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SUBJECT: REGULATION UPDATE REGARDING REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 
FOR RESIDENTIAL CARE FACILITIES FOR THE ELDERLY 

Provider Information Notice (PIN) Summary 

The California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 22, Section 87211 has been amended 
to include additional  reporting requirements for licensees of Residential Care Facilities 
for the Elderly (RCFE). These regulations become effective October 1, 2018.  End of 
Provider Information Notice (PIN) Summary.

CCR, Title 22, Section 87211, Reporting Requirements has been amended to include 
the statutorily mandated reporting requirements, pursuant to Health and Safety Code 
Section 1569.686, concerning events which may signify financial distress. 

RCFE licensees are required to report to the California Department of Social Services, 
the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman, as well as to all facility residents and if 
applicable, their representatives, within two business days, any the following events: 

 A notice of default, notice of trustee’s sale, or any other indication of foreclosure
is issued on the property.

 An unlawful detainer action is initiated against the licensee.

 The licensee files for bankruptcy.

 The licensee receives a written notice of default payment of rent as specified.

 A utility company sends a notice of intent to terminate utilities on the property as
specified.

https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/ICEA57C3CA44E42908F304A1A09641CEB?originationContext=Search+Result&listSource=Search&viewType=FullText&navigationPath=Search%2fv3%2fsearch%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0ad7140a00000164cd968c4e1cce88e0%3fstartIndex%3d1%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26contextData%3d(sc.Default)&rank=1&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&t_T1=22&t_T2=87211&t_S1=CA+ADC+s&bhcp=1
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/ICEA57C3CA44E42908F304A1A09641CEB?originationContext=Search+Result&listSource=Search&viewType=FullText&navigationPath=Search%2fv3%2fsearch%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0ad7140a00000164cd968c4e1cce88e0%3fstartIndex%3d1%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26contextData%3d(sc.Default)&rank=1&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&t_T1=22&t_T2=87211&t_S1=CA+ADC+s
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1569.686.&lawCode=HSC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1569.686.&lawCode=HSC
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Licensees are also required to report these events to potential residents and if 
applicable, their representatives prior to signing the admission agreement.  A licensee 
that fails to comply with these requirements may be subject to a civil penalty. 

If a resident is relocated without the specified notification, listed above, and suffers 
transfer trauma or other harm to their health or safety, the Department may suspend or 
revoke the license or pursue other specified actions. 

To access the current regulatory language for CCR, Title 22, Section 87211, Reporting 
Requirements, please visit the Community Care Licensing (CCL) Regulations 
webpage. The regulations found on CCL’s webpage will be updated with the new 
regulatory language prior to the October 1, 2018 effective date. 

If you have questions regarding this PIN, please contact your Adult and Senior Care 
Regional Office. 

http://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/CCLD/ASC%20Offices%20and%20Phone%20for%20web.pdf?ver=2018-03-22-151031-107
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/CCLD/ASC%20Offices%20and%20Phone%20for%20web.pdf?ver=2018-03-22-151031-107



