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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
744 P Street, Sacramento, California 95814 

November 18, 2004 

ALL COUNTY LETTER NO. 04-50 

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS 
 ALL CalWORKs PROGRAM SPECIALISTS 
 ALL WELFARE-TO-WORK COORDINATORS 
 ALL CAL-LEARN COORDINATORS 
 ALL CAL-LEARN CASE MANAGEMENT AGENCIES
 ALL CONSORTIUM PROJECT MANAGERS  

 

SUBJECT:   IMPLEMENTATION OF FRY V. SAENZ LAWSUIT IN CALWORKS 

REFERENCE: All County Letter (ACL) 04-33; ACL 01-77; All County Information 
Notice (ACIN) 1-71-02 

The purpose of this ACL is to provide county welfare departments (CWDs) with further 
instructions as required by the judgment and writ issued on July 7, 2004, in the  
Fry v. Saenz lawsuit. This ACL provides the process and standards for identifying 
otherwise eligible 18-year-olds for whom aid is to be provided under the provisions of 
Fry v. Saenz. 

Fry v. Saenz challenged state law (Welfare and Institution Code Section 11253) prohibiting 
the granting of California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) cash 
aid to children who have reached 18 years of age, unless the child can reasonably be 
expected to graduate before age 19. The lawsuit claimed that this provision violates the 
Americans with Disabilities Act because it discriminates against recipients who would not 
graduate before age 19 due to a disability.  The court ordered the California Department of 
Social Services (CDSS) to implement initially by ACL, a reasonable modification of the law 
to provide CalWORKs cash aid to otherwise eligible 18-year-olds who are attending school 
full-time and are not expected to graduate before age 19 due to a disability.   

OVERVIEW 

ACL 04-33, dated August 30, 2004, instructed CWDs to immediately cease denying, 
discontinuing or reducing the cash aid for all otherwise eligible 18-year-olds (and their 
parent/caretaker relatives) who are attending school full-time and are not expected to 
graduate by age 19. CWDs were further instructed to flag cases impacted by Fry v. Saenz  
for future review until the teen turns 19, graduates or the instructions setting forth the 
process and standards for identifying otherwise eligible 18-year-olds for whom aid is to be 
provided under the provisions of Fry v. Saenz were issued by the CDSS. 



 

 
      
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 
 

As directed in ACL 04-33, CWDs should continue to aid all otherwise eligible 18-year-olds 
(and their parent/caretaker relatives) who are attending school full-time and are not 
expected to graduate by age 19 until the procedures for identifying and aiding students are 
fully implemented in accordance with the instructions in this ACL. 

PROCEDURES FOR IDENTIFYING AND AIDING 18-YEAR-OLDS IDENTIFIED AS 
DISABLED WHO ARE ATTENDING SCHOOL FULL-TIME 

1. Children who currently receive or have in the past received SSI/SSP benefits shall 
be considered disabled. Parent/caretaker relatives shall cooperate with the CWD to 
obtain verification of receipt of SSI/SSP benefits.  Past or present 18-year-old 
recipients of SSI/SSP benefits who attend school full-time shall continue to be 
considered an eligible child in their parent/caretaker relative’s Assistance Unit (AU) 
and aid shall continue for the otherwise eligible parent/caretaker relative until the 
child graduates, turns 19 or stops attending school full-time, whichever occurs first.  

• To determine if the SSI/SSP child who is turning 18-years-old is attending school 
full-time, verification shall be obtained in accordance with Manual of  Policies and 
Procedures (MPP) Section 40-105.5 (b). 

2. Children who currently receive or have in the past received services through a 
Regional Center Program pursuant to the Lanterman Act shall be considered 
disabled. Parent/caretaker relatives shall cooperate with the CWD to obtain 
verification of receipt of services.  Verification may include a statement from the 
Regional Center stating that the child is currently receiving or has in the past 
received services. Otherwise eligible 18-year-olds who attend school full-time and 
are considered disabled under this criterion, shall continue to be eligible for 
CalWORKs benefits until they graduate, turn 19 or stop attending school full-time, 
whichever occurs first. 

