CALIFORNIA REQUIREMENTS FOR READOPTION OF CHILDREN ADOPTED IN THEIR COUNTRY OF ORIGIN THROUGH AN INTERCOUNTRY ADOPTION STATEMENT OF ACKNOWLEDGMENT

As of January 1, 2020, California Family Code (FC) 8919 requires all state residents who completed an intercountry adoption in a foreign country to file a petition to readopt the child in a California court within the earlier of 60 days of the child's entry into the United States or prior to the child's 16th birthday. In addition, FC 8919 outlines the required documentation to accompany the adoption petition (Adopt 200) in order for a hearing date to be established. The adoptive parents understand that if they fail to file the adoption petition within 60 days, the adoption agency that is providing their post-adoption visit and report to the court is required to file an unsigned adoption petition on their behalf, within 90 days of the child's entry.

If the adoption petition is filed by the agency, a file-labeled copy shall be sent to the adoptive parent and to any other adoption agency that provided services to the adoptive parent within five business days. The adoptive parent will be liable to the agency for all costs and fees incurred as a result of good faith actions taken by the adoption agency to fulfill the requirements of FC 8919. If the agency fails to file the adoption petition as required by this law, the Department may take appropriate disciplinary action against the adoption agency.

In addition, FC 8919.5 requires the adoption agency to report the arrival of an adoptee whose adoption was finalized in a foreign country to the Department of Social Services within 14 calendar days of arrival in California. Therefore, it is important for the adoptive parents to report the arrival to their agency within a timely manner to ensure the agency can inform the Department within the required timeframe.

My/Our signature(s) signify that I/we have been counseled by our adoption social worker about the reporting requirement upon entry into the U.S. and the requirement of obtaining a state issued birth certificate for our child, and the potential consequences for our child of not doing so. I/We agree to abide by the readoption requirements set by FC 8919 and FC 8919.5.

Prospective Adoptive Parent Signature:	Date:
Prospective Adoptive Parent Signature:	Date:

The adoptive parents have been counseled and understand that failure to readopt their child in California means that their child will not receive a state issued birth certificate. Without a state issued birth certificate, they understand that their child may encounter some obstacles to ensuring basic rights, including but not limited to: obtaining a driver's license; getting a job; obtaining a passport; having the ability to fly outside the state, the right to vote, the right to marry or become a certified domestic partner; and eligibility to apply for public or educational assistance, social security and other state or federal programs will be seriously compromised.

Adoptions Social Worker Signature and Agency Name:	Date: