Child Care and Development Contacts

Banner of families, cooking, dancing, and playing on a cell phone together.

Mission

The mission of the Child Care and Development Division (CCDD) is to build, strengthen, and maintain an equitable, comprehensive, quality, and affordable child care and development system for the children and families in our state; to integrate child care with other CDSS programs and services that serve the whole child and whole family; to address social determinants of health and adverse childhood experiences which significantly impact long-term outcomes for children; and to provide vital supports to the child care and development workforce and programs for children to have access to equitable and stable child care and development opportunities.

The CCDD provides planning, policy direction, and oversight of the majority of state-supported childcare and development programs and services in California. These include programs that provide a variety of state-subsidized childcare services, quality improvement plan activities, local childcare and developmental informed programs and policies, while providing robust technical assistance and support to counties, contractors, and stakeholders.

Join Our Listserv

California Department of Social Services (list-manage.com)

CalWORKs Stage One

For questions about the CalWORKs Stage One program, which is administered at the local level through County Human Services Offices, please find your contact on the Stage One Policy Analyst Contacts table below.

ARPA Survey

For questions about the ARPA survey please email CCPB@dss.ca.gov.

Stage One Regulations

For questions about Stage One regulations, including matters pertaining to the Stage One Regulations workgroups, please email us at StageOneRegs@dss.ca.gov.

Appeals

For questions related to appeals, please contact CCDDAppeals@dss.ca.gov.

Subsidized Stipends

For questions about the subsidized stipends, please email CCPB@dss.ca.gov.

Licensed Facility Stipends

For questions about the $3500 to $6500 licensed facility stipends, please email CCLlicensedstipends@dss.ca.gov.

Disaster Relief Grant

The Disaster Relief Grant Funding is no longer available. For questions about the grant, please email 2018disasterfunding@dss.ca.gov.

Emergency Child Care Bridge Program for Foster Children (Bridge Program)

For questions about the Bridge program, which is administered at the local level through your County Welfare Office, please email ChildCareBridge@dss.ca.gov.

Child Care and Development Infrastructure Grant Program

For questions about the Child Care and Development Infrastructure Grant Program, please email CCDDFacilities@dss.ca.gov.

California Resource and Referral Programs (R&Rs)

For questions about the California Resources and Referral Programs, please contact CRRP@dss.ca.gov.

Child Care Initiative Project (CCIP)

For questions about the Child Care Initiative Project, please email CCIP@dss.ca.gov. You can find more information about the CCIP contracts and grants on our funding announcement webpage.

California Preventive Health and Safety Practices Program (CPHSP)

For questions about the CPHSP program, please contact CHSP@dss.ca.gov.

Quality Counts California (QCC)

For questions about the QCC Block Grant please email QCC@dss.ca.gov. For questions about the QCC Workforce Pathways Grant, please email QCCWorkforce@dss.ca.gov.

Child Care & Development Fund State Plan (CCDF)

For questions about the CCDF State plan, or the Quality Progress Report please email Statepln@dss.ca.gov.

General Child Care & Development Request (CCTR) for Funding Applications

For questions about the CCTR RFA, please email cctrrfa@dss.ca.gov.

Local Planning Council

For questions about Local Planning Councils, please emailLPC@dss.ca.gov.

Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP)

For questions about the CACFP, please email CACFPinfo@dss.ca.gov.

Program Quality and Improvement Branch (PQIB)

Please direct questions about the following programs to the assigned Program Quality and Improvement Branch consultants in the table below:

  • CalWORKs Stages Two and Three (C2AP and C3AP)
  • The General Child Care and Development Program (CCTR)
  • The Family Child Care Home Education Network Program (CFCC)
  • Resource and Referral Program (CRRP)
  • The California Alternative Payment Program (CAPP)
  • The Migrant Alternative Payment Program (CMAP)
  • The Migrant Child Care and Development Program (CMIG)
  • The Child Care and Development Program for Children with Severe Disabilities (CHAN)

This is a list of the Program Quality and Improvement Branch Consultants assigned to each county. Los Angeles County Service Planning Area (SPA) map linked by permission from the Los Angeles County Department of Public Health.

Effective October 24, 2022

Counties Assigned Consultant
Alameda, Butte, Lassen, Plumas, Shasta, Tehama Deborah Rawson
Email: Deborah.Rawson@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7341
Contra Costa, Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Modoc, Siskiyou, Sonoma, Trinity Genet Telahun
Email: Genet.Telahun@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 639-2795
Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, Merced, Tuolumne Vacant (Interim Assignment)
Deborah Rawson
Email: Deborah.Rawson@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7341
Napa, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano Erin Jones
Email: Erin.Jones@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (279) 200-2597
Alpine, Stanislaus, San Joaquin

Vacant (Interim Assignment)
Erin Jones
Email: Erin.Jones@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (279) 200-2597

