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Regulations Package # 0306-01 Effective 7/30/07 
 
Sections 47-201 and 47-401 
 
This manual letter has been posted on the Office of Regulations Development website 
at http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/Eligibilit_617.htm. 
 
These regulations implement and make specific Senate Bill (SB) 68, Chapter 78, 
Statutes of 2005 which amended Section 8263.4 of the Education Code which states 
that the preferred placement of 11- or 12-year-old children is in a before or after school 
program.   
 
These regulations also implement SB 1104, Chapter 229, Statutes of 2004, which 
amended Sections 8263(b)(1) and (f) of the Education Code that state that a family 
receiving subsidized child care on the basis of a child receiving child protective services 
can receive child care services and an exemption from family fees for up to 12 months.  
These regulations place time limits on the exemption from family fees for families with 
children at risk of abuse, neglect, and exploitation and for families with children 
receiving child protective services. 
 
These regulations change the maximum reimbursement rate to no more than 85 
percent of the rates charged by providers offering the same type of child care for the 
same age child in that region.  The amendments are consistent with the California 
Department of Education (CDE) as required by the Budget Act of 2003, Chapter 157, 
Statutes of 2003, Item 6110-196-0001, Provisions 7(b) and (c). 
 
These regulations eliminate the county option by requiring counties to reimburse 
providers for an ill child and for other excused absences as specified in Education Code 
Section 8208(e). 
 
Education Code Section 8263(f) requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to 
establish the family fee schedule.  Education Code Section 8447(e) requires the CDE to 
adjust the family fee schedule annually.  For clarity and ease of use, the regulations 
make a nonsubstantive change in a handbook section by replacing the September 2000 
family fee schedule with a reference to the regulations that support the provision which 
are found in the California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Division 1, Chapter 19, 
Subchapter 3, Article 5. 



These regulations were considered at the Department's public hearing held on 
August 16. 2006. 
 
 FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 
Revisions to all manuals are shown in graphic screen.  The attached pages are to 
be entered in your copy of the Manual of Policies and Procedures.  The latest prior 
manual letter containing EAS changes was EAS-07-01. 
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 CALWORKS CHILD CARE 
Regulations STAGE ONE CHILD CARE ELIGIBILITY 47-201 (Cont.)  
 
CHAPTER 47-200  STAGE ONE CHILD CARE ELIGIBILITY 
 
47-201 ELIGIBLE CHILDREN   47-201 
 
.1 Eligible Child     A child that is eligible to receive Stage One child 

care services shall: 
 

.11 Assistance Unit Members  Be a member of the assistance unit; or would be a 
member of the assistance unit but for the receipt of 
foster care benefits or Supplemental Security 
Income/State Supplemental Program (SSI/SSP) 
benefits; or be the child of a Cal-Learn Participant; 
or be a member of a family with a former 
CalWORKs client who has become employed. 

 
.12 Non-Assistance Unit Members  Be a child that is: 

 
  .121 Membership   Not in the assistance unit; 
 
  .122 Effect on Participation  One for whom the lack of child care would result in 

the client not being able to participate in approved 
CalWORKs or Cal-Learn activities or employment; 
and 

 
  .123 Responsibility for Child  One whom the client is responsible to support. 
   
 HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE 
 
  .124 Example 1   A single parent requests CalWORKs Stage One 

child care both for her children and her sister's 
unaided children who are residing with her while her 
sister is in jail.  The children's father is absent.  In 
this case the sister's children meet the requirement in 
Section 47-201.123, that is, children whom the client 
is responsible to support. 

 
  .125 Example 2   A single parent requests CalWORKs Stage One 

child care both for her children and the children of 
her unaided unmarried boyfriend living in the home.  
The unmarried boyfriend is employed.  He is unable 
to provide care for his children during his hours of 
employment.  In this case the boyfriend's children do 
not meet the requirement in Section 47-201.123, that 
is, children whom the client is responsible to 
support. 

 
 HANDBOOK ENDS HERE  
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 CALWORKS CHILD CARE 
47-201 (Cont.) STAGE ONE CHILD CARE ELIGIBILITY Regulations   
 
47-201 ELIGIBLE CHILDREN  (Continued)  47-201 
 
.2 Age Requirements    The child shall not exceed the age specified in 

Section 42-101 and shall be: 
 

.21 Age Limit    10 years of age or younger; or 
 

.22 Disabled    11 years of age or older and require child care or 
supervision because she or he is physically or 
mentally incapable of caring for herself or himself 
based on a written statement of a physician or 
licensed or certified psychologist or receipt of 
SSI/SSP; or 

 
.23 Court Supervision   11 years of age or older and be under court 

supervision as specified in Welfare and Institutions 
Code Section 300, 301, 601 or 602. 

 
.3 11 –and 12 – Year Old Children  11 – and 12- year- old children may receive services   

to the extent funds are available. 
 

.31 Children with Disabilities  The following section on the preferred placement for 
11- or 12–year-old children does not apply to 11- or 
12 year old children with disabilities per Education 
Code Section 8263.4. 

