
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

   
 

 

 
 

  
 
 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

  
  

 
  

 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY  ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor  

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES  
744 P Street, Sacramento, California 95814 

July 10, 2006 
REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL 
[ ] State Law Change ALL COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE NO. I-46-06 [ ] Federal Law or Regulation Change 
[ ] Court Order 

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS 
   ALL CHILD WELFARE SERVICES 
   PROGRAM MANAGERS 

[ ] Clarification Requested by 
One or More Counties 

[X] Initiated by CDSS 

   CHILD PROBATION OFFICERS 

SUBJECT: SAFELY SURRENDERED BABY LAW PUBLICATIONS 

REFERENCE: SENATE BILL 1368 (BRULTE), CHAPTER 824, STATUTES OF 2000; 
SENATE BILL 139 (BRULTE), CHAPTER 160, STATUTES OF2003; 
SENATE BILL 1413 (BRULTE), CHAPTER 103, STATUTES OF 2004; 
SENATE BILL 116 (DUTTON), CHAPTER 625, STATUES OF 2005 

In an ongoing effort to increase awareness of the Safely Surrendered Baby Law (SSB), the 
California Department of Social Services (CDSS) has updated and redesigned public outreach 
materials. The new public education materials include posters and brochures that are available 
in both English and Spanish at no cost. Counties and other offices are encouraged to replace 
previously distributed SSB materials and display the updated versions in locations that best 
maximize public visibility and accessibility. 

To enable each county to personalize the brochures, space has been provided on the back to 
insert your county specific information, e.g. toll-free telephone or contact information. 

Additional posters and brochures may be ordered free of charge through the CDSS warehouse.  
Simply provide your agency name, address, the quantity of posters and brochures you are 
requesting and whether you would like them in English or Spanish.  Then fax your order  
to (916) 371-3518, or Email: admbsbwh@dss.ca.gov. Electronic versions of the SSB materials 
also may be downloaded from our Web site at: http://www.babysafe.ca.gov/. 

If you have questions regarding the SSB public outreach materials, please contact the Office of 
Child Abuse Prevention at (916) 651-6960. Questions regarding the SSB Law should be 
directed to the Child Welfare Policy and Program Development Bureau at (916) 651-6160. 

Sincerely, 

Original Document Signed By 

MARY L. AULT 
Deputy Director 
Children and Family Services Division 

Attachments 

mailto:admbsbwh@dss.ca.gov
http://www.babysafe.ca.gov
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There is an option. 

Don’t abandon 
your baby. 

now there’s a way 
to safely surrender 
your baby 

now there’s a way 

to safely surrender 

your baby 

http://www.babysafe.ca.gov 

The California Safely 
Surrendered Baby Law: 

■✓ Permits the parent(s) or surrendering 
person to safely and confidentially 
surrender a baby within three days 
of birth. 

■✓ Provides a safe place for babies. 

■✓ Protects the parent(s) or surrendering 
person from prosecution for child 
abandonment. 

■✓ Does not require that names be given 
when the baby is surrendered. 

■✓ Allows the parent(s) or surrendering 
person at least 14 days to reclaim the 
baby. 

What is the 
Safely Surrendered Baby 

Law? 

This law establishes a procedure for the 
voluntary surrender of a baby within 
72 hours of birth. Under this law 
parent(s) can safely surrender their 
baby and be protected from prosecution 
for child abandonment. This law makes 
it easier for a parent who might otherwise 
abandon their baby in an unsafe place. 

In California, no one ever 
has to abandon a baby again. 

Local Contact Information: 

State of California 

Health and Human Services Agency 

Department of Social Services 

PUB 400 (3/06) 
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How does it work? 

A parent who is unable or unwilling to care 
for their baby can safely surrender the baby 
within three days of birth. All that is 
required is that the baby be given to an 
on-duty employee of a hospital or safe haven 
site in California. An ID bracelet will be 
placed on the baby’s ankle and a matching 
bracelet offered to the surrendering person. 
The bracelets help connect the parent to the 
baby if the parent wants the baby back. 

Can only a parent bring 
in the baby? 

No. The law allows another person to 
safely surrender the baby if the person has 
permission from the parent(s.) 

What is a “Safe Surrender” 
Site? 

A hospital or other location designated by the 
Board of Supervisors in each county.  A safe 
surrender site will display this logo: 

What information must be 
given to the people accepting 
the baby? 

None. No information is required but 
the person surrendering the baby will be 
given a medical information questionnaire 
to complete. Completion of the questionnaire 
is voluntary, although the information 
regarding family medical history can assist 
in properly caring for the baby.  The 
questionnaire may be mailed in later. 

