Child Care Stipends

Adult working with Toddler on Artwork On March 4, 2020, the Governor declared a State of Emergency in California in response to COVID-19. The federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act Child Care and Development Block Grant supplemental payment awarded California funding to address the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on child care providers and the families they serve. Pursuant to Section 111 of SB 820, the 2020-21 Budget Act, funding has been authorized to fund stipends to providers receiving a subsidy through CalWORKs Stage One. The stipend is intended to provide financial relief to assist child care providers serving children receiving state subsidized child care with hardships experienced due to the pandemic such as decreased enrollment, increased teacher-to-child ratios, costs associated with added cleaning protocols, and other expenses.

Who is Eligible to Receive a Child Care Stipends Check?

Child care providers will be receiving a stipend check, which reflects the amount authorized by the 2020 Budget Act. Child care providers who were open and submitted a request for reimbursement for children receiving a Stage One subsidy in July 2020 are eligible. This includes providers who submitted requests for reimbursement for children who were not in care due to the pandemic. Stipends are based on the number of children enrolled and the average per child cost of care as determined by the Regional Market Rate specific to the age and child care setting from the CW 115/115A. Therefore, providers who serve the same number of children, but provide child care in different counties may receive different stipend amounts based on this market rate. Providers are not restricted to using these stipends for business purposes; they may be used for any reason.

How Will the Child Care Stipends Check Be Issued?

The initial round of stipend checks were mailed to many providers in November of 2020. Not all July 2020 data was collected for the first round so a second round of stipend checks will be issued in March 2021 to eligible providers not captured in the first round. Providers who received a stipend in November 2020 can expect another stipend distribution ensuring equitable use of all the remaining funds provided by the CARES Act.

Child Care providers will receive the stipend check in one of two ways. In counties that directly administer the Stage One Child Care program, the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) has contracted with the Foundation for California Community Colleges to issue and distribute the stipend checks. In counties that contract administration of Stage One Child Care to an Alternative Payment Provider (APP), the APPs will be issuing the stipend checks with funding that has been provided to them from the California Department of Education.

For more information, please see Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).

Child Care $525 Stipends

Adult working with Toddler on Artwork Assembly Bill (AB) 82 (Chapter 6, Statutes of 2021) authorized the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to allocate funding from the federal Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2021 and Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations (CRRSA) Act toward one-time stipends in the amount of $525 per child enrolled in CalWORKs Stage One Child Care.

The stipends are intended to provide financial relief to assist child care providers serving children receiving state subsidized child care with ongoing hardships experienced due to the pandemic such as decreased enrollment, increased teacher-tochild ratios, costs associated with added cleaning protocols, and other expenses.

Who is Eligible to Receive a Child Care Stipends Check?

Child care providers serving children receiving child care subsidies, including centers, family child care homes, and license-exempt providers (sometimes referred to as family, friend, or neighbor providers), through an Alternative Payment Program (APP) and Migrant Child Care APP, or through a CalWORKs Stage One, Stage Two, or Stage Three program.

Child care providers who were open in November 2020 and submitted requests for reimbursement for children receiving a subsidy for care in Stage One are eligible for a stipend.

CDSS is working with the Foundation for California Community Colleges (FoundationCCC) to issue CalWORKs Stage One child care stipends.

How Will the Child Care Stipends Check Be Issued?

Child Care providers will receive their stipend checks in one of two ways. In counties that directly administer their Stage One Child Care program, CDSS has contracted with FoundationCCC to issue and distribute the stipend checks directly to providers. In counties that contract out their Stage One Child Care through an Alternative Payment Provider (APP), the FoundationCCC will issue funding to APPs, who will then be issuing the stipend checks to providers.

The Stipends are taxable. Therefore, providers receiving a check directly from CDSS and the FoundationCCC must complete a W-9. You can complete this form online using the Child Care Provider W-9 Form hosted by the FoundationCCC. If you have any questions about the Stipend please call the FoundationCCC Stipend hotline at 866-470-6792 or reach out to the Child Care & Development Division Directly at CCPB@dss.ca.gov.

For more information, please see Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).