 
   
 HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE 

 
 .311     This section does not apply to 11- or 12-year-old 

children with disabilities, including  a child with 
exceptional needs who has an individual education 
plan as required by the Individual with Disabilities 
Education Act   (20 U.S.C Section 1400), Section 
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. 
Section 794),  or Part 30 Sections 56000 through 

      56885) of the Education Code. 
 

 HANDBOOK ENDS HERE  
 
 .32 Preferred Placement   The preferred placement for 11-and 12-year-old 

children is in a before or after school program as  
       specified  by Education Code Section 8263.4. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-EAS 
MANUAL LETTER NO. EAS-07-02 Effective 8/29/07  
 Page 632.1 



 
 CALWORKS CHILD CARE 
Regulations  STAGE ONE CHILD CARE ELIGIBILITY 47-201 (Cont)   
 
47-201 ELIGIBLE CHILDREN  (Continued)  47-201 
   
 HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE 
   
  .321     Children who are 11 or 12 years of age shall be 

eligible for subsidized child care services only for 
the portion of care needed that is not available in a 
before or after school program.  

        
       Families may combine care provided in a before or 

after school program with subsidized child care in 
another setting, for those hours within  a day when 
the before or after school program does not operate, 
in order to meet the child care needs of the family. 

 
  .322     Children who are 11 or 12 years of age, who are 

eligible for and who are receiving subsidized child 
care services, and for whom a before or after school 
program is not available, shall continue to receive 
subsidized child care services. 

 
 HANDBOOK ENDS HERE  
 
 
 .33 Notification and Certification  The CWD must provide a notification and 

certification form as developed by the Department of 
Education pursuant to Education Code Section 
8263.4(d) to families with children who are at least 
10 years and 10 months old stating that the preferred 
placement  is in a before or after school program.  In 
the event that a child is beyond his/her 11th birthday 
at the time child care services are requested, the 
CWD must provide the notification and certification 
form to the family at the time of the request. 

 
       If a before or after school program does not meet the 

family’s needs, the parent is to complete, sign and 
return  the notification and certification form to the 
CWD by the child’s 11th birthday.  After the child’s 
11th birthday, a before or after school program shall 
be considered available until such time as the parent 
returns the certification form. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 CALIFORNIA-DSS-MANUAL-EAS 
MANUAL LETTER NO. EAS-07-02 Effective 8/29/07  
 Page 632.2 



 
 CALWORKS CHILD CARE 
47-201 (Cont.) STAGE ONE CHILD CARE ELIGIBILITY Regulations  
 
47-201 ELIGIBLE CHILDREN  (Continued)  47-201 
 
 .34 Program Not Available   A before or after school program shall be considered 

not available when a parent certifies in writing, on a 
form provided by the CWD, any reason or reasons as 
specified in Education in Education Code Section 
8263.4(d) as determined by the parent, why the 
before or after school program does not meet the 
child care needs of the family. 

 
 .35  Priority to Return   The priority for 11-and 12-year-old children to 

return to subsidized child care is specified by 
Education Code Section 8263.4 as follows: 

    
   
 HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE 
 
  .351    Families that move their 11-or 12-year-old child 

from subsidized care to a before or after school 
program   have priority to return to subsidized child 
care if the child is disenrolled from the before or 
after school program or the program no longer meets 
the  child care needs of the family. 

 
 HANDBOOK ENDS HERE  
 
 
NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 10553 and 10554, Welfare and Institutions Code.  Reference:  42 
U.S.C. 609(a)(3); 45 CFR 98.20(a)(1)(ii); Sections 10540.5, 10544, 11320.3, and 11323.2, Welfare and 
Institutions Code; and Section 8263.4, Education Code. 
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 CALWORKS CHILD CARE 
Regulations PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES 47-401 (Cont.)  
 
CHAPTER 47-400  PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES 
 
47-401 CHILD CARE PAYMENT LIMITS  47-401 
 
.1 Maximum Payment Rate   The maximum payment rate for all Stage One child 

care shall be consistent with the rate established by 
the California Department  of Education and as 
specified by the Budget Act of 2006, Chapter 47 
Statutes of 2006, Item 6110-196-0001, Provision 
2(b). 

   
 HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE 
 
 .11      The maximum payment rate for all child care costs 

shall be up to the 85th percentile of the market rates 
charged by providers who offer the same type of 
child care for the same age child in the region where 
care is provided. 

 
 .12      Refer to the California Code of Regulations, Title 5, 

Division 1, Chapter 19, Subchapter 2.5, Sections 
18074 to 18076.3  for the Utilization of the Regional 
Market Rate Ceiling. 

 
 HANDBOOK ENDS HERE  
 
 

.13 Payment Basis    Counties shall calculate payments for child care on a 
monthly basis, weekly basis, daily basis or hourly 
basis, depending on the client's needs and the 
contractual terms used by the child care provider to 
charge other members of the public receiving the 
same services. 

 
 
.2 Payment Limits    Payment for Stage One child care services shall not 

exceed the fee charged to other members of the 
public receiving the same service. 

