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SUBJECT: CLARIFICATION ON THE “SUPPLEMENT TO THE RATE

QUESTIONNAIRE”, SOC 837 FORM, FOR DUAL AGENCY

AID TO FAMILIES WITH DEPENDENT CHILDREN-FOSTER CARE
(AFDC-FC), ADOPTION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (AAP), AND
KINSHIP GUARDIANSHIP ASSISTANCE PAYMENT (KIN-GAP)
CHILDREN

REFERENCE: SENATE BILL 84, CHAPTER 177, STATUTES OF 2007
ACL NO. 08-17, DATED MARCH 29, 2008
ACL NO. 08-54, DATED DECEMBER 1, 2008
ACL NO. 10-16, DATED JUNE 14, 2010
ACL NO. 16-54, DATED JUNE 27, 2016;
WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE (WIC) SECTION 11464

The purpose of this ACL is to provide clarification to counties requesting information
from and working with the California Regional Centers to assist in completing the
“Supplement to the Rate Questionnaire” (SOC 837) used to determine eligibility for the
supplement established by WIC section 11464, subdivision (c)(2)(A). Per this statute, a
county may authorize a supplement of up to $1,000 for children three years of age and
older if a county determines a supplement to the dual agency rate is necessary due to a
child’s need for extraordinary care and supervision for AFDC-FC, AAP and Kin-GAP
children.


http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/07-08/bill/sen/sb_0051-0100/sb_84_bill_20070824_chaptered.pdf
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/lettersnotices/entres/getinfo/acl08/08-17.pdf
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/lettersnotices/entres/getinfo/acl08/08-54.pdf
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/lettersnotices/entres/getinfo/acl/2010/10-16.pdf
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/lettersnotices/EntRes/getinfo/acl/2016/16-54.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&sectionNum=11464.
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The clarification provided in this ACL also replaces the responses given to questions 28,
29, and 31 previously addressed in ACL No0.10-16, dated June 14, 2010. Please note,
all other information contained in ACL No. 10-16 remains current and should continue to
be referenced. (See http://www.cdss.ca.gov/lettersnotices/entres/getinfo/acl/2010/10-

16.pdf.)

The SOC 837 questionnaire is a CDSS form used to gather objective criteria about

a dual agency child’s care and supervision needs so that a county can determine the
child’s eligibility for a supplement to the rate and the appropriate supplement level.
WIC section 11464, subdivision (c)(2)(C) requires the county to issue an eligibility
determination within 90 days from the receipt of the request for a supplement to the
rate. The failure of the regional center to sign the SOC 837 or to provide information for
the assessment of the child’s needs shall not relieve the county from timely completion
of the assessment. Counties shall continue with and finalize their assessment and
eligibility determination for a supplement to the dual agency rate and appropriate level
of the supplement based on the extraordinary care and supervision needs of a dual
agency child in consultation with California Regional Centers.

If after ten (10) business days a regional center has not provided information to assist
a county in their completion of the SOC 837, the county shall continue to process the
request using other available information. The county must collect information from
other professionals and the caregiver or adoptive parent for the completion of the
SOC 837 and issue an eligibility determination for a supplement to the rate within the
90-day timeframe based on the most current information available about the dual
agency child. The county must notify the CDSS Foster Care Rates Bureau when a
regional center refuses to sign the SOC 837 or provide information regarding the child
in a timely manner. The CDSS may revise the SOC 837 to conform to any changes
identified in this ACL in consultation with counties, advocates, stakeholders and
regional centers.

The CDSS encourages continued collaboration between county CWS agencies and
California Regional Centers to assist in the determination of the supplement to the rate
assessment process to ensure dual agency children receive the services and support
they need in a timely manner. If you have any questions about this ACL, please contact
the Foster Care Rates Bureau at (916) 651-9152.

Sincerely,
Original Document Signed By:
GREGORY E. ROSE

Deputy Director
Children and Family Services Division


http://www.cdss.ca.gov/lettersnotices/entres/getinfo/acl/2010/10-16.pdf