3. Children who currently receive services at school in accordance with their Individual 
Education Plan (IEP) or receive services under/pursuant to Section 504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act (e.g., a Section 504 Plan or Section 504 Accommodation Plan) or 
have received such services in the past, shall be considered to be disabled.  
Otherwise eligible 18-year-olds who attend school full-time and are considered 
disabled under this criterion, shall continue to be eligible for CalWORKs benefits 
until they graduate, turn 19 or stop attending school full-time, whichever occurs first.   

• Parent/caretaker relatives can provide a copy of the child’s IEP or Section 504 
Accommodation Plan/Section 504 Plan or cooperate with the CWD to obtain 
verification from the school (MPP 40-105.5 (b)) that there is or has been in the 
past an IEP or Section 504 Accommodation Plan/Section 504 Plan in place for 
the student. The county’s request for a verification form that is sent to the 
schools requesting verification that the student will graduate before age 19 
should be modified and a question added requesting—“If the student is not going 
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to graduate before age 19, does the student currently have or has ever had an 
IEP or Section 504 Accommodation Plan/Section 504 Plan in place?” 

4. When a child’s disability cannot be verified by the criteria described above, the 
parent/caretaker relative can provide independent verification of a current or past 
disability by a health care provider or a trained, qualified learning disabilities 
evaluation professional. They may also authorize the county’s use of the CW 61 to 
obtain information to verify the child’s disability.   

• Otherwise eligible 18-year-olds who attend school full-time and are considered 
disabled under this criterion, shall continue to be eligible for CalWORKs benefits 
until they graduate, turn 19 or stop attending school full-time, whichever occurs 
first. 

IMPLEMENTATION TIMEFRAMES 

ACTIVE CASES 

Within 120 days of the date of this ACL, CWDs are instructed to implement the 
procedures for identifying and aiding all active cases that have been continued under 
Fry v. Saenz and as directed in ACL 04-33 to determine if the 18-year-old is considered 
disabled under the processes and standards set forth in this ACL.   

APPLICANT CASES 

As soon as administratively possible, but no later than 120 days after the date of this 
ACL, CWDs are instructed to implement the processes and standards set forth in this 
ACL for applicant cases. 

DISCONTINUANCES AND GRANT REDUCTIONS 

When it is determined that the 18-year-old in those cases continued under ACL 04-33 does 
not meet the standards for being considered disabled under Fry v. Saenz, CWDs shall 
discontinue the AU or decrease the grant in accordance with Quarterly Reporting 
requirements and take action at the end of the quarter after timely notice. Notice of Action 
(NOA) messages are attached to this ACL. If the parent/caretaker relative fails to 
cooperate with the CWD in providing requested verification and the disability status under 
Fry v. Saenz cannot be determined, the CWD shall discontinue or reduce the grant in 
accordance with Quarterly Reporting requirements.  

PREGNANT AND PARENTING TEENS 

Pregnant or parenting teens who are 18 or are approaching their 18th birthday and are not 
expected to graduate from high school or vocational school by age 19, continue to have the 
option of establishing his or her own AU. These teens must continue to be informed of their 
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possible continuing eligibility options. See ACL 01-77 dated November 7, 2001, and ACIN 
I-71-02 dated September 23, 2002.

OVERPAYMENTS 

Overpayments will not be assessed against any 18-year-old and their parent/caretaker 
relatives who received cash aid based on the instructions in ACL 04-33, if it is determined 
that the individual does not meet the disability criteria established by the CDSS in this ACL 
and cash aid was paid in the interim between this ACL and ACL 04-33.  

CAMERA READY COPIES AND TRANSLATIONS 

If your office has internet access, you may obtain copies of the English Notice of Actions 
(NOAs) from the CDSS web page at: www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/On-lineFor_271.htm. 
For questions on the English NOAs, please call Forms Management Unit at  
(916) 657-1907.

For copies of NOAs in other languages, including Spanish, you may go to the CDSS web 
page at: www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/formsandPU 274.htm. Translated materials are 
posted on an ongoing basis as soon as they are completed.  For questions on translated 
materials, please contact Language Services at (916) 445-6778. 

If you have any questions about this letter or the court order, you may contact  
Chris Minnich of the CalWORKs Eligibility Bureau at (916) 654-1322 or at 
chris.minnich@dss.ca.gov. 

Sincerely, 

CHARR LEE METSKER 
Acting Deputy Director 
Welfare to Work Division 

Attachments 

c: CWDA 
CSAC 
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