Bridge Program Child Care Stipends

Assembly Bill (AB) 82 (Chapter 6, Statutes of 2021) authorized the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to allocate funding from the federal Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2021 and Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations (CRRSA) Act toward stipend funds for child care providers caring for children enrolled in a subsidized child care program.

Senate Bill (SB) 85 revises the Budget Act of 2020 to include an allocation to the CDSS to provide a flat-rate one-time stipend in the amount of $525 per child to child care providers serving children enrolled in the Bridge Program.

The stipends are intended to provide financial relief to assist child care providers with ongoing hardships experienced due to the pandemic such as decreased enrollment, increased teacher-to child ratios, costs associated with added cleaning protocols, and other expenses.

Who is Eligible to Receive a Child Care Stipends Check?

Child care providers serving children receiving a Bridge Program child care subsidy, including centers, family child care homes, and license-exempt providers (sometimes referred to as family, friend, or neighbor providers), through a county or an Alternative Payment Program (APP) who were open in November 2020 and submitted requests for reimbursement for children receiving a Bridge Program subsidy are eligible for a stipend.

How Will the Child Care Stipends Check Be Issued?

Child care providers will receive their stipend checks in one of two ways. In counties that directly administer the Bridge Program, CDSS has contracted with the Foundation of California Community Colleges (FoundationCCC) to issue and distribute the stipend checks directly to providers. In counties that contract the Bridge Program through an APP, the FoundationCCC will issue funding to APPs, who will then send stipend checks to providers.

The stipends are taxable. Therefore, providers receiving a check directly from CDSS and the FoundationCCC must complete a W-9. You can complete this form online using the Child Care Provider W-9 Form hosted by the FoundationCCC.

If you have any questions about the stipend please call the FoundationCCC stipend hotline at 866-470-6792 or reach out to the Bridge Program mailbox at ChildCareBridge@dss.ca.gov.

For more information, please see Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).

Estipendios para proveedores de cuidado infantil

En respuesta a la pandemia de COVID-19, el gobernador emitió una declaración de estado de emergencia en California el 4 de marzo de 2020. La ley federal CARES (Ley de Ayuda, Alivio y Seguridad Económica por Coronavirus) otorgó fondos al Estado de California para mitigar los efectos de la pandemia en los proveedores de cuidado infantil y las familias a las que sirven. De conformidad con la sección 111 del Senate Bill 820 (Proyecto de Ley 820 del Senado) (página solo disponible en inglés), también conocido como la 2020-21 Budget Act (Ley de Presupuesto de 2020-21), se ha autorizado el financiamiento y la distribución de estipendios a aquellos proveedores de cuidado infantil que reciben una subvención de CalWORKs de Etapa Uno (Stage One) . El propósito de este estipendio es brindar alivio económico a los proveedores de cuidado infantil subvencionado por el Estado y ayudarles a sobrellevar las dificultades financieras —como la reducción en el número de matriculados, el aumento en la proporción de niños por cada maestro y los gastos de ampliar los protocolos de limpieza, entre otras— que hayan surgido como resultado de la pandemia.

¿Quién califica para recibir un estipendio?

Se les enviará un cheque —que reflejará el monto del estipendio autorizado por la Ley de Presupuesto del 2020— a todos los proveedores que proporcionaron cuidado en julio y presentaron una solicitud de rembolso para niños que recibían una subvención de cuidado de Etapa Uno durante ese mes. Esto incluye a aquellos que solicitaron un rembolso para niños que no estuvieron bajo cuidado a causa de la pandemia. Se calculó el monto de los estipendios tomando en cuenta el número de niños inscritos y el costo promedio de cuidado infantil (determinado por el Regional Market Rate, o precio estándar del mercado regional, según la edad de los niños y el tipo de cuidado especificado en el CW 115/115A). Por lo tanto, es posible que dos personas que cuidan de la misma cantidad de niños no reciban el mismo monto porque trabajan en diferentes condados. No hay restricciones en cuanto al uso del estipendio; los proveedores pueden gastarlo en cualquier cosa.

¿Cómo se emitirán los cheques?

