
  

Self-Certification 
Instructional 
Review Materials 
Second Violation 
These voluntary self-certification instructional review materials offer you a 
one-time opportunity to remove your second violation for exceeding the 
workweek and/or travel time limitations, and will not be offered again in the 
future, unless your IHSS provider eligibility is suspended for one year and 
you complete the required re-enrollment process. 
 
If you do not review the materials and submit your completed self-
certification form to your county IHSS office within 14 calendar days from 
the date of your second violation notice, you will be sent a notice confirming 
your second violation along with the California Department of Social 
Services’ (CDSS) Provider’s Right to Dispute form which may be submitted 
to your county IHSS office if you disagree with the violation. 
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A Second Violation 
So, you got a second violation for exceeding workweek and/or travel time 
limitations?  Let’s review the workweek and travel time limits to help 
prevent you from incurring future violations. If you were an active provider 
before February 1, 2016, you were mailed and instructed to complete and 
submit the updated IHSS Program Provider Enrollment Agreement (SOC 
846).  If you became a provider after February 1, 2016, you completed the 
updated SOC 846 during the mandatory IHSS Provider Orientation.  
Completion of the updated SOC 846 confirmed your understanding of the 
workweek and travel time limitations required by California law.  Not 
following the workweek and travel time limitations will result in violations 
which may include suspension of your eligibility to be an IHSS provider for 
up to one year. 
 
You received this second violation due to one or more of the following 
actions:  
 

• You worked more than 40 hours in a workweek for a recipient without 
your recipient getting approval from the county when that recipient is 
authorized 40 hours or less in a workweek;  

• You worked more hours for your recipient than he/she is authorized in 
a workweek without your recipient getting approval from the county, 
and this caused you to work more overtime hours in the month than 
you normally would;  

• You work for more than one recipient and you worked more than 66 
hours in a workweek; or 

• Your claimed travel time was more than seven hours in a workweek. 
 
Whenever you receive a violation, you have ten business days from the 
date of the violation notice to complete and submit the CDSS Provider’s 
Right to Dispute form to your county IHSS office.  Once the county receives 
the form, it has ten business days to review the violation and send you a 
notice stating the outcome of the review. 
 
REMINDER:  If you get more than one violation in a single month, it will 
only count as one violation.   Once you have received a violation, it will 
remain on your record.  However, after one year, if you do not receive 
another violation, the number of violations you have received will be 
reduced by one.   As long as you do not receive any additional violations, 
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each year after the last violation, your number of violations will be reduced 
by one. 
 
CAUTION:  If you receive a third violation, your IHSS provider eligibility will 
be suspended for 90 days.  If you receive a fourth violation, your IHSS 
provider eligibility will be suspended for one year.  When your one-year 
IHSS provider ineligibility period ends, you will have to complete all of the 
provider enrollment requirements again, including the criminal background 
check, provider orientation, and all required forms, before you may resume 
providing IHSS services. 
 
If you disagree with the county’s determination to uphold the third or fourth 
violation, you may request a State review of the violation by the CDSS 
Adult Programs Division’s Appeals Unit.  The third and fourth violation 
notices will explain how you may request the state review. 
 
Workweek Limitations 
Remember, the IHSS workweek begins at 12:00 a.m. on Sunday and ends 
at 11:59 p.m. the following Saturday.  It is important that you understand 
the IHSS workweek so that you and your IHSS recipient(s) may better track 
how many authorized hours are planned, how many were actually worked, 
and whether you are eligible for overtime compensation.   
 
The maximum weekly hours are the number of service hours you may work 
for your recipient(s) per workweek. The maximum weekly hours are a 
guideline to help make you aware of how many hours you can work up to 
in a workweek so your recipient(s) can budget his/her authorized service 
hours in the month to ensure all authorized service hours are received. 
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Your recipient may be able to adjust his/her maximum weekly hours, 
without requesting approval from the county, under the following conditions: 

 
 

Adjusting Maximum Weekly Hours 

If you work… Is County Approval Needed? 
40 hours or less 
 

Yes, if you work more than the 40 hours for your 
recipient in a workweek if his/her maximum weekly 
hours are 40 hours or less in a workweek. 
 
No, if you do not work more than 40 hours for your 
recipient in a workweek if his/her maximum weekly 
hours are 40 hours or less in a workweek.  
 

