Supplemental Rate Payments for Family Child Care Providers
In accordance with the agreement between Child Care Providers United (CCPU) and the state, supplemental rate payments for licensed family child care home and license-exempt (family, friend and neighbor) providers who serve children receiving subsidies are being issued consistent with a methodology established by CCPU. The Foundation for California Community Colleges (FCCC) is the entity selected to issue these payments to providers.
One-time payments were issued to eligible family child care providers in Spring and Summer 2022. In addition to the one-time payments, eligible providers will also receive monthly payments during Fiscal Year 2022-23 (July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2023).
Starting in late August, monthly payments for July 2022 - December 2022 will be issued in the following amounts:
- Small licensed family child care provider: $750 per month
- Large licensed family child care provider: $900 per month
- License-exempt child care provider: $125 per month
- Licensed providers who cared for one or more children receiving state-subsidized child care for at least three months from September 2021 to February 2022. Licensed providers must have an active license.
- License-exempt (family, friend, and neighbor) providers who cared for one or more children receiving state-subsidized child care in December 2021, January 2022 and February 2022.
- Providers can fill out this
to verify their eligibility for a monthly supplemental rate payment
until Nov. 1, 2022.
Eligibility for the monthly payments that will be issued from January 2023 to June 2023 will be determined at a later date.
Instructions to Receive Monthly Payment
- To receive your monthly payment, you must complete a W-9 form (the FoundationCCC will email eligible providers with a personalized link to the form).
- If you already completed a W-9 form to receive the one-time payment issued in Spring/Summer 2022, there is no need to complete another one unless you want to update your payment method.
- After submitting the form, you will receive a confirmation email. There is no need to take further action or submit any additional documentation.
- If you submit complete information and a W-9 form by the August 10th deadline, or if you completed a W-9 already, you can expect to receive your first payment on or after August 31, 2022.
- The first payment will include the monthly payments for both July and August 2022.
- Call the Child Care Providers United Supplemental Pay Helpline at (916) 980-8998. Representatives are available Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. PST with interpretation services as needed.
Visit the Foundation for California Community Colleges webpage for more information.
American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Survey
These payments are funded in part by federal ARPA Stabilization funds. The state is required to collect data from providers on how these funds were used in order to comply with federal reporting requirements. Please visit the CDSS ARPA Survey webpage to complete and submit the survey. If you have any questions about the survey, please contact CDSS at CCPB@dss.ca.gov.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the supplemental rate payment?
Pursuant to the agreement between the State of California and the Child Care Providers United (CCPU) union, and Assembly Bill (AB) 131 (Section 264), $289,000,000 in funding through June 2023 is available through reimbursement rate supplements to support eligible family child care providers in addressing equity in child care provider pay and increasing reimbursement rates. This supplemental pay was distributed in a one-time payment to eligible providers in fiscal year (FY) 22-23, to be followed by monthly payments to eligible providers in the next fiscal year.
I received an email about the supplemental rate payment. How do I receive my payment?
Follow the instructions in the email to verify your contact information and preferred method of payment (check or direct deposit), and provide a W-9. Complete information must be provided in order to receive payment. If you already completed a W-9 form to receive the one-time payment issued in Spring/Summer 2022, there is no need to complete another one to receive the monthly payments unless you want to update your payment method.
Who is eligible to receive a payment?
Licensed family child care home providers, with an active license, who have cared for at least one child receiving state-subsidized child care services for three months between September 2021 and February 2022, and license-exempt providers (i.e., family, friend, and neighbor providers), currently providing subsidized child care services, who have cared for at least one child receiving state-subsidized child care services in December 2021, January 2022 and February 2022 are eligible for monthly payments in FY 2022-23.
How do I know if I have cared for a child receiving state-subsidized child care services?
If you cared for a child receiving subsidies from one of the following programs administered by the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) or the California Department of Education (CDE), you have cared for a child receiving state-subsidized child care:
- CalWORKs Stage 1 Child Care Program
- CalWORKs Stage 2 Child Care Program (C2AP)
- CalWORKs Stage 3 Child Care Program (C3AP)
- California Alternative Payment Program (CAPP)
- California Migrant Alternative Payment Program (CMAP)
- Migrant Child Care and Development Program (CMIG)
- General Child Care and Development Program (CCTR)
- Family Child Care Home Education Network (CFCC)
- The Emergency Child Care Bridge Program for Foster Children (Bridge Program)
- California State Preschool Program (CSPP)
If you are not sure which services the children in your care are receiving, please ask the agency that issues your reimbursement. Please note that federal programs not administered by the CDSS or CDE, such as Head Start, Migrant Seasonal Head Start, or military child care programs, do not provide eligibility for these payments.
If I am eligible, when will I receive a payment?
Monthly payments will commence in August 2022, with the first payments to providers who have completed the W-9 process being issued on August 31. This first payment will include both the July and August payment amounts.
How do I find out if I am eligible to receive a payment?
Eligible providers with email addresses will be sent an email with a personalized link with instructions about how to receive payment.
How much will I receive?
Monthly payments will be issued in the following amounts through December 2022:
- Small licensed family child care provider: $750
- Large licensed family child care provider: $900
- License-exempt child care provider: $125
Amounts for monthly payments for January through June 2023 will be determined at a later date.
Who is the Foundation for California Community Colleges and why am I receiving the payment from them?
The Foundation for California Community Colleges is the official nonprofit auxiliary partner to the California Community Colleges. The organization’s work benefits colleges, students, and communities, and aims to promote more equitable outcomes for all Californians. Recognizing the Foundation’s statewide reach, the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) has contracted with them to issue and distribute the supplemental rate payments.
Is the payment taxable?
If the total amount of payments you received during the tax year exceeds $600, it is taxable. Child care providers eligible for payment will be directed to a portal to complete tax information to receive the payment.
I have not received notification about the payment but believe I am eligible. Who can look into this for me?
If you believe you are eligible for the monthly payment based on the eligibility description, but did not receive the email with a personalized link, you may not be eligible, or Foundation CCC may not have a valid email address on file. Please contact the Foundation to inquire about your eligibility.
I received the email with a personalized link stating that I am eligible, but I need assistance with the form or need to request a change to my name.
Please call the Child Care Providers United Supplemental Pay Helpline at (916) 980-8998. Representatives are available Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. PST. Please note that the helpline is experiencing higher than average wait times.
I’m an eligible provider and submitted W-9 information to Foundation CCC last year. Do I need to submit my W-9 information again?
All providers eligible for the Supplemental Rate Payments must submit their W-9 information by completing the form through the unique link sent. If you completed a W-9 form for the one-time supplemental rate payment issued in Spring/Summer 2022, you do not need to complete a new form to receive the monthly payments. If you completed a W-9 form for stipends, you will need to complete a new one to receive the monthly supplemental rate payments. By completing the form through the unique link sent via email, your W-9 will be auto-generated for you.