Se envió la primera ronda de estipendios a muchos de los proveedores en noviembre de 2020. En ese momento, no se habían recopilado todos los datos para el mes de julio de 2020, por lo que se enviará otra ronda de estipendios en marzo de 2021 a los proveedores que no se incluyeron en la primera ronda. Los proveedores que recibieron un estipendio en noviembre recibirán otro estipendio, lo que garantiza la distribución equitativa de todos los fondos restantes otorgados por la ley CARES.

Los cheques se emiten de dos maneras: si el proveedor se encuentra en un condado que administra el programa de Cuidado Infantil de Etapa Uno directamente, recibirá un cheque de la Foundation for California Community Colleges (Organización para las Universidades Comunitarias de California), que tiene contrato con el Departamento de Servicios Sociales de California (CDSS) para emitir y distribuir los pagos. En los condados que administran su programa mediante un contrato con un Programa de Pagos Alternativos ( Alternative Payment Program, o APP), el APP emitirá los cheques usando fondos que ha recibido del Departamento de Educación de California (CDE).

Para saber más, por favor, consulte las preguntas frecuentes.

Estipendios de $525 para proveedores de cuidado infantil

El Assembly Bill 82 (Proyecto de Ley 82 de la Asamblea Estatal) (capítulo 6, estatutos del 2021) autorizó al Departamento de Servicios Sociales de California (CDSS) a dedicar fondos otorgados por dos leyes federales —la Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2021 (Ley de Asignaciones Consolidadas de 2021) y la Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act (Ley de Asignaciones Suplementarias de Respuesta y Alivio ante el Coronavirus)— a emitir estipendios de $525 por cada niño que recibe cuidado subvencionado por Etapa Uno (Stage One) de CalWORKs.

El propósito de este estipendio es brindar alivio económico a los proveedores de cuidado infantil subvencionado por el Estado y ayudarles a sobrellevar las dificultades financieras —como la reducción en el número de matriculados, el aumento en la proporción de niños por cada maestro y los gastos de ampliar los protocolos de limpieza, entre otras— que hayan surgido como resultado de la pandemia.

¿Quién califica para recibir un estipendio?

Califican los proveedores de cuidado infantil subvencionado; esto incluye a aquellos que proporcionan cuidado subvencionado en un centro de cuidado infantil, en un hogar de cuidado infantil ( family child care home) o de otra forma que sea exenta del requisito de tener una licencia (es decir, parientes, amigos o vecinos); por medio de un Programa de Pagos Alternativos ( Alternative Payment Program, o APP) o Programa de Pagos Alternativos para el Cuidado Infantil para Migrantes ( Migrant Child Care Alternative Payment Program); o mediante un programa CalWORKs de Etapa Uno, Etapa Dos o Etapa Tres.

Si usted proporcionó cuidado en noviembre de 2020 y presentó una solicitud de rembolso para niños que recibían una subvención de cuidado de Etapa Uno durante ese mes, usted califica para recibir un estipendio.

El CDSS está trabajando con la Foundation for California Community Colleges (Organización para las Universidades Comunitarias de California) para distribuir los estipendios de cuidado infantil de Etapa Uno.

¿Cómo se emitirán los cheques?

Los cheques se emiten de dos maneras: si el proveedor se encuentra en un condado que administra el programa de Cuidado Infantil de Etapa Uno directamente, recibirá un cheque de la Foundation for California Community Colleges, que tiene contrato con el CDSS para emitir y distribuir los pagos. En los condados que administran su programa mediante un contrato con un APP, la Foundation for California Community Colleges dará los fondos al APP para que este emita los cheques a los proveedores.

Los cheques están sujetos a impuestos. Por lo tanto, los proveedores que reciben un cheque directamente del CDSS y la Foundation for California Community Colleges deben completar un W-9. Puede completar este formulario en línea utilizando el Formulario W-9 del Proveedor de Cuidado infantil organizado por la Foundation for California Community Colleges. Si tiene alguna pregunta sobre el cheque, llame a la línea directa de estipendio de Foundation for California Community Colleges al 866-470-6792 o comuníquese directamente con la División de Cuidado y Desarrollo Infantil directamente en CCPB@dss.ca.gov.

Para saber más, por favor, consulte las preguntas frecuentes.