What happens to the baby? 

After receiving a confidentially-coded ankle 
bracelet, the baby is examined and given 
medical treatment, if needed. The baby is 
then placed in a foster or pre-adoptive home. 

What happens to the parent? 

Once the parent or surrendering person has 
safely turned over the baby, they are free to 
go, without any questions asked. 

What happens if a parent wants 
the baby back? 

Under the law, a parent or surrendering person 
has at least 14 days to reclaim the baby.  They 
should bring their copy of the coded bracelet 
back to the safe surrender site. 

Why is California doing this? 

You may have heard stories about babies 
being left in dumpsters, public toilets or other 
unsafe locations. The parents abandoning 
their babies may have been under severe 
emotional or financial stress. The mothers 
may have hidden their pregnancies, fearful 
of what would happen if their families found 
out. Because they were afraid and felt they 
had nowhere to turn for help, they abandoned 
their baby. Abandoning a baby puts the baby 
in extreme danger. It is also illegal. Too often, 
it results in the baby’s death. Because of the 
Safely Surrendered Baby Law, this tragedy 
doesn’t ever have to happen in California 
again. 

Is there another choice? 

YES. Adoption is always a choice and 
should be considered first. 

Whenever parents have decided that they are 
unable to care for a baby, whatever the reason, 
adoption is by far the best choice. Adoption 
protects the rights of all involved, including 
the baby.  In fact, parents may be able to 
assist in selecting the adoptive parents and 
may be allowed to have contact with the baby 
after the adoption. 

It’s important for women to seek help while 
they are pregnant, not after giving birth. 

Every baby deserves 
a healthy life. 
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Hay una opción. 

No abandone 
a su bebé. 

ahora hay una manera 
para entregar a su bebé 
sin ningún peligro 

PUB 400 (SP) (3/06) 

ahora hay una manera 

para entregar a su bebé 

sin ningún peligro 

http://www.babysafe.ca.gov 

La ley de California sobre cómo 
entregar a un bebé sin ningún peligro 
■✓ Permite a un padre/madre, padres, u otra 

persona, entregar a un bebé en forma 
confidencial y segura antes de que pasen 
tres días de su nacimiento. 

■✓ Proporciona un lugar seguro para los bebés. 

■✓ Protege al padre/madre, padres, u otra 
persona que entregue al bebé, para que no 
sea enjuiciado por abandono. 

■✓ No requiere que se den nombres cuando 
se entrega al bebé. 

■✓ Permite que el padre/madre, padres, u 
otra persona que entregue al bebé, tenga 
al menos 14 días para recuperar al bebé. 

¿Qué es la ley sobre cómo entregar 
a su bebé sin ningún peligro, 

conocida en inglés como 
Safely Surrendered Baby Law? 

Esta ley establece un procedimiento para 
entregar voluntariamente a un bebé, antes de 
que pasen 72 horas de su nacimiento. Bajo 
esta ley, el padre/madre (o padres) pueden 
entregar a su bebé sin ningún peligro y estarán 
protegidos de enjuiciamiento por abandono 
infantil. Esta ley hace más fácil para un 
padre/madre que de otra manera abandonaría 
a su bebé en un lugar no seguro. 

En California, nunca nadie tiene que 
abandonar a un bebé. 

State of California 
(Estado de California) 

Health and Human Services Agency 
(Secretaría de Salud y Servicios Humanos) 

Department of Social Services 
(Departamento de Servicios Sociales) 

Información para contacto local: 

http://www.babysafe.ca.gov


¿Cómo funciona? 

Un padre/madre que no puede o no quiere 
cuidar a su bebé, puede entregar a su bebé en 
forma segura antes de que pasen tres días de 
su nacimiento. Todo lo que se requiere es 
entregar al bebé a un empleado de servicio 
en un hospital o en un lugar de refugio 
seguro en California. Una banda de 
identificación se colocará en el tobillo del 
bebé y otra banda con la misma 
identificación se le entregará a la persona que 
entregue al bebé. Las bandas ayudarán a 
conectar al bebé con el padre/madre si es que 
quiere recuperar al bebé. 

¿Solamente el padre/madre puede 
entregar al bebé? 

No. La ley permite que otra persona 
entregue al bebé si dicha persona tiene el 
permiso del padre/madre (o padres). 

¿Qué es un lugar “seguro para 
entregar a un bebé”, conocido en 
inglés como “Safe Surrender”? 

Es un hospital u otro lugar designado por el 
Consejo de Supervisores de cada condado. 
Un lugar seguro para entregar a un bebé 
tendrá este logotipo: 

¿Qué información se tiene que 
proporcionar a las personas que 
reciban al bebé? 

