California Food Assistance Program (CFAP)

What is CFAP?

The State of California provides state-funded food stamps through the California Food Stamp Program (CFAP) for qualified non-citizens who do not qualify for federal benefits. CFAP benefits are issued through the same case as federal food stamp benefits.

 Eligibility Requirements

In order to be eligible to CFAP, the Legal Permanent Resident (LPR) non-citizen must currently be ineligible for federal food stamp benefits solely due to his/her immigration status under the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996.

Non-citizens who are eligible to CFAP benefits indefinitely are non-citizens who:

  • Have been legally residing in the United States as a LPR non-citizen prior to August 22, 1996; or
  • Are battered or abused or
  • Are qualified non-citizens who are no longer federally eligible under the seven-year time limited federal eligibility (all except Amerasians or conditional entrants);

  • Are otherwise eligible for the program but were sponsored into the United States on or after August 22, 1996 and one of the following verified situations apply:
    • The sponsor has died; or
    • The sponsor is disabled; or
    • The applicant, after entry into the United States is a victim of abuse by the sponsor or the spouse of the sponsor if the spouse is living with the sponsor