License Incentive Resource Webpage for Family Child Care Home Licensees
The California Department of Social Services (CDSS), Child Care Licensing Program (CCLP) is providing a one-time $500 incentive payment to eligible Family Child Care Home (FCCH) licensees to boost capacity building in California's child care system. Incentive payments to licensed FCCH providers is part of federal COVID-19 financial relief funds included in an agreement between the State of California and California Child Care Providers United. The 2021-22 State Budget approved by the Legislature and signed by Governor Gavin Newsome authorized the license incentive funds, to be distributed by the CDSS. Payments to eligible licensees will continue through June 30, 2023, or the date upon which authorized funds expire.
Frequently Asked Questions for the Family Child Care Home License Incentive Payments
- A FCCH licensee who became newly licensed on or after June 28, 2021 is eligible.
- Please note FAQ #4; in order to receive the incentive payment, an eligible licensee must meet service requirements and complete a federal survey before funds expire.
- No. Only an eligible FCCH licensee is authorized to receive a license incentive payment.
- An “incentive” means extra money offered to an individual to encourage them to take a certain action. Here, it means extra money is being offered to new FCCH licensees to encourage them to maintain an active license for 12 months
- An eligible FCCH (licensed on or after June 28, 2021) must meet the following two requirements by or before June 30, 2023, in order to receive their license incentive payment:
- Maintain an active license for 12 consecutive months.
- Complete an American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) federal survey.
- Upon completing 12 months of service and the ARPA survey, an eligible licensee(s) will receive a prepaid debit card sent via U.S postal mail within approximately 30 business days to the FCCH licensee’s mailing address on file at the local licensing Regional Office (RO). If you need to update your mailing address, please contact your Local Regional Office prior to completing the online registration process. Please do not reach out to your RO or the CCLP until after the 30 business days have passed from completing the ARPA survey.
- Licensees will receive a no-reply email notice at the time their incentive card is shipped to their facility address. Only licensees who have their email on file at their licensing local Regional Office would receive this notice. If you would like…email the incentive inbox at One incentive payment per FCCH facility, if there is more than one individual listed on the FCCH licensed the payment will be split evenly and sent individually to each licensee listed, e.g. for two licensees listed payments would be $250 + $2.50 ATM amounts added card; for three licensees listed payment would be $167 + $2.50 ATM amounts added to each card.
- One person on the license = (1) $500 + $2.50 = $502.50 card.
- Two people on the license = (2) $250 + $2.50 = $252.50 card for each licensee.
- Three people o the license = (3) $167 +$2.50 = $169.50 card for each licensee.
- The prepaid debit card payment (incentive cards) vendor, Blackhawk Network, will distribute and provide customer service for the incentive cards on behalf of the Child Care Licensing Program.
- Yes. The full $500 amount is cash accessible via one ATM withdraw and the prepaid debit care includes an additional $2.50 ($502.50 total) to help cover the cost of the ATM transaction fee.
- No. The FCCH incentive payment does not meet the threshold amount required for tax reporting.
- Funding will expire after June 30, 2023.
- Eligible licensees must complete the 12 months of service and their American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Survey by June 1, 2023.
- You may email questions about the FCCH license incentive payment to the Department’s inbox at CCLlicenseincentive@dss.ca.gov. Please allow adequate time for a response due to high volume periods.
- If you do not receive your incentive care in your mailbox within 10 business days of this notice and you believe your card is lost or stolen, or you have moved location - please directly contact Blackhawk Network Customer Service at 888-371-2109 available 24/7, for help to get a replacement card issued to your confirmed or updated address. Please have the information available to assist the agent with your request:
- Your first and last name
- Address the card was initially issued to (even if incorrect, the agents will use this to locate the card in the system and authenticate you as the caller; address can be updated if needed prior to issuing the replacement card)
- Card program Sponsoring agency: CDSS Child Care Licensing Program