



REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL

July 19, 2011

[x]State Law Change

- [] Federal Law or Regulation Change
- [] Court Order
- [] Clarification Requested by One or More Counties
- [] Initiated by CDSS

ALL COUNTY LETTER (ACL) NO. 11-52

- TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS ALL COUNTY CHILD CARE COORDINATORS ALL WELFARE-TO-WORK COORDINATORS
- SUBJECT: FISCAL YEAR (FY) 2011-12 CALIFORNIA WORK OPPORTUNITY AND RESPONSIBILITY TO KIDS (CalWORKs) CHILD CARE PROGRAMS – UPDATE TO ALL COUNTY LETTER (ACL) 11-38 AND CHANGES TO INSTRUCTIONS REGARDING SERVICES TO CHILDREN WHO ARE 11 AND 12 YEARS OLD AND FAMILY FEES

STATE OF CALIFORNIA—HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY **DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES** 744 P Street • Sacramento, CA 95814 • www.cdss.ca.gov

REFERENCE: ASSEMBLY BILL (AB) 114, SENATE BILL (SB) 70, (Chapter 7, Statutes of 2011), SB 87 (Budget Act of 2011) and ACL 11-38

The purpose of this letter is to inform County Welfare Departments (CWDs) of changes in the budget for Fiscal Year (FY) 2011-12 resulting from the passage of AB 114. This letter rescinds instructions previously issued in ACL 11-38 regarding the changes in services to children who are 11 and 12 years of age and the 10 percent increase to the existing family fee schedule. Except for the changes in this letter, the other provisions of ACL 11-38 remain in effect.

11 and 12 Year Olds: Still Eligible for Child Care Services

The California Department of Social Services (CDSS) had previously instructed CWDs through ACL 11-38, dated April 19, 2011, to implement changes made by SB 70, effective July 1, 2011. Those changes included limiting eligibility for subsidized child care services to children who are 10 years of age or younger, with limited exceptions for coverage of 11 and 12 year olds. In addition, the law required that a child 11 or 12 years of age, who was otherwise eligible for subsidized child care except for his or her age shall be given first priority for enrollment and/or first priority on the waiting list for a before or after school program.

Subsequent to the release of ACL 11-38, AB 114 was passed and:

• Reestablishes Stage One child care age eligibility limits for children 10 years of age or younger and up to 12 years of age to the extent funds are available. This returns counties to the same procedures in place prior to SB 70.

All County Letter No. 11-52 Page Two

- Rescinds first priority for enrollment and/or first priority on the waiting list for a before or after school program and
- Reestablishes preferred placement for 11 and 12 year olds in a before and after school program.

Family Fee and Income Eligibility

CDSS also informed CWDs via ACL 11-38, of the increase to the existing family fees by 10 percent and the lowering of the income eligibility limit to 70 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

AB 114 rescinds the 10 percent increase to the existing family fee, but retains the income eligibility limit to 70 percent of the SMI. Therefore, the family fee schedule will only be adjusted to incorporate the lower income eligibility limit. Current CalWORKs recipients do not have a family fee.

CWDs are encouraged to check the California Department of Education (CDE) website regularly for updated income ceilings and family fee schedules in order to accurately determine income eligibility and family fees for former recipients who receive CalWORKs Stage One child care. This information can be found on the CDE website at:

http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/

Reduction in CDE Contracts and Funding for CalWORKs Stage Three (Information Only)

ACL 11-38 provided CWDs with additional information about SB 70 that would reduce the maximum reimbursement amounts of CDE contracts by 15 percent for CalWORKs Stage Three and other CDE child care programs. In addition, ACL 11-38 provided information on SB 69 (Budget Act of 2011), passed by the Legislature but not signed by the Governor, which provided funding for the CalWORKs Stage Three child care program in FY 2011-12.

AB 114 reduces the CDE contract reductions from 15 percent to 11 percent for CalWORKs Stage Three and other CDE child care programs. These reductions do not affect CalWORKs Stage One or CalWORKs Stage Two contracts. SB 87 (Budget Act 2011) replaced AB 69 and also includes funding for the CalWORKs Stage Three child care program in FY 2011-12. For additional information regarding budget changes affecting CDE, counties can check the above website.

Providing Notice to Clients

To help CalWORKs Stage One Child Care clients prepare for the program changes included in this ACL, an informing notice must be sent out as soon as possible to provide clients notice of the specific changes that occurred as a result of AB 114. Counties may use the following suggested language in their informing notice to clients:

All County Letter No. 11-52 Page Three

- As of July 1, 2011, children 11 and 12 years old can get CalWORKs subsidized childcare.
- You can stay with the child care arrangement you have now. This may be a before and/or after school program or another subsidized childcare program.
- If you do not have child care, or do not like your current arrangement: Contact your County Welfare Department to go back on CalWORKs Stage One Child care.
- If this change applies to you, you will get a Notice of Acton at least 10 days before any action is taken. You also can call the County Welfare Department to see if the new rule affects you.

Notice of Action (NOA)

The CalWORKs Stage One Child Care regulations Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP) Section 47-420.3, specifies that CWDs shall notify the client whenever there is an approval, denial, change or discontinuance in the amount of subsidy paid by the county for child care. CWDs shall issue NOAs to these clients as soon as administratively feasible.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact the Child Care Programs Bureau at (916) 657-2144.

Sincerely,

Original Document Signed By:

CHARR LEE METSKER Deputy Director Welfare to Work Division