Marin, San Francisco

Monica Grimes
Email: Monica.Grimes@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7469

San Mateo Vacant (Interim Assignment)
Monica Grimes
Email: Monica.Grimes@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7469
Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Joycelyn Ward-Richardson
Email: Joycelyn.Ward-Richardson@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7347
Fresno, Inyo, Kings, Madera, Mono, Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Tulare Deborah Wacker
Email: Deborah.Wacker@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7340
Orange, Los Angeles - SPA 2, SPA 6 Marijayne Patterson
Email: Marijayne.Patterson@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7353
Kern, Los Angeles - SPA 3, SPA 5 Yer Xiong
Email: Yer.Xiong@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-6478
San Bernardino, Los Angeles – SPA 7, SPA 8 Megan Jones
Email: Megan.Jones@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7354
Santa Barbara, Ventura

Vacant (Interim Assignment)
Megan Jones
Email: Megan.Jones@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7354

Imperial, Riverside, San Diego Jonathen Yang
Email: Jonathen.Yang@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7346
Los Angeles – SPA 1, SPA 4

Vacant (Interim Assignment)
Jonathen Yang
Email: Jonathen.Yang@dss.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-7346

Stage One Policy Analyst Contacts

Counties Analyst
El Dorado, Humboldt, Kings, Lassen, Napa, Sacramento, Sierra, Sonoma, Yuba

Jane Andrews
Email:Jane.Andrews@dss.ca.gov

Amador, Contra Costa, Los Angeles, Mendocino, Mono, Plumas, San Joaquin, Trinity

Shanee Clark
Email: Shanee.Clark@dss.ca.gov

Butte, Colusa, Madera, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara Linda Horne
Email: Linda.Horne@dss.ca.gov
Calaveras, Fresno, Imperial, Inyo, Merced, Monterey, Sutter, Ventura Alana Lee
Email: Alana.Lee@dss.ca.gov
Policy Implementation Unit

Molly McCall
Email: Molly.McCall@dss.ca.gov

Del Norte, Glenn, Orange, Shasta, Santa Cruz, San Luis Obispo, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Michelle Sonico
Email: Michelle.Sonico@dss.ca.gov

Collective Bargaining

Amanda Gollon 
Email: Amanda.Gollon@cdss.ca.gov

Alpine, Marin, Mariposa, Modoc, Nevada, San Benito, San Diego, Santa Barbara, Solano

Gabriella Saracino
Email:Gabriella.Saracino@dss.ca.gov

Alameda, Kern, Lake, Placer, Siskiyou, Tehama, Tulare, Yolo

Jawid Azin
Jawid.Azin@dss.ca.gov

Fiscal Analyst Contacts


Counties Fiscal Analyst
Alameda, Alpine, Lake, Mariposa, Monterey, Plumas, Santa Barbara, Sonoma, Yolo

Lisa York

Email: Lisa.York@dss.ca.gov

Phone: (916) 323-6196

Amador, Kern, Los Angeles (D-K), Madera, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Solano, Stanislaus, Tehama

Stefanie Johnson

Email: Stefanie.Johnson@dss.ca.gov

Phone: (916) 323-5837

Butte, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Imperial, Placer, Shasta, Sutter, Tulare

Adam Noah

Email: Adam.Noah@dss.ca.gov

Phone: (916) 324-6560

Calaveras, Del Norte, Kings, Lassen, Marin, Modoc, Mono, San Diego, Santa Cruz, Ventura

Michelle Hernandez

Email: Michelle.Hernandez@dss.ca.gov

Phone: (916) 445-6703

Colusa, El Dorado, Los Angeles (P-Z), Mendocino, Merced, Riverside, San Bernardino, Yuba

Clint Thompson

Email: Clint.Thompson@dss.ca.gov

Phone: (916) 445-7032

Contra Costa, Los Angeles (L-O), Napa, Orange, Siskiyou, Trinity

Mary Oki

Email: Mary.Oki@dss.ca.gov

Phone: (916) 322-8330

Inyo, Nevada, San Benito, San Francisco, Santa Clara, Tuolumne

Jo Sublett

Email: Jo.Sublett@dss.ca.gov

Phone: (916) 445-8443

Los Angeles (A-C), San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Sierra

James Sapnaro

Email: James.Sapnaro@dss.ca.gov

Phone: (916) 324-8646

Quarterly Child Care and Development Stakeholder Meeting

For questions about our quarterly stakeholder meetings or to request language interpretation or other reasonable accommodations for these meetings, please email us at CCDDstakeholders@dss.ca.gov.

Monthly Contractor Meeting

For questions or reasonable accommodations for our monthly contractor meetings, please email us at ContractorQuestions@dss.ca.gov.

Contact Us

Child Care and Development Division

744 P Street M.S. 9-8-360

Sacramento, CA 95814

Join Our Listserv

Click the QR code, or scan with your device to join!

CCDD QR Code

Child Care and Development Links