OR 
Over 40 hours 
 

Yes, if you work more overtime hours than you 
normally work in a calendar month. 
 
No, if you do not work more overtime hours than you 
normally work in a calendar month.   
 
Note: If you are the only provider working for one 
recipient who does not have any other providers, your 
recipient can ask you to work more than his/her 
maximum weekly hours, but you must work fewer 
hours in another week(s) of the month to stay within 
the recipient’s authorized monthly hours. 
 

AND 
For multiple 
recipients  

You may never work more than the combined 
maximum weekly hours of 66. 
 
Caution:  If you work for more than one recipient, you 
should not accept additional hours if taking the 
additional hours will result in you going over your 
combined maximum weekly hours of 66. 
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Travel Time Limitations  
If you work for more than one recipient at different locations on the same 
day, you are eligible to be paid for traveling directly between the two 
recipients, regardless of your method of travel (i.e., driving a car, taking 
public transit, walking, riding a bicycle).  The maximum amount of travel 
time providers are allowed to claim during a workweek is 7 hours. 
Keep in mind that travel time does not include the time it takes you to travel 
from your own home to the location where you provide services for a 
recipient or back home after your work is completed.  Your time spent 
traveling between recipients’ locations does not count toward your 
maximum weekly hours of 66 or your recipients’ maximum weekly hours 
and is not deducted from any recipient’s monthly authorized hours. 
 
IMPORTANT TIPS:  
 
 If your travel time is going to be more than 7 hours per workweek, 

you will have to rearrange your work schedule with your recipients to 
make sure your claimed travel time is no more than 7 hours per 
workweek.  Please contact your county IHSS office if you need 
assistance in rearranging your work schedule. 

 
 If you submit a travel claim form with more than 7 hours in a 

workweek, you will get paid for the travel time claimed but you will get 
a violation. 
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 STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

 
IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES (IHSS) PROGRAM   
CERTIFICATION FOR INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIAL REVIEW 
 
PROVIDER NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST) IHSS PROVIDER NUMBER 

 
 
I reviewed the instructional materials provided to me that related to the workweek and travel 
time limitations for IHSS providers and I understand the following: 
 
• If I work only for a single recipient, I am restricted to working the recipient’s maximum weekly 

hours. 
 

• If I work for multiple recipients, I am restricted to working 66 hours per workweek divided 
among all of the recipients I work for.  If I currently work the maximum of 66 hours and one of 
my recipients requests me to work additional hours, I cannot work those additional hours 
unless I make arrangements with my other recipient(s) to reduce hours for him/her during 
that week. 
 

• If I work for multiple recipients on the same day and I travel directly from one of their 
homes to another, I cannot claim more than seven (7) hours of travel time per week. 
 

• If my recipient requests that I work more hours during a workweek than I am scheduled to 
work and my recipient’s maximum weekly hours are 40 hours or less and those additional 
hours cause me to work more than 40 hours in that workweek, my recipient is responsible for 
contacting the county IHSS office or Public Authority to get approval for those additional 
hours. 

 
• If my recipient requests that I work more hours during a workweek than I am scheduled to 

work and those additional hours cause me to work more overtime during that workweek than 
I normally would, my recipient is responsible for contacting the county IHSS office or Public 
Authority to get approval for those additional hours. 

 
• If I do work additional hours during one week, then I must reduce my work hours in 

another week later within the same month to make sure I do not work more than my 
recipient’s monthly authorized hours. 
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By reviewing and signing this certification form and submitting it to the county IHSS office or 
Public Authority, I understand: 
 

• The second violation I received will be removed from my record. 
• This instructional material review is a one-time option to remove my second violation.  If I 

receive another violation later, I will not be given the opportunity to review the 
instructional materials again. 

• If I receive further violations, I could be found ineligible to work and be paid as an IHSS 
provider through the IHSS Program. 

 
 
By signing this certification form I am accepting the responsibility to follow the information 
provided by the county in the instructional materials provided.  I understand that failure to follow 
the workweek and travel time limitations may result in my ineligibility to work as an IHSS 
provider. 
 
 

IHSS Provider’s Signature Date 
 
PLEASE REMOVE THIS NOTIFICATION FROM THE INSTRUCTION MATERIALS PACKET AND MAIL TO THE IHSS 
OFFICE AT: 
 
_________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________ 
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