Ninguna. No se requiere ninguna 
información, pero la persona que entregue al 
bebé recibirá un cuestionario médico para que 
lo complete. Completar este cuestionario es 
voluntario, aunque la información sobre el 
historial médico de la familia puede ayudar 
para que se le proporcione el cuidado 
adecuado al bebé. El cuestionario se puede 
enviar por correo después. 

¿Qué le sucede al bebé? 

Después que se le coloque en el tobillo una 
banda con un código confidencial, se 
examinará al bebé y se le proporcionará 
tratamiento médico si lo necesita. Luego el 
bebé se colocará en un hogar de crianza 
temporal o en un hogar pre-adoptivo. 

¿Qué le sucede al padre/madre? 

Una vez que el padre/madre u otra persona 
entregue al bebé de una manera segura, puede 
irse sin que se le haga ninguna pregunta. 

¿Qué sucede si el padre/madre quiere 
recuperar al bebé? 

Bajo la ley, el padre/madre o la persona que 
entregue al bebé tiene hasta 14 días para 
recuperar al bebé. Debe llevar la banda con 
el código que le dieron al lugar donde entregó 
al bebé. 

¿Por qué está California haciendo esto? 

Es posible que haya escuchado historias 
trágicas de bebés que fueron abandonados en 
basureros, baños públicos u otros lugares no 
seguros. Es posible que los padres que 
abandonaron a sus bebés estaban bajo una 
severa tensión emocional o financiera. Las 
madres pudieron haber escondido sus 
embarazos temerosas de lo que sucedería si 
sus familias se enteraran. Debido a que tenían 
miedo y sentían que no había un lugar donde 
ir para que les ayudaran, ellas abandonaron a 
sus bebés. Abandonar a un bebé lo expone a 
un gran peligro. Además, es ilegal. Muchas 
veces esto resulta en la muerte del bebé. 
Debido a la ley sobre cómo entregar a un bebé 
sin ningún peligro, está tragedia nunca debe 
volver a suceder in California. 

¿Existe otra opción? 

SI. Dar al bebé en adopción es siempre una 
opción y se debe considerar primero. 

Cuando los padres han decidido que no 
pueden cuidar a su bebé, por la razón que sea, 
dar al bebé en adopción es la mejor opción. 
La adopción protege los derechos de todos los 
involucrados, incluyendo al bebé. De hecho, 
es posible que los padres puedan ayudar a 
seleccionar a los padres adoptivos y que se les 
permita tener contacto con el bebé después de 
la adopción. 

Es importante que las mujeres busquen ayuda 
cuando están embarazadas, no después de que 
nazca el bebé. 

Cada bebé se merece 
una vida saludable. 
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The Safely 
Surrendered Baby 

Law 

There is an option. 

Don’t abandon 
your baby. 

Safely Surrender your baby. 

■✓ Permits the parent(s) or 
surrendering person to 
safely and confidentially 
surrender a baby within 
three days of birth to 
any hospital or other 
designated Safe 
Surrender Sites in 
California. 

■✓ Provides a safe place 
for babies. 

■✓ Protects the parent(s) or 
surrendering person 
from prosecution for 
child abandonment. 

■✓ Does not require that 
names be given when 
the baby is surrendered. 

■✓ Allows the parent(s) or 
surrendering person at 
least 14 days to reclaim 
the baby. 

http://www.babysafe.ca.gov 
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The Safely Surrendered 
Baby Law 

La ley sobre cómo 
entregar a un bebé sin 

ningún peligro 

Hay una opción. 

No abandone 
a su bebé. 

Entregue a su bebé 
sin ningún peligro. 

■✓ Permite a un padre/madre, 
padres, u otra persona, 
entregar a un bebé en 
forma confidencial y 
segura antes de que 
pasen tres días de su 
nacimiento. Se puede 
entregar en un hospital o 
en un lugar de refugio 
seguro en California. 

■✓ Proporciona un lugar 
seguro para los bebés. 

■✓ Protege al padre/madre, 
padres, u otra persona 
que entregue al bebé, 
para que no sea 
enjuiciado por abandono. 

■✓ No requiere que se den 
nombres cuando se 
entrega al bebé. 

■✓ Permite que el padre/ 
madre, padres, u otra 
persona que entregue al 
bebé, tenga al menos 14 
días para recuperar 
al bebé. 

http://www.babysafe.ca.gov 

State of California Health and Human Services Agency Department of Social ServicesPUB 401 (SP) (5/06) 

(Estado de California) (Secretaría de Salud y Servicios Humanos) (Departamento de Servicios Sociales) 

http://www.babysafe.ca.gov
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