NOTICE TO ALL CALFRESH RECIPIENTS WORK INCENTIVE NUTRITIONAL SUPPLEMENT (WINS) BENEFIT IMPORTANT – PLEASE READ

WINS is a \$10 per month supplemental food benefit program for working families who are receiving CalFresh benefits but not receiving California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) or Tribal Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) benefits.

California state law provides for the following:

- CalFresh households that meet the work hour requirements for WINS, but are not receiving CalWORKs or Tribal TANF, may be eligible for an additional \$10 per month food benefit.
 - Work hour requirements are:
 - 20 hours per week for single custodial parents/caretaker families with at least one child under six years old;
 - 30 hours per week for non-two parent/caretaker families with a child(ren) between six and eighteen years old;
 - 35 hours per week for two-parent/caretaker families.

Work that counts is any paid work (even if subsidized, such as work study). This also includes self-employment.

- Your household may be eligible if you:
 - o Are a CalFresh household, but not receiving CalWORKs or Tribal TANF; and
 - o Have a child under the age of 18 in the home; and
 - Have at least one parent/guardian in the household that meets the TANF definition of a "work-eligible Individual" and is participating in sufficient hours as listed above in eligible work activities that meet the federal TANF requirements;
- This monthly payment will continue as long as you meet the WINS program requirements.
- The \$10 benefit is a food benefit and cannot be used as cash.
- If you want to know more, please contact your worker.

Each eligible CalFresh household may only receive one WINS benefit each month. The benefit will be distributed on the household's existing Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card as a food supplement to the family's CalFresh allotment. Eligibility for the WINS benefit is determined when you apply, report changes, or recertify for benefits. If you qualify for WINS, the benefit will be added to your EBT card.

Please be sure to report your work hours to your eligibility worker when you first apply for CalFresh, when you are required to report changes, or when you recertify for CalFresh benefits so that they can determine if you are eligible.

If you think we made a mistake in figuring your CalFresh benefits due to the new WINS benefit you may ask for a state hearing *within 90 days of when you got this letter* by writing to:

Or you may call toll free: 1-800-952-5253. If you are deaf and use TDD, call 1-800-952-8349. When you ask for a state hearing, you must tell us why you think we made a mistake. You can speak for yourself at the hearing or you can have a friend, attorney, or other person speak for you, but you must get these people to help you. You may ask for free legal aid at a legal aid office in your area