the following information:

(1) Employee's full name.

(2) Driver's license number if the employee is to transport clients.

(3) Date of employment.

(4) A statement signed by the employee that he/she is at least 18 years of age.
(5) Home address and phone number.

(6) Documentation of the educational background, training and/or experience specified in Chapters 2
through 7.

(7)  Past experience, including types of employment and former employers.
(8) Duties of the employee.

(9) Termination date if no longer employed by the facility.
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80066 PERSONNEL RECORDS (Continued) 80066
(10) A health screening specified in Section 80065(g).
(11) Tuberculosis test documents as specified in Section 80065(g).
(12) For employees that are required to be fingerprinted pursuant to Section 80019:

(A) A signed statement regarding their criminal record history as required by Section
80019(d).

(B) Documentation of either a criminal record clearance or exemption as required by Section
80019(e).

1. For Certified Administrators, a copy of their current and valid Administrator
Certification meets this requirement.

(b)  Personnel records shall be maintained for all volunteers and shall contain the following:
(1) A health statement as specified in Section 80065(g)(3).
(2) Tuberculosis test documents as specified in Section 80065(g).
(3) For volunteers that are required to be fingerprinted pursuant to Section 80019:

(A) A signed statement regarding their criminal record history as required by Section
80019(d).

(B) Documentation of either a criminal record clearance or exemption as required by Section
80019(e).

(¢)  All personnel records shall be retained for at least three years following termination of employment.

(d)  All personnel records shall be maintained at the facility site and shall be available to the licensing
agency for review.

(1) The licensee shall be permitted to retain such records in a central administrative location
provided that they are readily available to the licensing agency at the facility site upon request.

(e) Inall cases, personnel records shall document the hours actually worked.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 1530, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 1501 and 1531, Health
and Safety Code.
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