
June 11, 2020 

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

ALL COUNTY LETTER NO. 20-66 

The purpose of this All County Letter is to alert counties to the transition in practices 
and procedures when responding to reports of abuse and conducting 30-day welfare 
checks as California moves through the stages of reopening.  County Adult Protective 
Services (APS) agencies should work with their local public health departments and 
consult their County Counsel’s office to determine their community level of risk. 
 

 
 



 

 
 
 
June 11, 2020 

ALL COUNTY LETTER (ACL) NO.:  20-66 

TO:   ALL COUNTY APS PROGRAM MANAGERS 

SUBJECT:  CHANGE IN APS PROTOCOLS 

REFERENCE: Welfare and Institutions Code (WIC) Section 15763; 
manual of policies and procedures (MPP) Section 33-510 

The purpose of this All County Letter (ACL) is to advise counties to transition Adult 
Protective Services (APS) policies and practices as California moves through the stages 
of reopening.  A March 17, 2020 Program Manager Letter (PML) provided county APS 
managers with guidance on how investigations and face-to-face visits could be 
conducted in a way to keep both county staff and APS clients safe from COVID-19.  
This letter supersedes the March 17, 2020 PML.  Starting June 22, 2020, county APS 
offices shall return to adhering to the procedures outlined in Welfare and Institutions 
Code (WIC) section 15763 and the Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP) 
section 33-510 when it comes to in-person visits and monthly welfare checks. 

State law requires a face-to-face investigation when an elder or dependent adult is in 
imminent danger and an immediate or 10-day in-person response to protect the 
individual’s health or safety (WIC section 15763 and MPP sections 33-510.1 – 
33.510.3.).  In addition, state regulations (MPP 33-545.3 – 33-545.4) require in-person 
monitoring visits every 30 days unless the written visitation plan justifies why it is not 
necessary to visit the client once every 30 days, is approved by an appropriate 
supervisor and/or case review team, and then entered into the case record, as 
stipulated by code.  Additionally, Section 5763(b)(2) of the WIC states that an 
immediate or 10-day in-person response is not required when the county, based upon 
an evaluation of risk, determines and documents that the elder or dependent adult is not 
in imminent danger and that an immediate or 10-day in-person response is not 
necessary to protect the health or safety of the elder or dependent adult. 

The State of Emergency due to COVID-19 and more recent events of civil unrest have 
led to an unprecedented time for Californians.  We recognize the current situation is 
evolving and that sheltering-in-place directives may also evolve and can change quickly. 
Furthermore, older adults and persons with disabilities may continue to shelter-in-place 
even as orders are lifted for their own protection and safety.  This can, however, also 
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increase their vulnerability to abuse, neglect and exploitation.  This necessitates a 
balanced and nuanced approach to serving this vulnerable population.  

Counties must continue to provide an in-person response if the individual faces an 
immediate life threat such as physical or sexual abuse.  Some in-person visits may be 
conducted outdoors depending on the nature of the investigation and person’s ability to 
go outside. Social workers must obtain Essential Protective Gear (EPG) before going on 
the in-person visit.  Social workers may ask clients or family members to wear a mask 
during an in-person visit, but they cannot require it. The APS social worker may call the 
client to pre-screen for COVID-19 symptoms/exposure by anyone in the household 
before making the in-person visit if the pre-screen call will not otherwise compromise 
the investigation or health and safety of the identified victim. 

Counties may continue to conduct investigations and monthly monitoring visits by 
telephone or through video conferencing under certain circumstances, including:  

• Your county or city public health department provides direction and/or shifts 
back to Stage 1. 

• The individual subject to the report of abuse, neglect or exploitation refuses 
entry due to their own concerns as to health and safety of COVID-19 
infection.  (In this instance, if the individual is deemed as high risk, APS 
should work with law enforcement to interview the possible victim.)  

• Someone in the household has been exposed to COVID-19 or is experiencing 
symptoms and does not face an immediate life threat. 

• An initial in-person response was performed, and the county determines that 
additional, monthly monitoring visits can safely occur through telephonic or 
video-conferencing mechanisms.  

• A county determines, based on an evaluation of risk, that an immediate or 
10-day in-person response is not warranted pursuant to 15763(b)(2) of the 
WIC, and MPP section 33-510.251. 

The following preventative practices should be adhered to for all in-person visits: 

• Practice physical distancing when in someone’s home – stay 6 feet away from 
people when possible while conducting an investigation or visit. 

• Wear the appropriate Essential Protective Gear (EPG).  

• Frequently wash hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. 

• Avoid touching eyes, nose, or mouth. 

• Cover your cough or sneeze with a tissue or your elbow.  Wash hands 
afterwards. 

• Follow guidance from public health officials. 
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APS social workers must adhere to practices and policies of all facilities they visit, 
including hospitals.  If a facility has implemented visitation restrictions due to COVID-19 
and this prohibits a social worker from making in-person contact, then the social worker 
should determine the best approach for completing the investigation. 

Please work with your county Office of Emergency Services (OES) to obtain EPG 
(formerly known as PPE) for your social workers as needed.  If you have problems 
obtaining EPG, please contact CDSS immediately. 

The following resources are available for social workers who need child care assistance 
as they return to field work: 

• Many child care centers and family child care homes are still open.  Visit 
https://covid19.ca.gov/childcare/ to view an interactive map of licensed child 
care providers near you. 

• Please contact your local child care resource and referral agency or 
1-800-KIDS-793 (1-800-543-7793) to find out more about child care 
availability, including child care subsidies if you need help paying for child 
care. 

Questions or requests for clarification regarding the information in this letter should be 
directed to the Adult Programs Division, APS Analyst at (916) 651-5111 or 
aps@dss.ca.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Original Document Signed By: 

DEBBI THOMSON 
Deputy Director 
Adult Programs Division  

cc:  CWDA 
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