CCLD Complaint Hotline
IF YOU SEE SOMETHING, LET US NO!
To file a complaint regarding a state licensed community care facility or child care facility, call
1-844-LET US NO
Remember, when you report suspected violations, you not only protect individuals in care facilities, but also perform a service to your community.
How can I file a complaint regarding a facility, a facility licensee, or a facility staff person?
Determine what type of facility you are filing a complaint against. Is it a Community Care Facility, or is it a Health Care Facility?
COMMUNITY CARE FACILITIES
(Licensed by the California Department of Social Services)
Less than 24-hour nonmedical care and supervision:
- Child Day Care Facilities: Child Care Centers and Family Child Care Homes
24-hour nonmedical care and supervision:
- Children's Residential Facilities: Group Homes, Foster Family Homes, Small Family Homes, Transitional Housing, Crisis Nursery, Adoption Agencies, Foster Family Agencies
- Adult Residential Facilities: (includes Social Rehabilitation Facilities)
Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly
HEALTH CARE FACILITIES
(Licensed by the California Department of Public Health)
- Provide care to individuals who require medical care and supervision
- General Acute Care
Hospitals, Acute Psychiatric Hospitals, Skilled Nursing Facilities,
Intermediate Care Facilities, Chemical Dependency Recovery Hospitals, Adult Day
Health Centers, Correctional Treatment Centers, and Rehabilitation Clinics.
(There are 30 different types.)
For complaints against Health Care Facilities, please contact the California Department of Public Health, Licensing and Certification Division
Who do I contact for complaints against Community Care Facilities?
- First, try to resolve minor concerns or differences with the provider. If your concerns are still not addressed and you believe that the provider is breaking licensing laws, a complaint should be filed
- If you believe there
is physical or sexual abuse involved, you should also report it to local law
You may call or write the appropriate office and explain your complaint. Your name will remain anonymous unless you give us permission to use it
Children's Residential Facilities (Group Homes and Family Homes)--contact the Children's Residential Regional Office where the facility is located
For Foster Family Homes located in: Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Colusa, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Los Angeles, Madera, Mendocino, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Plumas, Riverside, Sierra, Solano, Trinity, and Yolo Counties--contact the Children's Residential Regional Office designated for that county.
For all other counties—contact the appropriate County Foster Family Home licensing office
Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly, Adult Residential Facilities, Adult Day Programs, Social Rehabilitation Facilities--contact the Adult/Senior Care Regional Office where the facility is located
Family Child Care Homes (day care provided in someone's own home) located in: Del Norte and Inyo Counties—contact the appropriate county Family Child Care Home licensing office
- DEL NORTE COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES
880 Northcrest Drive
Crescent City, CA 95531
- INYO COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
162 Grove Street, Suite J
Bishop, CA 93514
For all other counties--contact the appropriate Child Care Program Office
Child Care Centers (day care provided in a commercial building that is not a person's own home)--contact the Child Care Program Office where the Child Care Center is located
How will my complaint be handled?
- It is the responsibility of the licensing agency, the parents or other responsible party, and the provider to ensure that licensed Community Care Facilities are providing safe care. Community Care Facilities are required by state law and regulation to follow basic health and safety practices
- The licensing agency will make an unannounced visit to the facility to investigate the complaint within 10 days of receipt of the complaint
- You will be informed of the results of the investigation
- In the interim, should you have any questions or concerns, you may contact the local licensing agency
REMEMBER: WHEN YOU REPORT SUSPECTED VIOLATIONS, YOU NOT ONLY PROTECT INDIVIDUALS IN CARE FACILITIES, BUT ALSO PERFORM A SERVICE TO YOUR COMMUNITY.