DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

744 P Street, Sacramento, California 95814



February 19, 2002

ALL COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE NO. I-12-02

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS
ALL CalWORKs PROGRAM SPECIALISTS

<u>REASON</u>	<u>FOR</u>	<u>THIS</u>	<u>TRANSMI</u>	<u>TAI</u>

 [] State Law Change
 [] Federal Law or Regulation Change
 [] Court Order
 [] Clarification Requested by One or More Counties

[X] Initiated by CDSS

SUBJECT: MASS MAILING OF THE CalWORKs 60-MONTH TIME LIMIT

EXEMPTIONS INFORMING NOTICE

REFERENCE: ALL COUNTY LETTERS (ACL) 97-65, 98-37, 99-90, 00-48 AND 03-01; ALL COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE (ACIN) I-52-99, I-85-01

The purpose of this All County Information Notice (ACIN) is to inform counties of the CalWORKs 60-Month Time Limit Exemptions informing notice (CW 2185). The CW 2185 is designed to inform recipients of the CalWORKs 60-month time limit exemptions, ("clock stoppers"). The notice briefly describes the 60-month time limit on cash aid and the exemptions to the time limit. It also gives an opportunity for recipients to contact their eligibility worker to request a CalWORKs 60-month time limit exemption.

To ensure that CalWORKs recipients receive information on the CalWORKs 60-month time limit exemptions, the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) is mailing this informing notice to all CalWORKs recipients in late February 2002 via a Department of Health Services mailing.

CAMERA-READY COPIES AND TRANSLATIONS

After you receive a copy of the English form, please allow six to eight weeks for the form to be translated and mailed to your CalWORKs Forms Coordinator. Language Translation Services (LTS) will mail camera-ready copies of Spanish, Russian, and Asian (Cambodian, Chinese, and Vietnamese) translated forms as soon as they become available. You do not need to initially request forms or messages from LTS. To order additional camera-ready forms or messages in Spanish, Russian, and Asian languages fax your request to LTS at (916) 657-3429 or e-mail your request to lsu@dss.ca.gov.

For a camera-ready copy and/or additional copy of an English form please call Forms Management Unit (FMU) at (916) 657-1907 or CALNET at 437-1907. If your office has Internet access, you may obtain various forms from the CDSS web page at http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov. FMU is currently in the process of making forms available

on the Internet. If the name, mailing address or e-mail address of your CalWORKs Forms Coordinator changes, please contact FMU by telephone at (916) 654-1282 or by e-mail to fmu@dss.ca.gov.

Your CalWORKs Forms Coordinator is to distribute translated forms and messages to each program and location. Each county shall provide bilingual/interpretive services and written translations to non-English or limited English proficient populations as required by the Dymally Alatorre Bilingual Services Act (Government Code Section 7290 et seq.) and by the state regulations in MPP Division 21, Civil Rights Nondiscrimination, Section 115.

If you have any questions regarding this notice or need additional information, please contact Charissa S. Miguelino at (916) 657-3665.

Sincerely,

Charr Lee Metsker signed the original document on February 19, 2002

CHARR LEE METSKER, Chief Employment and Eligibility Branch

Attachment

c: CWDA CSAC

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT THE Calworks 60-Month time limit

CalWORKs 60-MONTH TIME LIMIT ON AID

<u>Beginning January 1, 1998</u>, most adults can only receive 60 months (5 years) of cash aid from the CalWORKs program. This includes cash aid received from California or other states' Federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Programs.

The 60-month time limit does **NOT** apply to children, Medi-Cal Benefits, Food Stamp Benefits, child care or any months of aid before <u>January 1, 1998</u>.

Time Limit Exemptions - "Clock Stoppers"

A month on cash aid does not count toward your CalWORKs 60-month time limit if at any time during that month you are:

- Disabled (You must have medical proof of a disability that is expected to last at least 30 days.)
- 60 years or older.
- Caring for an ill or incapacitated person living in your home, which stops you from working or participating in welfareto-work activities.
- Caring for a dependent child of the court, or a child at risk of placement in foster care, which stops you from working
 or participating in welfare-to-work activities.
- A victim of domestic abuse and the county has waived the 60-month time limit.
- Eligible for, or participating in, or exempt from Cal-Learn or another teen parent program approved by the California Department of Social Services. (This exemption does not apply if you are over age 18, eligible to volunteer to participate but you choose not to participate in Cal-Learn).
- Living in Indian Country, as defined by federal law, or an Alaskan native village, in which at least 50 percent of the adults are unemployed.

More "Clock Stoppers" to the CalWORKs 60-Month Time Limit

A month does not count if:

- You did not receive CalWORKs cash aid because your cash grant was less than \$10 or you were sanctioned.
- Your cash grant is <u>fully</u> repaid by child support collection.
- You are only receiving supportive services such as child care, transportation, and case management.

If you have a condition that qualifies as an exemption to the CalWORKs 60-month time limit, or if you had a condition in the past (on or after January 1, 1998) that you have not yet requested an exemption for, you should contact your worker to request the time limit exemption.

បើសិនជាលោកអ្នកមិនចេះអានសំណៅនេះទេ សូមសួររកកិច្ចជួយពីអ្នកកាន់សំណុំរឿងរបស់លោកអ្នក ។

假如你不能閱讀這份表格,可以向你的工作員要求幫助。

Если вы не можете прочесть эту форму, обратитесь к работнику, ведущему ваше дело.

Si no puede leer este documento, pídale ayuda a su trabajador.

SP

Nếu quý vị không thể đọc được mẫu này, xin hỏi nhân viên phụ trách hồ sơ của quý vị để nhờ giúp đỡ.

VN