 
.21 Exception to Payment Limits  Counties shall not be bound by the rate limit 

described in Section 47-401.1 when there are, in the 
region, no more than two child care providers of the 
type needed by the recipient of child care services 
provided under this Division. 
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 CALWORKS CHILD CARE 
47-401 (Cont.) PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES Regulations  
 
47-401 CHILD CARE PAYMENT LIMITS  47-401 

(Continued) 
 
.3 Co-Payment     A client may choose a child care provider who 

charges a fee higher than the maximum payment 
rate.  The county shall not pay those child care costs 
that are in excess of the maximum payment rate.  
The client is responsible for those costs. 

 
.4 Hours of Care     The county shall pay for child care on behalf of the 

client during the following times: 
 

.41 Participation Hours   When a client is participating in county-approved 
activities; 

 
.42 Work Hours    When the client is working; 

 
.43 Commute Hours   When the client commutes; 

 
.44 Ill Child    When a child is ill and requires care from an 

alternate child care provider; 
 
.45 Services Provided During  During excused absences of the child or the client. 

  Excused Absences    
 

   
 HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE 
 

 .451 Excused Absences  Excused absences may include, but are not limited to,  
      illness or quarantine of the child or client, court 

ordered visitations, family emergencies, or court 
appearances. 

 
 .452 Fixed Schedule   Payment for absences may include payments to the  
      child care provider who has a policy that child care 

is on a fixed schedule, whether the child attends or 
not. 

 
 HANDBOOK ENDS HERE  
 
 

.46 Other Required Activities  At county options when care is necessary for other 
required activities. 
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 CALWORKS CHILD CARE 
Regulations PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES 47-401 (Cont.)  
 
47-401 CHILD CARE PAYMENT LIMITS (Continued) 47-401 
 
 
.5 Exceptions to Hours of Care   The county shall not pay for child care during: 
 

.51 School Attendance   Time the child is attending school; or 
 

.52 Other Subsidized Programs  Time the child is receiving care in other subsidized 
child care programs except for the condition 
described in Sections 47-401.44 and .45 above. 

 
.6 Registration Fee    The county shall pay registration fees charged by 

child care providers, as long as these fees are the 
same as those charged to other members of the 
public for the same purpose. 

 
.61 Maximum Payment Rate  The registration fee plus the regular charge for child 

care for that month shall not exceed the maximum 
payment rate. 

 
.7 Family Fees     Family fees, if any, shall be based on the fee 

schedule established by the State and shall be paid 
by the client, at county option, directly to the child 
care provider or the county. 

 
.71 Exemption From Family Fee  The county shall exempt from the family fee any 

client whose child or children are: 
 
 .711 Children at Risk  At risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, as 

determined by a legally qualified professional from a 
legal, medical, or social services agency, or 
emergency shelter,  for a period of up to three 
months; or  

 
 .712 Children Receiving   Receiving child protective services, at the request of  
  Child Protective services the child welfare services worker, for a period of up 

to 12 months. 
 
 .713 Cumulative Exemption  The cumulative time period for the fee exemption 
  Period.    for  families specified in Sections 47-401.711 and 

.712 shall not exceed 12 months.     
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 CALWORKS CHILD CARE 
47-401 (Cont.) PAYMENT FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES Regulations  
 
47-401 CHILD CARE PAYMENT LIMITS  (Continued) 47-401 
 
   
 HANDBOOK BEGINS HERE 
 
.8 Family Fee Schedule    The Family Fee Schedule is established by the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction  pursuant to 
Education Code Section 8263.   Refer to the 
California Code of Regulations, Title  5, Division 1, 
Chapter 19, Subchapter 3, Article 5 for the 
utilization of the family fee schedule. 

  
 HANDBOOK ENDS HERE  
 
 
NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 10553 and 10554, Welfare and Institutions Code.  Reference:  42 
U.S.C. 9858c, 45 CFR 98.43; Budget Act of 2006, Chapter 47, Statues of 2006, Item 6100-196-0001, 
Provision 2(b); Sections 8202(g)(3), 8208, 8208.1, 8221, 8222, 8263, 8351, and 8357, Education Code; 
And Sections 11320.3, 11323.2, 11323.4 and 11323.8, Welfare and Institutions Code. 
 
 
47-420 PAYMENT OF CHILD CARE COSTS 47-420 
 
.1 Child Care Payments to Providers  The county shall issue child care payments on behalf 

of the client directly to the child care provider except 
as provided in Section 47-420.2. 

 
.2 Child Care Payments to Clients  Child care payments may be made directly to the 

client, as the employer, if child care is provided in 
the home of the client.  The county shall inform the 
client of his/her corresponding legal and financial 
reporting requirements. 

 
.21 Information Needed for   The county shall issue a child care payment only 

Payment    when the client provides the following information 
on a monthly basis: 

 
.211 Hours of Care   Number of hours of care given per child. 

 
.212 Cost Per Child   Cost per child as verified by the child care provider's 

rate schedule. 
 

.213 Signatures   Signatures provided by both the child care provider 
and the client under penalty of perjury, verifying the 
accuracy of the information. 
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